We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
134 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2015

I have visited several times, and really like this place. it's in the centre of pitlochry, and I have stayed both in a double room, and in the dorms. I have never been disturbed at night- although it must be a very sociable hotel. The rooms are clean, and the shower and toilet facilities clean and nice- I've never had... More 

Helpful?
Thank ingping2015
Cumnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

This is my second time staying here, & I hope to be back again, stay for longer & visit the other hotels in Scotland. Is a very quirky & interesting hotel/hostel, staff are friendly & helpful & lots of information & things to do in reception & sitting rooms. Stayed 6 years ago & the bedrooms have been done up... More 

Helpful?
Thank JaquleneC
Mainz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2015

We had a double room, which was really clean and enjoyable. It had a privat bathroom and we used a storage box in the kitchen and had our own food. The employers were all very friendly and informed a lot about what to do and were to eat. The best man has been Toni who has been friendly, competent and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jana A
manager090, Receptionist at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we truly appreciate it and it certainly put a giant smile on Toni's dial!! Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we'll hopefully get to welcome you back at some stage in the future :-) More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

The hostel is in an ideal location on the High Street. The staff are fantastic and friendly. Everyone is made to feel welcome. It feels like a good hostel should: warm, friendly, clean and welcoming. Go there and enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Justin K
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2015

Ill start with the basic things you expect from a hostel. cleanliness: 5 stars, if you stay in hostels you know that you start to expect very little from them. I was shocked with how clean my room and bed were Kitchen: 4 Stars, Plenty of space for your dry goods, all the utensils a kitchen could ever need, multiple... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeaHopperTravelBug
manager090, Receptionist at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sharon Thank you for your review - we certainly appreciate it :-) We do fondly remember yourself, Jeff & Plato going off on your adventures (& not so ideally) Jeff returning with his sprained ankle... but back on a plus note the laughter whilst you guys were staying with us... always welcomed in hostels!! I'm also with you on... More 

Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

I had not, to that point in my life, ever left any sort of business establishment by hugging, exchanging Facebook info, and making future plans with the entire staff. That's how cool they are. Seriously, I would trust the bad reviews like I trust a pit bull with blood running down its mouth. We took some just ribbing from the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
manager090, Receptionist at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jeff If I'm not mistaken - you rolled your ankle rather badly whilst you were out exploring with one of our long term guests Plato?! I certainly hope it healed quickly for you, however on a plus note, it also meant that we kidnapped the two of your for an extra day! The lovely Mimi was who we were... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

This review is a little overdue, however there is no time like the present! My boyfriend and I stayed in the hostel for the weekend as we were attending a friend's wedding in Pitlochry. We were slightly late in arriving on the Friday evening but had phoned ahead to let the reception know, and this was no problem. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eilidh S
manager090, Receptionist at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Eilidh We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us & such a lovely one at that - thank you : ) Also so sorry to hear that your Fort William experience wasn't so great - I certainly hope it wasn't in our sister hostel - Ryan would be devastated to hear if standards had... More 

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2015 via mobile

Value for money is pretty low if you stay in a private room. It's the same cost as many B&Bs nearby, but the whole place is poorly maintained and extremely noisy - even midweek. Perhaps it's better value to stay in a dorm, but you're not saving anything in a private room. Staff were generally friendly aside from one really... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amelia C
manager090, General Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Amelia I'm sorry to hear that you weren't overly impressed with your stay with us. We're a seasonal hostel and a family friendly one, so certainly try to keep noise levels down in the evenings within the hostel, however sadly have no control over what goes on in the streets outside the building. We also keep the cleanliness of... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015

The room was very comfortable with an ensuite bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. The lounge/dining area was also very nice. Overall a great place to stay on a budget whilst exploring the local area.

Helpful?
Thank Alan M
manager090, Receptionist at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rene Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us & delighted to hear that you'd recommend us to your friends. We're all rather fond of the lounge room too, it must be said and it's magic when you get loads of different groups blethering, playing pool & board games and once the chat... More 

Madison, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Me and two friends stayed overnight in the hostel which was a good distance away from where we were travelling to the next day (Falls of Bruar). The bedrooms are like most hostels - multiple bunks per room, but the mattresses were especially comfortable. There was a well-stocked kitchen for cooking dinner and the eating/lounge area was a comfortable, social... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rene P
manager090, Manager at Pitlochry Backpackers Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rene, Thanks for taking time out and giving us a nice review.......we really do appreciate it :) Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with ourself s and would love to have you back any-time, Hope the rest of your holiday was amazing and Scotland didn't disappoint. All the best Ryan More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Atholl Villa
Atholl Villa
#1 of 21 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#18 of 21 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#9 of 21 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#12 of 21 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#6 of 67 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dalshian Guest House
Dalshian Guest House
#10 of 67 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay