We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Cork hotels

The Gresham Metropole Cork

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   MacCurtain Street,, Cork, Ireland (Montenotte)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Gresham Metropole Cork to your Saves list
The Gresham Metropole Cork
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #15 of 23 hotels in Cork
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
SteCongo
  • Overview
  • Reviews (573)
  • Photos (116)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (115)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    222
    112
    47
    41
See reviews for
57
240
54
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent hotel and a really fantastic location. But a major issue with the temperature in the rooms. It was just way too hot. Had to leave the room early as i couldnt sleep and just couldnt stand the heat. All the fans at reception were gone and no air-conditioning in the rooms. Tried opening the window to find a large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Cork and stayed in The Gresham Metropole Hotel. It is in the best location to the city centre. Access to buses, trains and public transport, all within easy walking distance. Great breakfast, great bar and reasonably priced food. Staff friendly and helpful. Hotel prices very reasonable so such a nice hotel. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrival and welcome was friendly and smooth. It' only a few minutes from centre, railway station and bus station. Hotel looks well cared for and everything looks clean. Breakfast was good, many options available, it was included in our stay. If you needed anything you could ask for it. The room was very, very warm even with 2 windows open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first time in the hotel and we would highly recommend it. Location was great, walking distance from everything which was super. It's rare these days that you get a hotel with a bit of character. It is an old hotel with its quirks but that's what adds personality to the place. The room was really spacious and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear shell_and _paddy, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the staff. We really do have great people working here and we are all passionate about looking after our guests. I do... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've visited this hotel at least once every 3 years since I was a child. Always stayed here whenever we made a family trip to Cork. The rooms are spacious, with a choice between twin beds, a double bed, or a double and a single. Rooms include en suite bathrooms with complimentary toiletries included (soap, shower cap, shampoo and conditioner).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear Squiggles, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am delighted that you always choose us when considering where to stay in Cork. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole Hotel in the near future.... More

Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is convenient to bus and rail which are a ten minute stroll, adjacent to Cork city center the location is superb. The accommodation as always is clean and comfortable and makes for a very pleasant stay. The leisure center pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are a great asset to the hotel. The food is excellent and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear BelleWaterford, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole Hotel in the near future. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the staff. I recommend... More

Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

109 € from Hotels.com for a double room with free cancellation and breakfast included. This hotel is easy to find, Central to the city and very spacious. The parking, though costs 7.50 per 24hrs. Didn't try the breakfast. Room comfortable but a noisy fan sound kept me awake. I'm sure this wasn't in every room. Lift extremely slow. Reception staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear Sla12_12, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Gresham Metropole Hotel in the near future. I recommend contacting the hotel directly to always avail of the best rates available and last... More

Orlando, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There is nothing fancy about this hotel, but it is clean and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a room facing the street so there was noise from a local car repair shop when the window was open, but nothing at night to keep us awake. You can easily walk to the hotel in 5 minutes if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear oldfloridafan, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Please do not hesitate in contacting me directly when making your booking with us and I will ensure that you will receive the best rates available. roger.russell@gresham-metropolehotel.com Kind Regards Roger Russell General Manager More

Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely reception, room is standard and to me not worth £50 a night with a old small TV, and old carpet and the worst shower I have ever been in with zero hot water and drops of water.breakfast is poor and not worth price unless included. Good location but there is a lot of other hotels in centre.. Pool is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear SarahHarvey1995, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your room. Had you brought this to our attention I can assure you that we would have made every effort to move you to another room. I would like to apologise for the issues you experienced with... More

Floyds Knobs, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were fortunate to get a room facing the river. When it rained we enjoyed just sitting and watching activity from our window, the bathroom was huge, great towels. The location was wonderful. This hotel has restaurants and bars close by and is only a few blocks from the center of town. Pricing was very reasonable. If we return to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Roger R, General Manager at The Gresham Metropole Cork, responded to this review

Dear Susan R, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Our Riverview rooms have great views over the river and are ideal to watch the hustle and bustle below. Please contact me when you are making your next booking with us to avail... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Gresham Metropole Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Gresham Metropole Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gresham Metropole Cork

Address: MacCurtain Street,, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gresham Metropole Cork 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Gresham Metropole Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gresham Metropole Cork Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Hotel Cork
Gresham Metropole Cork
Metropole Hotel Cork

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the finest of Cork City Centre Hotels, the Gresham Metropole Hotel in Cork is just a short stroll from the many excellent shops, boutiques, theatres, galleries and of course the business district of Cork, making it an ideal location for Cork City Hotel breaks and business travellers alike. During your stay in this superb Cork city hotel, you will be accommodated in one of 112 tastefully decorated bedrooms, equipped with all necessities to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay.Part of the Gresham Hotels Group, the Metropole Hotel is a 3 star Cork City Centre Hotel designed to cater for the every need of the business professional requiring a hotel in Cork City, from our business rooms, event facilites and suite of twelve conference rooms through to the complimentary Wi-Fi internet access offered throughout the hotel, you will find plenty to make your stay as thought provoking as you would like. All guests staying at the Gresham Metropole Hotel, can also enjoy complimentary access to the Leisure Centre. Leeside Leisure is a White Flag Awarded Leisure Centre with superb facilities, which include a 20m Swimming Pool, with three pool areas, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and a fully equiped gym with cardiovascular and weights area. External memberships are also available. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
112

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer