We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

St. Columba Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Iona, PA76 6SL, Scotland
St. Columba Hotel
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    40
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
61
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a very comfortable stay here while on Iona. Our room was cosy and warm with a view towards the sea. The location is an easy walk from the ferry dock. Although we later found out they have a van that can bring you back and forth from the dock we didn't need it. I don't believe there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly pleased to read how much you enjoyed the mussels. We do feel very fortunate to have such fantastic produce available locally! More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

what a rip off. soup was tomato . lentil & bacon and veg and no that was not 2 types it was one soup and it was cold. no bread roles so had to buy a rip off cheese scone. Avoid at all cost unless you area billionaire and like cold average soup with a dodgy scone AVOID AVOID AVOID... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review

I’m very sorry to read how upset you obviously were by your short visit to our hotel. First, please let me apologise that your soup was not hot enough. I‘m sorry that we weren’t aware of that at the time, as we would have been happy to rectify it. However, I also have to say that I find some aspects... More 

Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

I booked this hotel early in the year as a surprise for my wife during our visit to Scotland and Iona in September. We both were delighted with our stay on the Island as well in our stay in St. Columba Hotel. From our arrival to departure the staff were friendly, warm and helpful. Our room was fantastic with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We’re very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and of course we agree that it’s worth spending at least one night on the island to enjoy it after the crowds have left! We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit to Iona. More 

Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Spent two nights on the Isle of Iona off the Isle of Mull in the outer Hebrides. The weather for mid-October was spectacular, highs in the low 60s, no clouds, no rain and flat seas. The hotel is one of two on the small island and a reservation is a must. Both also have the only restaurants on the island,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us – and of course that you got to enjoy Iona in the beautiful autumn sunshine. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit – plan for the spring or early summer to... More 

Melbourne
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Iona is a very relaxing place. The stay on the island was helped by the wonderful staff and service at the hotel. From the moment of arrival we were made to feel very welcome by all. The room was nicely furnished and quite spacious. We enjoyed two very good evening meals in the dining room. Like Iona, the hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back for another relaxing visit soon! More 

Buckfastleigh
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

Stayed here for four nights in September, having been to the magical island of Iona before and wanting to repeat the experience. I had not stayed at the hotel before. Location wonderful, staff very friendly and mostly helpful, mainly good ambience. Two areas less than wonderful were: Evening dinners. Not well cooked. The web-site promised locally caught fish, which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I’m pleased to read that you appreciated our location and enjoyed some aspects of your stay, but of course are sorry to read that you were disappointed with others. In particular, I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your evening meals and felt there was a lack of... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014 via mobile

Had a good light lunch in pleasant surroundings. The food was locally sourced, salad from the garden and home baked bread, just the ticket. If I were to stay on the island I would choose this hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We’re delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your lunch and hope to welcome you back in the future! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Met at the ferry by staff member who took our bags to the hotel whilst we ambled through the beautiful streets to the hotel. Our room was quite spartan, no frills, but adequate and clean. The bathroom was modern and had everything we needed. The hotel was quiet and peaceful, the food great. The hotel is "green" - they grow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to write this review. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit! More 

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 11 days and was impressed by its management, cuisine, cleanliness, hospitality, and gorgeous view. Its organic gardens provided tasty vegetables, the staff went out of their way to answer questions and the room - while modest - was quite perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review. We’re delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! More 

Lancaster
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

The staff are all friendly and helpful. We had got our dates wrong and arrived a night early but they rang round and sorted rooms out for us elsewhere on the island. My elderly mother was not sure how far she could walk so they let us borrow their wheel chair. The food was excellent, particularly the steak. Stunning views... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dot_Stewart, General Manager at St. Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We’re delighted to hear how much you all enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Iona! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question