We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Ayr hotels

Mercure Ayr Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Ayr Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Ayr
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
tammyroche11 Donegal Town, Ireland
  • Overview
  • Reviews (327)
  • Photos (44)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (106)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    114
    83
    31
    19
See reviews for
56
128
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

spent 3 nights here recently and have to say it is a great hotel..It is so close to everything. beach pubs shops ect.. It has a swimming pool sauna gym and jacauzzi . rooms a bit dated but clean all the same.. The only complaint i had was that we were the same time as the Ghana commenwealth team so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us, I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time. We were lucky enough to have the Ghana Commonwealth Team staying at the hotel for 3 weeks whilst they were training in the local area. They were indeed very friendly posing for pictures with guests etc but as... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not even at the price would I recommend this hotel. Even as an A-club Accor member. I booked 2 double rooms (2 couples), but apparently these rooms were not available and I was offered 4 single rooms. These rooms were not fit for habitation, and even the staff commented "we try not to use these rooms". Thankfully, after I complained... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, albeit of a negative nature. I would like to once again apologise for the unfortunate incident regarding your rooms and trust you had an enjoyable stay in Ayr. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele More

Cei Connah
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I travel a lot both on business and in my own time, this has to be the worst hotel I've stayed in, not including the staff who were attentive and polite. The room was extremely dated, the shower controls fell off in my hand when i tried to operate the shower, and the water was cold for 15 minutes whilst... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay. Please accept my apologies. I understand your issues with the heat, it is not often that we are blessed with such good weather. The air-conditioning is certainly one of the areas that we are... More

Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well,at £90 per night this was,by a country mile,the worst room I have hD in a hotel in 10 years of travelling on business.Booked late and arrived late so had no time to check reviews. I requested a quiet room.Allocated room 375 facing the rear.On entering the room the disgusting sweaty,stale,dirty smell Was overpowering,I will. Never forget it.The room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your review, although I am sorry that you decided not to stay with us. I appreciate your comments on the size of the room for the price your company paid, however this was the room that was booked for you at such a very busy time. This does not excuse any smell you may feel... More

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hubby and I stayed here last night for 1 night and had a brilliant time visiting Ayr! Hotel not the nicest as quite dated and room was tiny (665) but had a lovely sea view which we requested. It's very central which is ideal for nightlife eating out and stuff. It was clean which I suppose is the main thing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that, on the whole, you had an enjoyable visit to Ayr. I am delighted that you have sang the praises of the team, in particular Chris who always goes that extra mile to make your experience as positive as possible. I will be sure... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes it does need a wee upgrade and wifi is a bit patchy but it is a fantastic hotel with hard working generous staff. After a wee hiccup at booking that was sorted out magnificently by the lovely lyndsay , we can't thank lyndsay enough for her wonderful, professional actions that restored our faith in the mercure hotel. Actions do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your most recent stay with us. I am delighted that, once over the initial blip with your booking, you and the family (Dad included) had another enjoyable experience. I will of course pass on your compliments to the team, especially those mentioned within your review. We hope you had a safe journey... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paid over £100 pounds to stay in what they call a superior room (a joke) room and bathroom in need of a redoing entrance to hotel lovely but in lift ok on exiting lift however full place is in need of a lick of paint staff ok but would not recommend anyone to go here

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to hear your comments but shall pass these on to the team as we aim to provide a superior service. Many Thanks Lindsay Steele More

Harrogate
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I was the organiser of a party of 18 golfers who stayed here as our base for 5 days playing golf. The hotel arranged all the golf and I got a brilliant price on the rooms, everything went faultless and the staff at the hotel were friendly and efficient, we will certainly go back when we next visit Ayr. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay following your recommendation. Your comments will be passed on to the team who I know will take great encouragement from your kind words. They are often praised for their friendly, helpful nature and I am pleased that... More

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel had really friendly and helpful staff. the location was approximately 1 1/2 blocks from the bus station with a stop almost at the front door. The downtown area was about a block away as well and that was good. Looks like most of the main stores in town have moved out but it was still quaint for walking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your comments regarding your most recent stay. I am delighted that you all had an enjoyable break. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team who I know will appreciate your kind words. We will look forward to welcoming you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Ayr Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
118

See which rooms travelers prefer