We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Cork hotels

The Gresham Metropole Cork

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MacCurtain Street,, Cork, Ireland (Montenotte)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Gresham Metropole Cork to your Saves list
The Gresham Metropole Cork
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #13 of 22 hotels in Cork
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Susan R Floyds Knobs, Indiana
  • Reviews (565)
  • Photos (115)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (113)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    218
    111
    46
    41
See reviews for
56
233
54
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Floyds Knobs, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were fortunate to get a room facing the river. When it rained we enjoyed just sitting and watching activity from our window, the bathroom was huge, great towels. The location was wonderful. This hotel has restaurants and bars close by and is only a few blocks from the center of town. Pricing was very reasonable. If we return to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear Susan R, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our Riverview rooms have great views over the river and are ideal to watch the hustle and bustle below. Please contact me when you are making your next booking with us to avail... More

Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I travelled to Cork for a concert, and booked a double room in this hotel for our stay, as it was close to the Ccity Centre. On arrival in reception, my first impression was that it looked lovely. It took us a good while to check in, due to large numbers checking in at the same time.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear MavisDavis74, Thank you for your review. The Metropole Hotel is equipped with two lifts and because we have over one hundred bedrooms it is inevitable that bedrooms will be located at the end of a corridor. However if you had requested a room close to the elevators we would have been delighted to accommodate you. We do not have... More

London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is my second stay in this hotel. On the plus side, room was clean, bed was comfortable, and location is very convenient. Free reliable wifi also a bonus for business customers and cheap convenient parking available. But...I didn't sleep. There was an extremely noisy group of guests on my corridor, banging on doors, shouting and singing in the corridor... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear Jenny D, Please accept my apologies for the disturbance you experienced during your stay with us. As soon as this was brought to our attention we investigated the disturbance and discovered a disoriented gentleman who had become locked out of his room. This was resolved as quickly and quietly as possible. Unfortunately we were not made aware of a... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed at The Gresham for a few days in late June 2014. The hotel on the whole was very nice and the staff could not do enough to help I used the pool facilities on a few occasions and these were very good The breakfast was of a very good standard with either a full English or cereals on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear Siobhan R, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you for your comments in relation to the TV's and our maintenance department is currently reviewing this. Please contact me when you are making your next booking with us to avail of... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is well situated in central Cork close to all bars and restaurants and things to see. It is an old hotel which has been modernised. There were some issues - the TV picture was awful and it was impossible to watch, the water pressure for the shower was very poor, the toiletries were cheap, and the tops of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear DavJo12, Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you weren't satisfied with your bedroom. Had you informed us we would have resolved this issues for you or moved you to another room. I can assure you that the toiletries are not cheap and are used in many 4 Star hotels including The Gresham in Dublin.... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I Booked through your booking.com for the hotel on Wednesday night. I called the hotel immediately to ensure the booking went through after I received the confirmation email. I was advised by kelly I believe that it had. I then went to the hotel and was advised by an extremely rude man that no "it just didn't go through". This... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear Lorraine L, According to our records you rang to say that you had just made a booking on Booking.com and wanted to confirm that we had received it. As you had just made the booking we explained that it would take a couple of minutes to come through and be processed. While we were checking, you informed the receptionist... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent a weekend in this Hotel and had a great time. It's in a good location, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the leisure centre was lovely and the bar food was really, really good which was a nice surprise! It was also good value for money and the parking was handy...overall it's a great hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear Purcell022, Thank you for taking the time to write and tell me of your experience as feedback is essential in monitoring customer satisfaction. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do not hesitate in contacting me the next time you are making a reservation and I will ensure that you get the very... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came here for a few drinks and a bit of tucker. I wasn't disappointed in the slightest. The starter meal that I had was the homemade soup with bread. It was a delicious meal, especially with a nice pint of Guinness. For my main course I had the Club Sandwich, which was great and very tasty. All in all,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear David M, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal with us and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the Chef. I will also pass on your kind words to the Bar team, they do a great job looking after our guests and... More

Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like the proximity of this hotel to carpark and Everyman theatre. Staff are very courteous and the welcome was genuine. Room was excellent, but the breakfast was such a disappointment in a City that proclaims on the way in, Cork Ireland Capital for Food.There was only thin sliced bread for toasting and some baps, no Irish 'homemade brown'. Food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear Storym, Thank you for taking the time to write your review and tell us of your experience as feedback whether it is positive or negative serves as one of the most effective ways of monitoring customer satisfaction. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you especially enjoyed your meal in The Met... More

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on 19th June for one night to visit tom jones at concert at the marquee, brilliant brilliant service from all staff, could not find fault with a thing, really well situated. Could be described as a little tired but the building is beautiful and what's a little creak here or there, staff more than make up for that,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear Ditdot1, Thank you for taking the time to write to me and tell me of your experience as feedback whether it is positive or negative serves as one of the most effective ways of monitoring customer satisfaction. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed you stay with us so much and I will be sure to pass on... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Gresham Metropole Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Gresham Metropole Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gresham Metropole Cork

Address: MacCurtain Street,, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gresham Metropole Cork 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Gresham Metropole Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, the Gresham Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of the Gresham Hotels Group, the Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at the Gresham Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
112

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer