We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Ennis hotels

The Old Ground

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Old Ground to your Saves list
The Old Ground
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Ennis
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
RPHWoking Woking
  • Overview
  • Reviews (760)
  • Photos (192)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (142)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

760 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    443
    214
    52
    32
    19
See reviews for
126
331
30
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It's not easy planning a driving tour of Ireland for 14, when you know a good location, a great meal and secure parking is required. Having been advised to see the Cliffs of Moher and then the Burren, there didn't seem to be much choice in accommodation in the area, anyway we weren't disappointed in the hotel. Although it seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely quaint hotel. The location is perfect to enjoy Ennis. The hotel has a pub (Poets Corner) as part of the building, where the locals enjoy good food, beverages, and music. The rooms are good size and well appointed. As in all of Ireland, the staff was very friendly and accomodating. You can walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
I
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I spent three nights in Ennis and ate in the Poets Corner each night. Live traditional music, busy bar, great food and service. Lovely craft beers, seafood selection is simple but tasty, irish beef burger excellent. Compliments to the excellent bar and floor staff who are courteous and very efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sussex
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for 3 nights last month. Very large room which had large bay window (think it was 228) overlooked the garden and church opposite. Bed was the most comfortable I have slept in!! ( I have a real problem with sleeping, so would love to know where the bed linen and pillows come from, so I could invest in some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Port Jefferson, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed at. My daughter recommended it, since she it was the first place she stayed at when she first came to Ennis. We loved the room. Very comfortable. A beautiful view of the garden from our windows. The beds were so comfy. I had the best sleep. The bathroom had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night at the end of May. I was travelling solo on business. Staff at reception were super efficient and helpful. The room was on the lower ground floor and a bit lacking natural light, but very had plently of space for working and relaxing. The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masonneck
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Enjoyed our stay where our group met to begin our bicycling tour. Lobby has many cosy places to chat and read. But lots of street noises ( there is a constant whistle going off now!) and doors slamming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great Location, right in the centre of town. Good atmosphere. Comfortable lounge. It is 3 years since I last stayed at The Old Ground. Many of the staff are still there and have been for years but there used to be a few bad apples who let them down. This is no longer the case and this time round I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
51 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very disappointed by the room, on the 5th floor overlooking the kitchen (I think it was room 523). Room was hot and smelled strongly of kitchen grease. We could not keep the bedroom window open because all the vents were below us and added to the smell and hot air. There was no air conditioning in the room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Guest from Chicago, We were disappointed to read your review and realise that we had not met your expectations. If it were possible, we would have liked to have moved you to a different room. Currently, we don't have an issue with kitchen smoke in this area and we are unclear as to what happened during your visit to... More

Indianapolis, IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights at the Old Ground Hotel as part of a tour package. This is a charming old hotel, but well maintained. We lucked out and were assigned to an air conditioned room with a king size bed. Most of the people in our tour did not get air conditioned rooms. The room was large and beautiful. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Indycolt Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and the lovely town of Ennis. Best regards More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Old Ground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

192 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (174)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
110

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer