We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Cork hotels

Maryborough Hotel & Spa

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel) (Douglas)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Maryborough Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
82%
Ranked #5 of 22 hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
hot70000000000000 hot70000000000000
Write a Review

772 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    179
    81
    41
    20
See reviews for
135
364
24
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hot70000000000000
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Arrived early and staff were so helpful, a warm Irish Welcome indeed and got me in to a room ahead of schedule. Rooms are large and spacious, very clean and with large flat screen tv, iron and trouser press. Wifi was fast and free which I really appreciate. Had a ground floor room with access to outside table and chairs... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear hot70000000000000, Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Maryborough. We’re delighted to hear of the warm welcome you received on arrival from our Reception team. We’re so glad you found the free WiFi convenient as we understand its importance in everyday activities. Thank you also for your compliments regarding the comfort of the room as... More

Southampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a nice modern hotel with facilities to match - large clean rooms and an excellent spa and thermal suites. The staff are without exception polite and helpful and special mention must go to the manager with the glasses (sorry Sir - I didn't catch your name!) and Katie and her team in the restaurant at breakfast. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear poppyhattie, Thank you for sharing the details of your visit to The Maryborough. We’re pleased our staff were able to assist you and enhance your stay. We value our guests' feedback, and I will be sure to pass your compliments along to our staff. We’re delighted you made use of our Spa Thermal Suites and hope you were able... More

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Good :- Rachel on reception was very pleasent in checking us in. The Leisure Club and Thermal Suites were absolutely first class with all our needs catered for. The room was large, comfortable, had all the facilites required and was pleasently decorated.The hot main courses at breakfast were very good The Bad:- We did not even bother waiting for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear tuarbeag, Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your recent experience at The Maryborough. We’re delighted you were welcomed warmly by our Reception team, and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. Thank you for the compliments regarding our Club and Spa facilities and the quality of our cooked to order... More

Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great service, beautiful suite. Very clean. Thank you Kitty for your wonderful service in Restaurant. Food is incredible and the Spa is worth the visit. I had one of the best facials and massage. Thank you to all the staff for taking care of our Celtic Angel Tour.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear LoveAngels2014, Thank you for your recent review of The Maryborough. We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room comfortable and appealing. Thank you for your compliments regarding our service, and I will be sure to pass along your remarks to Kitty. We’re also thrilled you enjoyed the food and were also able to take... More

Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last weekend to celebrate a special occasion and chose The Maryborough because of its 4 star rating. The hotel fell far below our expectations and failed in evey way to encourage us to return or promote it positively in the future. Our weekend was completely ruined by an event which occurred on the last evening and was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear custardmuffin, Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent stay. We’re disheartened to hear we did not live up to your expectations during your visit as we take great pride in delivering a quality experience for all of our guests. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any disappointment caused by our service. After speaking... More

Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for 2 nights for Business in early April I was delighted with the Friendliness of all the Staff- a real personal touch. The rooms were excelent as was the suite on my second visit. Pool & Gym were acceptable The Spa was fully booked but looked very nice. The place had a real old world charm - such... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear John J, Thank you for your review detailing the experiences of your recent stay at The Maryborough. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while in Cork for business. We’re pleased to hear our staff were friendly and hope they enhanced your visit as it is our goal for each guest to feel cared for while within our... More

Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here recently with my mum. Hotel was nice but didn't over exceed my expectations! The pictures on their website inspired me to stay at the hotel but I was a little disappointed when I arrived especially with the entrance/reception area..it may be due a makeover! I do understand they may be trying to keep the hotel reception area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheMaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MrsKCIreland, Thank you for taking the time to share the experiences of your recent visit to the hotel. We’re delighted you enjoyed your dining experience in Bellini’s and found the food beautiful and the staff friendly. We’re also pleased you were able to make use of our Spa facilities while staying with us and glad you were able to... More

Cork
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At a wedding recently and the only saving grace was the company for which the hotel has no responsibility. Where to begin, the staff were poor, untrained, constantly reaching over people to get at things in the middle of the table, serveral tables had to ask several times for wine. In addition the food was appalling, the beef was so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMaryborough, Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mighty Irish, Many thanks for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I was disappointed to read of your disatisfaction at a recent wedding. I have of course discussed your comments with our Head Chef and Banqueting Manager. We have a very good reputation for our food quality, but I was very surprised to read of your comments.Obviously your meal fell... More

Cork
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed with another couple at Maryborough Hotel this weekend for one night on the "dinner, bed & breakfast with a bottle of prosecco" offer. Had a fantastic stay. The room was beautiful, clean and well laid out with a great view of the garden. We had a few drinks in the bar during the afternoon while waiting for our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMaryborough, Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Elainescottie, Many thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Maryborough Hotel & Spa. I was delighted to note that you had a fabulous stay. I have passed on your kind comments to all our staff particularly Giovanni. I note your comment about the whiskey (obviously an opportunity lost). I was delighted you all... More

Mallow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Maryborough Hotel for St Patrick's weekend. I must say the lobby was beautifully decorated -all green,white and gold!!! They really made a great effort.WOW!!! Jenny and Rachel checked us in. They were so welcoming. We were a little early for check in but we got our keys straight away. Jenny told us all about the hotel facilities,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheMaryborough, Manager at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear MaryA Many thanks for taking the time to send your feedback to TRpAdvisor. I was delighted to read you had a great time at the Maryborough Hotel & Spa during your recent stay. The Eggs Benedict as you say is a popular breakfast item and I was glad you both enjoyed it. I have of course passed on your... More

Been to Maryborough Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough Hotel
Maryborough House Hotel
Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#10 Family Hotel in Cork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maryborough Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.