We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Cork hotels

Commons Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland (Shandon)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Commons Inn to your Saves list
Commons Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #14 of 23 hotels in Cork
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Marcus L Dublin
  • Overview
  • Reviews (86)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • More
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    10
    12
    13
See reviews for
19
30
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved our stay at the commons inn, great staff who were really friendly and welcoming. Went for dinner and drinks in the bar on Saturday night, food was fantastic and good value. Our room was big and comfortable, will definitely stay again .

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked two nights here as we were going to a gig in The Marquee and decided to make a trip of it. We weren't looking for luxury, just a good base close to the city. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel was quite modern (I think our room had been recently updated) and very comfortable. We were given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mallow, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Happened to drop into the Commons on Tapas Night. Sampled many of the tapas on offer as recommended by our excellent waiter Daniel. Will definitely be back for more. PS Young man on spanish guitar was outstanding!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cork12324, General Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review.We are delighted that you enjoyed our inaugural tapas evening. We will be holding these events every Friday night from 8pm to 10pm. Come and enjoy a taste of Spain together with entertainment. Tapas are €4 each or 3 for €9.95. We also have combinations of 3 tapas and a bottle of wine for €25 or... More

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night with a school group and had breakfast and dinner in the restaurant. Room was a touch dingier than others we stayed in, and my daughter had no hot water for a shower in the evening (morning showers were fine). Opening the windows didn't offer much in the way of cooling the room. Pros: Dinner was good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork12324, General Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.We are sorry that you had some issues during your stay.We are in the process of refurbishing all our rooms and we expect to have this completed shortly. In relation to your comment regarding breakfast I think that this is an issue that you should raise with the tour operator that... More

Western Ireland, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel to break a long car journey and arrived in the late evening. It would be unfair not to recognise the many positives of this clean, bright and generally welcoming establishment but it could be so much better with some management attention. A distinct lack of general maintenance was the most obvious factor, particularly in the bathroom... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review

Hi Brendan. Many thanks for taking the time to review The Commons Inn. We are sorry that your stay didn't reach the standard that we would set ourselves. We are currently in the process of refurbishing all our rooms and we expect to finish this process shortly. We would be delighted if you would contact us when you are coming... More

Manhattan, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The beds and bedding were so comfortable. It got hot in the room at night, but opening the window fixed it. The TV was great, got a few channels which was nice at night. The bathroom was great, shower was clean and water pressure was wonderful. We put the DO... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review Paige. I have passed on your thanks to Ashley.We hope to welcome you back to the Commons Inn again. More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had been staying in hotels and b and bs in Ireland for about 8 days when we booked into the commons. The receptionist got better with time but was not overly friendly to begin with. Our key card didn't work... That's because the swiper had been broken off recently and since been replaced with a lock and key but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Commons Inn. We are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay here. I would be most obliged if you would email me (ashley@commonsinn.com) and let me know the date of your stay so that I might investigate the problems which you had. We have invested a lot of money... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Always when I'm on cork I'm staying in commons. From my point of view it's perfectly located and have all what professional person can looking for. There is internet access, was small problems but now working ok. For those who need boost of energy there is amazing hot breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Robert. We are delighted to confirm that as part of our refurbishment programme we have upgraded our WiFi network. Residents can now access WiFi anywhere in The Commons. We look forward to welcoming you back. More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I always stay in the Commons Inn when I an Cork, Why? Because it is always a comfortable, enjoyable stay. The rooms have been refurbished to a really nice standard. The staff are always incredibly friendly and make you feel very welcome. The bar food is great (go for the steak)! All in all the Commons Inn of fers great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Commons Inn. Next time you're here why don't you enquire about our loyalty card? You can get up to 5% credit on your purchases. More

Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed one night in the hotel so that I could be in time for an early start at a conference elsewhere. There was ample parking and I was able to get something to eat after a long journey. The room was spacious, comfortable, modern and well appointed. Biggest asset of all were the staff who were friendly and helpful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cork12324, Front Office Manager at Commons Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at the Commons Inn. If you are in Cork on a regular basis please ask us about our Corporate Stay program. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commons Inn. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Commons Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Free Parking, P...
Show More
The River Lee Hotel
Free Parking, R...
Show More
BEST WESTERN Montenotte Hotel
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
Montenotte
New Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
Hayfield Manor Hotel
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
Centre
Clarion Hotel Cork
Independent Hot...
Show More
Montenotte
The Gresham Metropole Cork
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commons Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commons Inn

Address: New Mallow Rd, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Commons Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Commons Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commons Hotel Cork

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cork #15 Business Hotel in Cork
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer