We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maryborough Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5 Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    223
    97
    46
    22
See reviews for
179
427
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (949)
  • Mar-May only
    (255)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (318)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (169)
All months
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had the perfect weekend here , everything was fantastic nothing was left to chance and the service was outstanding, we have stayed in 5 star hotels with nowhere near the service these people offer. Front desk were so helpful and all weekend greeted us with a smile and always wanted to know could they do more for us. Meal... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle West, Limerick, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a 2 night BB and 1 dinner weekend break. I also availed of some spa treatments. The hotel was very busy as it was Christmas party season and there was a wedding. The managers were very attentive and told us though the bar was very busy they would soon be moving to the function room for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with husband & 2 kids. Overall was a good stay and would go back. Check in was smooth and found reception staff very nice. Had meal in the restaurant the first night. The staff were excellent, food was ok, menu & choice was really good but meal was just a bit disappointing. Breakfast was good, very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently got a special offer deal which included an overnight stay for two in a deluxe room with dinner and breakfast the next morning and I was very pleased with my experience. The hotel is loacted on beautiful grounds and even though it's quite close to the city it seems like you are miles from civilisation which is nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greystones, Ireland, Europe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a relaxing weekend... Maryborough did not disappoint. The Saturday at the gym, pool then spa unwound me more than I thought it would. The staff were brilliant and attentive. The bar food was grand on Friday night and the restaurant food was good on the Saturday. I'm afraid the french toast and pancakes seemed fried on the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pictures of the Maryborough on its website are the BEST POSSIBLE shots of the hotel. For us, it was not at all what it appeared. This hotel consists of the house in most of the pictures, adjoined to a dated hotel that looks like something from the 1970's. We expected large grounds to walk on, but really the hotel... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Edward S, Thank you for your forthright review of your recent stay at the hotel. We’re disheartened to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. We would like to offer our sincere apologies we were unable to meet your expectations. It is our goal that every guest has a positive experience during your time with us. We do... More 

Europe
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have just returned home following a two night stay and we wish we could have stayed longer. We were celebrating our joint birthdays and the reception staff not only upgraded our room but left us complimentary wine and chocolates. Very nice touches and much appreciated. We used the thermal suites on both days (separate suites for males and females),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jackyboy2014, Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience at They Maryborough. We’re delighted you had a wonderful birthday celebration and to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope our staff were able to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We’re glad as well that you were... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and just returned from the most enjoyable night away in the maryborough ,i was so impressed i find myself writing my first ever review on tripadvisor.From the moment we arrived at reception we were greeted promptly and with such genuine friendliness (sorry cant remember the guys name)my husband chilled out in the beautifully decorated bedroom whilst i availed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gráinne F, Thank you sharing your experiences of your stay at The Maryborough. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your visit and delighted to hear you felt welcome from the moment you walked through the door. We’re pleased you found time to unwind and relax in our spa. And I’ll be sure to pass along your kind words to Hannah and... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed my stay there but it took almost two hours to get booked into my room, I called to reception three times to be told my room would be done in 20 min but on each time i returned i was told to waitanother 20 min. The food there was lovely and the spa was nice too. I was considering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Fuzzy201, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences at the hotel. We’re pleased you enjoyed the food and also had time to visit our spa facilities. We hope you were able to unwind during your visit. However, we’re quite disheartened to hear of your wait time on arrival and wish to offer our apologies for... More 

Daventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for 2 night in November. The staff were great, the food was good. The double bed, was 2 singles pushed together, so i kept falling between them, really hate that. That said, everything else was great. if I was taking a break, I might stay there as it was very quite and I had good sleep both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear sibutch, Thank you for your review regarding your recent experience at The Maryborough. We’re thrilled to hear our staff were helpful and the food was good. We do hope you’ll visit us again for a break. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for any disruption caused by issues with our WiFi. We understand the importance of wireless... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Family Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#6 Business Hotel in Cork

495 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (40)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (25)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (354)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Balcony (36)
Viewed
King Suite with Garden View (47)
Viewed
Queen Room with Jacuzzi (37)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay