We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gabriel House B&B

Certificate of Excellence
Summerhill North | St. Luke's, Cork 0000, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gabriel House B&B
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gabriel House B&B
Gabriel House B&B
Gabriel House B&B
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    185
    139
    50
    20
    17
See reviews for
75
146
47
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (411)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (145)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (91)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Albury
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were a family of three put into room 28 on top floor, which was tiny and airless, defintintly not luxury accomodation. Requested a room change which was an improvement. Breakfast was basic and staff looked like they hated working there. Only good thing was a good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I visit most cities and major towns in Ireland on a regular basis and I visit Cork city at least once every year. For the last five years I have stayed at the Gabriel House B&B and I intend to stay there the next time I visit the area. When I first visited the hotel in 2011 my first impression... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Even though I checked in at 10:30 pm and was out of there by 8 AM as it was a business trip, the guesthouse impressed me! Staff were very friendly and welcoming, room was clean and had what I needed (a comfy bed) and a lovely breakfast. Would definitely be going back next time I'm in cork

Was this review helpful? Yes
TainisteCSMAU, Manager at Gabriel House B&B, responded to this review

Thank you Melissa for your kind review, I know you had a long journey to cork that evening so I'm glad you had a good rest and a fulfilling breakfast. Kindest regards, Kathleen Manager. More 

Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I really liked the location of the hotel just across the river and uphill from the city center. It's close and walkable to bus, air coach and train connections. Room was functional and clean realizing this is an old style building... bathroom is small but very clean. The breakfast, eating area was very nice and the Irish breakfast and buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Worse customer service ever experienced. I booked a family room on booking.com for my family on 5 months before I arrived. Booking.com received information from the guesthouse that the room's max occupancy was 4, so I booked a second double room at a refundable rate. Had email communication with the hotel and Kathleen, the manager, before I arrived clearly stating... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TainisteCSMAU, Manager at Gabriel House B&B, responded to this review

Dear Alison, Thank you for taking the time to review. Please know that on your original booking you asked to change the dates which though we are not compelled to do, we did oblige this request, please see email sent 25/02/2015 16:31:02 Confirmation email sentI will of course change the dates without added charges. Kathleen Walsh Manager. On the overcharging... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were allocated a spacious bedroom with views of the river and city. The beds were very comfy, room clean and well decorated and the bathroom was fine. Breakfast was pretty standard but tasty, there were some nice items on the cold buffet, smoked salmon, watermelon and cheeses etc. Short walk into town and local shops near by. Very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a lovely place to stay. The room was clean and bathroom spotless. The bed was a little on the soft side for me. Breakfast was yummy,the homemade soda bread was amazing. The point lost for the soft bed was regained when i pottered out to the lovely garden and found the animals. A lovely relaxing weekend,i fell in love... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Gabriel House is an excellent place to stay. My wife and I were there for a long weekend recently and found it to be as good if not better than any hotel. Our room was bright, spacious and immaculately presented. Breakfast offered a wide range of options, many of which were produced on site in the garden. Freshness permeated all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Except for Valerie (she's actually nice and very helpful), this place has the MOST unfriendly staff I've ever seen in a B&B, from the moment we walked through the door we felt quite un-welcomed. They seem to dislike tourists or people in general. Rooms are OK, food pretty standard, nothing great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Kildare, Ireland
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Gabriel house for one night while en route to Kerry, we found Valerie to be so welcoming and helpful, she involved our young daughter in putting the hens to bed and gave her a memorable experience, and the best pancakes ever the next morning, the location is very convenient to the city, we would highly recommend this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#19 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 543 reviews
Centre
Clarion Hotel Cork
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay