We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Cork hotels

Maldron Hotel Cork

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   John Redmond Street | Shandon, Cork, Ireland (Shandon)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Maldron Hotel Cork to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Cork
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Cork
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
SaraH223 Waterford, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (765)
  • Photos (96)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (124)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

765 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    237
    151
    105
    70
See reviews for
159
246
34
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Went to a gig in the Marquee in June 2014 n stayed here 1 night. Rooms were nice, location was quite close to gig..only a short text ride but there was the option of a bus also. Bar food was lovely and big portions and late bar for residents is ideal. The only complaint I had was the bells from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We arrived in Cork and found our way to this hotel- an easy walk to city centre. The staff are friendly and the room was fine. Just a room. There is nothing special about this place. The pool was closed early every night so we didn't get a chance to use it, and the cost of the breakfast is ridiculously... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review

Dear ChoicesAddUp, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us become better at what we do and all feedback is shared with the team. I am delighted that you found the team friendly and your room fine and clean. I am sorry that you were... More

Dub
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is nasty. Upon arrival we found the hotel staff to be friendly and obliging but on arrival to our room we were appalled. The room was so so stuffy and with a window that wouldn't open more than an inch we had to request a fan, which actually only circulated the hot air. The hotel had a musty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review

Dear Tiernla, Welcome to Tripadvisor and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us become better at what we do and all feedback is shared with the team. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and I have followed up with my... More

Kilkenny
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff were friendly,the pool is good the locker rooms need an upgrade immediately, no breakfast withroom and an extra 20 to 24 euro for breakfast for two, be realistic, got great breakfast in pub beside the river Lee 5 minutes walk from the hotel for 3.50 euro.The furniture in the rooms is not up to date and stained.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review

Dear Gerard G, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us. I greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us become better at what we do and all feedback is shared with the team. I am delighted that you found the team friendly during your stay and that you had an opportunity to... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel barely deserves one star- to begin with the parking is terrible- there are so few spaces and it is too tight! The hotel's decor is outdated and smells like a nursing home. The rooms are unclean, damp and smelly and the beds are uncomfortable. I was actually afraid to touch anything. When you walk into the reception it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review

Dear Tom O, Welcome to Tripadvisor and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us. I greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us become better at what we do and all feedback is shared with the team. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and I have followed up... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a girls weekend in Cork. This hotel is gross. The photos are not representative of the bedrooms at all. If trip advisor could emulate the smell of the place you would not book in here. Musty, stuffy, damp, sewagey and like a nursing home were all ways we described the hotel at some stage over the weekend.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review

Dear Louise C, Welcome to Tripadvisor and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us. I greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us become better at what we do and all feedback is shared with the team. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and I have followed up... More

Belfast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed over last minute as other hotels were full. For the price we paid there are many better hotels in Cork, for example the Lee, Imperial, Lancaster. The hotel is tired, does not smell great, it is in need of a refurbishment. This can only be classed as a budget hotel and the price does not reflect it's Travel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review

DearDimit65, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. I greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us become better at what we do and all feedback is shared with the team. I am delighted that you found our breakfast buffet very good and worth paying for as well as your room clean and comfortable... More

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Tired, dark old fashioned place, not particularly welcoming. I didn't expect much. Requested king size bed on high floor, I was given a twin bedded room on the first floor with a lovely view of a brick wall. No issue, I am only here for one night I thought. Really went down hill when I ventured into the ensuite bathroom.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review

Dear Finchbee, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us become better at what we do and all feedback is shared with the team. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and encountered some plumbing issues in the room you were allocated.... More

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night in February but had stayed on previous occasions for longer periods of time. The location is great - five minutes walk to the city centre. The room, while a little "tired" was spotless. The staff was helpful and courteous. There is limited parking available in the hotel car park but street parking is available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review

Dear Vonniemacmahon, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. I greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us become better at what we do and all feedback is shared with the team. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room clean and our location great. I look forward... More

Kildare, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel only for one night on a weekend trip to Cork and in general I was overall disappointed. The hotel itself is in a good location about 5 mins walk from the Opera house and is easy to get to. But there is a shortage of space around the hotel so parking is very limited and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mlally, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Cork, responded to this review

Dear SultanTraveller, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent stay. I greatly appreciate all feedback as it helps us become better at what we do and all feedback is shared with the team. I am sorry that you found the hotel basic and were overall disappointed. We are in the process of refurbishing the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Cork, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Maldron Hotel Cork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Cork

Address: John Redmond Street | Shandon, Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Shandon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Cork 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Maldron Hotel Cork reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cork Maldron Hotel

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
One of the best located hotels in Cork City, The Maldron Hotel Cork City is found in the heart of Corks historic cultural quarter, nestled by the famous Shandon Bells and on the doorstep of Cork newest premier shopping district, Opera Lane and Corks main thoroughfare St Patrick's Street. With superb accommodation, excellent dining and full leisure facilities in Club Vitae Health Club, this hotel is perfect for both business and leisure visitors. Nestled beneath the Shandon Bells in Cork city centre and only a 5 minute walk from Patrick Street, Cork’s main, vibrant thoroughfare. With superb rooms, excellent food and full leisure facilities in the Club Vitae Health and Fitness Club, this hotel is perfect for both business and leisure visitors. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
101

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer