We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Ayr hotels

Mercure Ayr Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Hotel amenities
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Ayr Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Ayr
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
dunkysmrs glasgow
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    136
    106
    45
    25
See reviews for
65
157
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (404)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (94)
All months
Forfar
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very disappointed in this run down hotel, The hotel was cold throughout, industrial heaters had been hired for the reception, bar and dinning room areas but these areas were still oncomfortable ti sit in. The bedrooms were even worse, more so as the water in the showers was also cold.The hotels lobbies were dark as some of the lights did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having returned home today from a 2 night stay at Mercure, I am so disappointed. Where to start,Room 658 was poor to say the least.I have stayed at this hotel many times but this particular time I was let down by room.It was full of black mould on the walls.Window ledges soaking wet and mouldy along edges.Door took ages to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank your for your comments following your most recent stay with us. I am of course disappointed that your stay was not as enjoyable as your previous ones. Please accept my apologies. Your feedback has been passed on to the Housekeeping team to investigate and ensure there is no re-occurence of your issues. I hope that we can... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As the rugby fans are now posting reviews I thought I would post mine. Booked this hotel about 4 weeks in advance for Valentine weekend with my husband and there was NOTHING on their web page to say it would be full of Welsh rugby fans. If I had known this I wouldn't have booked. Arrived at 2pm. Girl who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, although I am disappointed that your stay was cut short by the problems that you experienced. Please accept my apologies. I can understand your frustrations regarding the Welsh rugby fans who were staying with us that weekend intent on having a good time. It was certainly not intentional to place you in a... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As the title states this is the 8th time I've used this hotel during the Scotland Wales rugby international weekend and as usual the the service was up to the standard have come to expect. The staff made me and my team mates more than welcome. Unsurprisingly i'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your most recent stay with us at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive comments. I will be sure to share this with the team and we will all look forward to seeing you and the guys again in a couple of years. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was really polite and friendly, but the room was not as well as the stuff. The hotel needs a remodeling, a refurbishment. My room was too small with several damages in the walls and the door didn't close correctly. The tv didn't work and to it taked 2 days to fix it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us last month, although I am disappointed that this was not an enjoyable one. Please accept my apologies. We shall use your feedback as we look to improve our services and I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the team to them. Kind Regards Lindsay... More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on business recently, the hotel is Ok, my room was a premier room and that was nice, decent size, settee and good decor. It was a bit chilly, I had to pull the curtains up as they were blocking the radiators to get any heat. It's a bit tired looking in the public areas but staff were nice.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel on business. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay on the whole. The hotel location is great to explore the local bars and restaurants and I am glad that you managed to get out and explore. I will be sure to pass your compliments... More 

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for two nights dinner bed and breakfast . A bit wary at first after reading reviews on trip adviser but pleasantly surprised ,yes things are a little tired and time worn but things are being done and I think in current climate they are doing a good job . Great food comfy beds clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the team and we will hope to be able to welcome you back again very soon for another enjoyable experience. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele More 

Melrose
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Public areas of hotel kept tidy but bedroom window had black mould on frame and blackness on wallpaper next to window (room 569) likely due to poor ventilation - bathroom extractor fan didn't work. Also hot/cold signage on bath tap wrong way round - not helpful. On check-in we were given a voucher for a free bottle of wine with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us, although I am disappointed to read that you had some issues. Please accept my apologies. I was unaware that the signs for the water were on the wrong way round and have asked the Maintenance team to rectify this immediately. The vouchers booklets being given out by... More 

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's a contractors hotel, not pricey not flash but clean. If it's head down and work it's ok. Wouldn't do a weekend with missus. The sea gulls are really noisy ref sleep quality and breakfast isn't open until 7am, which is naughty as most of us workers are on are way to work by then. There is a nice pub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for the feedback following your stay with us. At present we do have contract workers staying with us as we do all year round. We can offer our guests a continental breakfast if required before service starts amnd we will take a look at the openeing time. I am pleased that you found the team to be... More 

St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here one night and loved how conveniently located it was. Short walks to the Firth of Clyde, shopping and dining. Wish the hot tub had been open later in the evening, as it was freezing outside, but aside from that had no complaints.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsay S, General Manager at Mercure Ayr Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Many Thanks for your feedback following your overnight stay with us. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and hope that we may be able to welcome you back again should you be passing through in the future. Kind Regards Lindsay Steele More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Ayr Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ayr Hotel

Address: Dalblair Road, Ayr KA7 1UG, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Jarvis)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Ayr Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Ayr Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ayr
Ayr Ramada
Mercure Ayr Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay