We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Ennis B&Bs / inns

Ardilaun Guesthouse

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Galway Road (M18), Ennis, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Ardilaun Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ardilaun Guesthouse to your Saves list
84%
Ranked #13 of 33 Ennis B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014
JustTravelAnywhere Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    14
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
20
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (53)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
44 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Thisxis a clean and comfortable guesthouse on the outskirts of the city. Excellent parking and close to a service station and small grocery outlet. Bedding, linen and shower were all hood.It is on the highway so request a back room if you are a light sleeper.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Coolum Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I have travelled through Ireland several times and never had a bad experience till now. When we arrived, having booked two single rooms, there appeared to be a mistake from the site we booked on. They booked doubles. The woman who met us, she did not introduce herself, became annoyed. She stated that she would have pay commission for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

5 of us stayed in 3 rooms over 2 nights @ this extremely enjoyable B&B in Ennis. Our host Peter could not have been more helpful when it came to our numerous questions, mainly about local places of interest and directions. He also gave us a fabulous tip for where we should go for dinner one evening. (One of our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ardilaun, Manager at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello again to all the Leahy family Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate your good rating and complimentary review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Guesthouse, where you are most welcome to return to any time. We hope you received the mobile phone which we posted last week. The... More

Ennis, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband found the property online and we drove up to the property unannounced, hoping to get a room close to the Shannon Airport! The owners were friendly and anxious to please! There is good parking and close access to grocery stores and gas stations. The back yard opens up to a manicured lawn with gorgeous, private seating. Very quiet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardilaun, Manager at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We really appreciate your good rating and complimentary review and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our Guesthouse, where you are most welcome to return to any time. With warm regards, All at Ardilaun Guesthouse More

Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This B&B was the worst in our entire 2.5 week trip. Sewage smell was so strong that we had to leave the building in 10 minutes. The owners were dishonest, as they tried to act normal while showing us the room. When we confronted them with the sewage smell, they acknowledged that they have had this problem for a while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ardilaun, Owner at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Customer, I believe you were booked in to our Guesthouse on the evening of June 17th. On the evening in question, we discovered that a sewerage odour had developed at the rear corner of our property. We advised the local County Council of the problem and we were engaging with them until late that evening to have the problem... More

Crown Point, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I found nothing appealing about our one night stay at this Guesthouse. During a 2 week trip to Ireland, 8 different accommodations, I was disappointed here, cold check in, and paper thin walls, being that I could hear other guests in their washroom, Also a gravel car park kept me awake with guests arriving late.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardilaun, Owner at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review

We at Ardilaun Guesthouse regret that the noise disturbance from the front gravel disturbed your sleep. We have recently fitted new paving out front of the Guesthouse so this should help with the noise disturbance that you witnessed, that being said it's not a common complaint that we receive. regards, All at Ardilaun Guesthouse More

Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Room was very clean and comfortable, including the beds. Beautiful view of a well manicured lawn and flowing river from all rooms across the back of the B & B. We enjoyed our morning coffee while watching the cows graze in the lovely pasture on the other side of the river. Very nice wooden deck... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardilaun, Owner at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hello again and thank you so much for your kind words and the good rating. We at Ardilaun are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be very glad to see you back at Ardilaun anytime. We wish you the best and thanks again for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Best wishes, All... More

Waterford, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

5 adult males stayed in the Ardilaun guesthouse for the bank holiday weekend. The owners and staff alike were fantastic, they arranged early breakfast for us each morning, as we had early starts. They were all so welcoming, the building itself was beautiful and meticulously clean, they had a gym and sauna on site and a fishing area all decked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardilaun, Owner at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you Paddy and all the Gentlemen in your party that stayed with us over the Bank Holiday weekend. We were delighted to meet you and we really appreciate the call on your return journey to thank us. We very much appreciate you taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor and for the lovely kind words. You all are... More

Fairbanks
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband, I and a friend enjoyed six nights at this lovely guesthouse. It was clean, the showers are fabulous, hot, strong pressure and tall enough for tall people The hot breakfast was delicious and you could get poached eggs and full Irish breakfast or a wonderful cold breakfast. The staff was helpful, kind and just wonderful. Lovely lounge room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardilaun, Owner at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks you so much for your kind words. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Ardilaun Guesthouse. We welcome you back anytime to Ardilaun. Best Regards, Anne and PJ and all at Ardilaun Guesthouse More

Winnipeg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed with brother and sister in-law in two rooms for 3 nights. Rooms were spacious and very clean with views over Fergus river and surrounding countryside. Breakfast was excellent, with generous portions and cooked to perfection. Owners were very helpful and friendly. Would have no hesitation in recommending this guesthouse for anyone staying in the Ennis area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ardilaun, Owner at Ardilaun Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and good rating. We very much appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at our home and we welcome you back to Ardilaun anytime. Thanks and regards The Purcell Family Ardilaun Guesthouse More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ardilaun Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardilaun Guesthouse

Address: Galway Road (M18), Ennis, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardilaun Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ardilaun Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay