We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Ayr Hotel

Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Hotel amenities
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Ranipuss Launceston, Australia
Add Photo Write a Review

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    150
    115
    51
    28
See reviews for
70
169
15
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (436)
  • Mar-May only
    (87)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (139)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room had a coffee machine but no fridge or air con (had booked a superior room). Hotel car park convenient behind hotel, so was secure. Restaurant food excellent - the salmon was cooked to perfection. Staff good, and good range of wines by the glass.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable experience. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the chefs and I know they will be delighted to receive your praise for their cooking. KInd Regards Lindsay Steele More 

Hampshire uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Due to a computer error my booking was messed up. My fault yes. So I made a second one. Was told when I checked in that I could get a refund by the reception, just call head office in the morning. Did this. No refund. So then called hotel. Manager refused refund. Grrr. I used their swimming pool. It is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, with certain bookings there are terms and conditions that state that refunds are not possible. I am sorry that due to this you feel aggrieved and felt the need to leave your feedback here. We will of course use your comments so that we can improve... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ayr hotels

Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights and found the hotel to be very clean and the staff to be very attentive and friendly. Room were a good size if a little on the tired side but were spotlessly clean. Breakfast had a good continental / hot choice. Ideally located and free parking at the rear. Very good pool and fitness suite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback, I am delighted that your stay was enjoyable. I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the team so that they know that all their hard work does not go unnoticed. We will hope to be able to welcome you back again soon. Many Thanks Lindsay Steele More 

Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed in this hotel for one night most of the staff were lovely and very friendly. the bedroom was very compact and the bed was very clean and comfortable. however the cleaning stopped at the laundry the ceiling in bedroom was painted airtex and had lots of cobwebs hanging there was also alot of black condensat stains pn the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your comments about your recent stay. I am disappointed that this was of a negative nature however we appreciate all types of feedback as we look to continuously improve our guest's experience. Your comments have been passed on to the housekeeping department so that they can investigate your comments and action as appropriate. Having a... More 

Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Mercure Ayr Hotel is a comfortable hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. It is right in the centre of the town and a five minute walk from the beach. Good food and service. Well worth considering if you are on a business trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your comments, it is always a pleasure to recieve positive feedback. I will be sure to share this with the team. I am sure they will take great motivation from your kind words. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We drove to ayr on Wednesday the tenth of may for a day at the seaside.after having a most enjoyable day ,we went to the men cure for dinner and had a lovely meal the staff were very attentive and polite and hard working.the hotel is nicely decorated and comfortable and makes you feel good I will go back to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments following your meal with us in May. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time. I will pass on your comments to the Restaurant team and we will hope to welcome you back when you are next in Ayr. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really want to like this hotel as the staff are lovely but it's just not up to scratch. I stayd here as work booked me in as my usual hotel was full. Good on them, they've improved the breakfast buffet since my last review and I enjoyed the fresh fruit, but labelling the cereal and milk would be handy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am disappointed of course, that you did not have an enjoyable experience. Please acept my apologies. I am pleased that the team were on hand to make your stay as comfortable as possible and we are looking at ways in which we can spruce up... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location was excellent and used as a 3 day base whilst touring on my motorbike, check in was efficient and very friendly good parking facilities behind the hotel and secure. Room was on the upper floor level 3 view was of the seafront fantastic, room was good no problems at all all we required. We did not eat at this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit. I awill be sure to pass your comments to the team and we will all look forward to welcoming you back should you be passing through this way again. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Recently stayed on an overnighter, the room was very shabby and in dire need of a touch up, the bathroom was shockingly poor, broken old white tiles, shower hear falling off the wall, had to run around in the shower to get wet it was that weak, cracked paint on ceiling, the sink unit was rotting underneath, poor supply of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am of course disappointed that your stay was not enjoyable. Please accept my sincere apologies. We shall be discussing the comments you have made at our next departmental meeting so that we can rectify these issues where is immediately possible. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay