We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ground

O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Ground
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Old Ground
Add Photo Write a Review

1,002 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    583
    293
    67
    37
    22
See reviews for
172
442
37
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1002)
  • Mar-May only
    (246)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (345)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (244)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (167)
All months
Urbandale, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lovely very old hotel with beautiful furnishings and wood work. The staff was friendly and helpful. It seemed everyone knew we were in good hands staying there, from the cab drivers at the Shannon airport to shop keepers we met.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ennis, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Always a great option for dining out in Ennis. If it's an occasion The Town Hall and the O'Regan room are great, brilliant local food and service at great prices. Or if it's something more casual The Poets Corner Bar is always a winner. Often a small wait for a table (which is always a good sign) but the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed recently for a function that the Hotel was holding for friends of ours. We stayed two nights to get in a family dinner of our own on the first night. We had a fast check in with a very informative bubbly receptionist and got a room in the manor house section of the Hotel. The room had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chard
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room was clean and very comfortable and despite facing the local church the bells didn't ring at night so no disturbed sleep! The food was excellent and the dining room staff were friendly and efficient. There were comfortable lounges and it was easy to order snacks and drinks at any time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Maggie Anne Thank you so much for sharing such a positive review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the excellent food and welcoming atmosphere. It is a huge boost for our loyal team that you recognise their warmth and professionalism. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and that you have a safe trip home. We look... More 

Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I just returned from Ireland and we stayed at the Old Ground based on a travel agent's recommendation and was that ever the right decision. It was our last stop before returning out of the Shannon Airport. The hotel staff were very helpful at every step and the rooms are large, comfy, quite and clean. The Old Ground is convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Guest from Alabama Thank you so much for sharing such a positive review. It is a huge boost for our loyal team that you recognise their warmth and professionalism. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and that you have a safe trip home. We look forward to welcoming you again. Best regards More 

England uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very busy hotel with large groups .We had the misfortune to have room 519. Absolutely awful. Rubbish view only 1chair. Double was 2 singles put together but worst of all was the bathroom probably great for a wheel chair user but abysmal for the able bodied large toilet area with pride of place the actual rather high toilet with some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Dear Pilgrim from the Uk, I am so sorry we were not aware that you did not need the room that has been specifically designed for those who need wheelchairs. Perhaps it was an error but your reservation from your agent clearly specified that a wheelchair may be required. If you would like to contact me directly, I can forward... More 

Shawnee, Oklahoma
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Loved this hotel from the moment I stepped through the door. Exceptionally helpful staff and lovely accommodation. I particularly appreciated being across the road from a beautiful church and a short walk from all the town as to offer. Would recommend this property and community to anyone visiting Ireland. Well worth the stop!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review - our team really appreciate that you would take this time. Like so many of our visitors, it is wonderful to read how you enjoyed the attractive town of Ennis and our convenient location in the centre of everything that is happening. We look forward to welcoming you again, More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is disgusting. Its riddled with cockroaches. The pipes burst and cock roaches fell on our food. The staff tried to catch them right away and basically tell us they didn't exist. Same menu all the time. It hasn't been done up in bloody years. The staff will not eat the food they're only sandwiches because it's disgusting. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

How sad that you would libel our hotel and the fantastic team at The Old Ground Hotel with such dreadful lies. Our loyal customers continue to queue to secure a table to enjoy our wonderful food. We serve delicious breakfasts, very popular bar food, a wide selection for lunch and dinner in the Town Hall, wonderful weddings and the very... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped overnight in Ennis on our way to our holiday home on the Atlantic coast. We decided to stay at the Old Ground. Welcoming staff working on reception, although we should have been warned how early restaurants in the area shut. We wandered around the town looking for somewhere to eat with only fast food places seeming to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived for food at peak time on a Saturday evening and managed to get a table in the corner, which was ideal with two young children. The food was excellent, but what was even better was the staff's appreciation of the needs of customers with small children. We got bread and crayons to keep them occupied and there were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

233 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (213)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (54)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.1 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 stars 553 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
5.2 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 stars 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
12.4 mi away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
4.0 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay