We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashley Hotel

Coburg St / Devonshire St, Cork, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ashley Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here two nights and it was a solid stay. The room is of a decent size and the bathroom is quite large. I did not have the breakfast. There are two great pubs across the street - Sin E and The Corner House which are great for a trad session. MacCurtain street is close by with lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank JWalker610
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JWalker610, thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you liked the standard and size of the bedroom, our excellent location in the heart of Cork city and the staff friendliness and attitude to work. We hope to see you again, when you decide to visit our wonderful city in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staff really good, very helpful, Hotel has been looked after pretty well for its age, to be honest it is an old old building it can never be 5* unless you rip everything inside it out and start over, the beds are comfy, clean, showers hot and clean. staff are there to help. In the morning I was served by... More 

Helpful?
Thank spinerkop
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear spinerkop, thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Ashley Hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback and are glad that you liked our excellent service, cleanliness and standard of the bedroom, central location close to best local pubs and quality of the breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

The Ashley was for all intensive purposes what I imagined what a proper Irish hotel should be. This hotel has a posh lobby and friendly staff. Comfortable chairs great for reading and using the WIFI. I loved the lobby to just people watch. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Only spent one night of my trip here but would return if... More 

Helpful?
Thank RudyR2011
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RudyR2011, thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay at the Ashley Hotel and that you liked our facilities, friendliness of the staff, comfort and cleanliness of the bedrooms. We hope to see you again in the future when visiting Cork city. More 

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015

The hotel was basic and clean. The room was small, but the bathroom was huge. They had a coffee/tea pot in the room with glasses and cups, which was very nice. The hallway smelled like fresh paint, but fortunately the room did not. I complained about my mattress (we had two twin beds), and was told they had just replaced... More 

Helpful?
Thank curlymaple
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear curlymaple, thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Ashley Hotel. We are glad you were satisfied with the standard of your bedroom, quality of service and staff friendliness. More 

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

The lobby was interesting looking, but the rooms were disappointing. We had 2 twin beds in our room. They were made up with at least a double mattress pad underneath that hung over the sides of the beds and managed to slide the sheets off every few minutes. There were also 3 huge comforters on each bed - too many... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grayll
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grayll, we were surprised to read your comments after you extended your stay with us and did not bring any of your shortcomings to attention of any member of staff. However, we are happy that you liked our great central location and friendliness of the staff. More 

County Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2015 via mobile

Booked a triple room with 2 friends!during the night 1 of the lads decided he would stay at a friends instead of coming back to the hotel room! I then met my girlfriend out so I brought her back to the hotel with me!the night porter told me then that she was not allowed stay because her name was not... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Martin O
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Martin O, the guest who did not wish to stay for the night (following your information) never came back to the hotel and first of all, had never informed us about changing his plans. The nightporter could not assume that was the agreement between the guests. He was provided the list of names with the registered guests and only... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cork hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015 via mobile

Hotel was very average (you get what you pay for!) but the staff were more than helpful and kind. Me and my boyfriend were offered maps to help us get around and greeted with a smile each time we entered the building, which made our stay at the hotel a pleasant one.

Helpful?
2 Thank Caitríona N
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caitriona N, thank you for liking staff friendliness and their attitude to work. We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

This hotel is old and does it show the room was small and the smell of mould was overpowering. The breakfast was full irish with a twist,cold beans. I was disappointed and to cap it all the receptionist was also cold and never asked how my stay was. I would not recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank gerry o
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gerry, thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you did not mention any of the shortcomings while staying in the hotel. More 

Waterford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

The ashley is a very central hotel very handy for a walk to Cork's pubs or a bit of shopping. The Hotel is very dated.This not a hotel for a romantic weekend or a family getaway unless the budget is an issue. The room was fairly clean ,but found a few items under chairs and bed from previous guest which... More 

Helpful?
Thank WalshWaterford
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WalshWaterford, thank you for your review, liking our great central location, complimenting friendliness of staff and their attitude to work. More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

The hotel is on a central location, but old and mouldy and not worth the € 100 a night we had to pay for a double room. Part of the staff was not very friendly. We didn't have breakfeast, so no comments on that.

Helpful?
2 Thank Esther S
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Esther S, thank you for your review, we hope you had an enjoyable stay in Cork city. We are happy that you liked our great central location. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 2,570 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
The Metropole Hotel
#19 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 930 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#17 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Centre
Clarion Hotel Cork
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay