We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Ayr hotels

Mercure Ayr Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Hotel amenities
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Ayr Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013
1985born Wishaw, United Kingdom
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    127
    93
    42
    24
See reviews for
64
151
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (376)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
There are newer reviews for Mercure Ayr Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Ok here's the negatives: room smells, room cold, walls thin hear every sound from adjoining rooms, noisy clunky doors, loud noise from outside and inside, decor tired, beds uncomfortable, no soap in bathroom. Now the posotives: ER............ I'll let you know when I think of one. I've stayed in much better hotels for far less money! There has to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback although I was disappointed to read that your stay was not an enjoyable one. Please accept my apologies. At the Mercure Ayr Hotel we strive to exceed our guest's expectations and on this occasion we have failed to do so it would seem. Your feedback is important to us whether it be positive... More

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night when I attended a training course. The rooms I had was really nice double bed tv tea coffee with a couch and table sitting area, I then had a couch bed tv and dressing table which I thought was the toilet so this would've been a family room with your bath shower very nice room.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your review, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am glad that your room exceeded your expectations and that you made good use of our leisure facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in February for your next training course. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele More

Elderslie, renfrewwshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked a deal for a two night stay and must say we had a nice break. Hotel staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was freshly made would definitely recommend. Central location, pool, and breakfast was very enjoyable. Thanks to the staff for being very accommodating and made us feel welcome. Will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you had a nice, relaxing stay with us. As mentioned in many of the reviews, the team are always more than happy to help in any way they can in order to make your stay as enjoyable as they can. It is pleasing to read that you also found... More

edinburgh
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights last week, location is fantastic, very near the beach front, kids play park and main shopping areas. The rooms are nice with comfortable beds but unfortunately the bathrooms are in need of renovation. The hallways are also needing money spent on them, and creates a poor impression on the hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, I am pleased that it was a comfortable one. As a number of reviews have mentioned there are some areas of the hotel that are in need of renovation. These are areas that our head office are aware of and we are confident that, in time, the... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed here as part of a longer holiday in Scotland The staff, although very busy took time to look after me and my disabled partner to ensure everything was accessible to us. The rooms were clean and well maintained and the hotel is central for all amenities. The service is well run and every single member of staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your stay at the hotel, it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. The team are often praised for the service that they provide and I am delighted that you found them to be welcoming and friendly as well. Nothing is ever too much trouble to ensure that your stay... More

Ayrshire, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was in Ayr for the weekend on business and booked in at this hotel. My room was nice clean and comfortable. I also had tea and coffee in the room and an iron and iron board. The television was a good size to watch. I was very happy with my room and the location meant it was not far... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your review, it is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback. The Chef will no doubt be delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us and he will be sure to pass your compliments on to his team. As previously mentioned, there are areas of the hotel that do require some modernisation, the toilets... More

Southampton, NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel rooms are the typical European style, small, very basic, no air conditioning. Needs updating, somewhat dirty. Nice bar with good prices, dining area is nice with good food, complemental breakfast, very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review following your recent stay at the hotel. I appreciate your comments regarding the areas that require updating, we are well aware of these and are hoping that investment will be made to modernise these. I am delighted that you made good use of our bar and restaurant and enjoyed these. I will be... More

bonnie scotland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

stayed here tuesday and wed 8th and 9th october 2013....enjoyed our stay...our Privilage room was very nice,great bed,lovely decor and comfortable,however the bathroom was pretty shabby and the tv not great and quite tempremental,also some areas of the hotel could do with a bit of an upgrade....My main complaint with this hotel is the cost they want to charge for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, although I was disappointed to read that it did not exceed your expectations. Please accept my apologies. Unfortunately, as a branded hotel, the prices of our food and drink is dictated by head office in order to standardise it across the whole of the estate. It is... More

livingston scotland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

what was possibly a 3 star hotel at its concept,is now heading to being a 2 star rapidly, as with previous reviews i have read, it is poorly maintained, not cleaned to a good enough standard, and requires to be upgraded sooner rather than later. too many replies to previous posts by management refer to IN THE FUTURE, HOPEFULLY SOME... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for telling us about your recent stay with us although I was disappointed to read that it did not exceed your expectations. Please accept my apologies. I take on board your comments regarding breakfast, unfortunately as a branded hotel this is an area that is standardised across the board. I will however pass your comments on... More

Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I did not actually stay in the hotel myself, my cousin and his wife were there for a short break so I went down to spend the day with them as my cousin was not long out of hospital, both he and I are registered disabled, my cousin is also an amputee, the car park to the rear was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many thanks for telling us about your recent stay with us although I was disappointed to read that it did not exceed your expectations. Please accept my apologies. For any of our guests staying in our adapted rooms, it’s the hotel policy that their details be added to the Assisted Evacuation List which is supplied to the fire... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay