We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Hamilton B&Bs / inns

The Villa Hotel

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   49-51 Burnbank Road, Hamilton ML3 9AQ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Villa Hotel to your Saves list
The Villa Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
61%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hamilton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Angela9851 Leeds, United Kingdom
true
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    3
    1
    6
See reviews for
8
3
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for the Commonwealth Games. After being quoted £1250 a night for a Glasgow Hotel I didn't think I'd find such a good hotel for less than £150, but this place ticked every box. The room wasn't that big, but it was really comfortable and very clean. Staff were helpful. We had the full Scottish breakfast which was great,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ann S, Owner at The Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. More

Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Avoid this hotel at all costs!! I would rather sleep rough! Poor attitude of management and bad facilities. I felt overcharged for poor standard of accommodation. Next time I'll stay in a branded hotel. I will not be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann S, Owner at The Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are always grateful for a review which is honest and forthright. This assists us in improving our service. We welcome genuine critique, and disregard those written with malice aforethought. More

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Extortionate rate,due to Commonwealth games, for a small uncomfortable room. Wifi did not work in room : had to sit in reception. Poor continental breakfast with stale pastries. Unmanned reception. Won't be going back !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ann S, Owner at The Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We would like to address your points. We set our rates for our rooms in line with all other establishments in our area. Rooms were more expensive than usual. This was due to supply and demand. You booked through an agency where the room sizes are given in... More

Holyhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Normall I steer clear of privately run hotels due to the unknown service and facilties. I had no choice but to stay at the Villa Hotel and took their last remaining small single room. It's on a busy road with parking in the front and some pubs and a couple of restaurants (Indian in particular) within walking distance as is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ann S, Owner at The Villa Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for your recent review. Your comments are most appreciated. There are a couple of inaccurate points which we`d like to address to save confusion with potential future guests. Firstly the Villa Hotel is not in a retail park, but on the busy A724 main road. We have great transport links here at The Villa, but admit... More

Irvine, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
35 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Booked this on Thursday last minute as I was heading to Hamilton races. Plenty of car parking spaces out the front, but this may change if the restaurant was busy. Door at reception was closed with a sign on it saying use the other door to the bar. The male staff member that greeted me was very friendly and helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Its been a good few years since last visited but was in tonight for dinner with my mum and kids. The food was great. The kids enjoyed their meals as did my mum. The curry was excellent although I was left wanting more. The waiters were extremely friendly , nothing was too much trouble for them and they were calling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Have visited a number of times over the past year or so for a small party, dinner and lunches I have never been disappointed with the food, it is very reasonably priced and excellent quality. The staff are great, can't do enough for you yet not in your face. Just what you want for peaceful dining. Drop in you won't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to the villa for 8 years now and have never had a bad meal in there. The curries are the best around and very hard to go by. But I ventured out my comfort zone and had a steak the last time I was there. It was cooked to perfection and tender. Absolutely delicious. The service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
newcastle upon tyne, uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

three of us were doing the Lands End to John O'Groats (LEJOG) or End to End ride and The Villa is on the A724 in Hamilton right on the route. we each had a single room with ensuite shower room. we arrived a bit later than we had planned because of awful weather. the staff were all friendly and welcoming.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Ate here last week for a young relatives birthday. From the minute we were seated, the staff couldn't do enough for us. Although we weren't an overly large party, there were a few younger children in the group and we found the staff very friendly and nothing was too much bother for them. I'm so glad I listened to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Hotel

Address: 49-51 Burnbank Road, Hamilton ML3 9AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Villa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Villa Hotel Hamilton, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Villa Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?