We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ballabeg Guest House

14 Keir Street, Perth PH2 7HJ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ballabeg Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

42 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

stayed five nights in this guest house, the owners are very nice people and very helpful, the breakfast was very nice, and the room was clean, a bit small for two but managed. the guest house are a very short walk to city center and got free parking just front of the house.

Helpful?
Thank kafaga
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

This B&B is located within walking distance of downtown (food and old town Perth), the Black Watch Castle and the Scone Palace. The room is very nice with a great armchair and desk. The bed is fine. Our bathroom is next door, but is all ours and it is huge. Very nice shower, very light and airy. The neighbors have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meg W
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

Beautiful room with such a big choices for breakfast. We spent one night in this guest house and were really impressed. Just a guest house for reasonable price per night and the house lady was so friendly. Every room offers so many catalogues about the city, about recommended places to eat. Beautiful place

Helpful?
1 Thank Katerina S
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015

Ballabeg doesn't look anything like the photos on trip advisor. We stayed for one night only. Our room was small with an uncomfortable bed, an oversized wardrobe that I think should be replaced with suitcase stands instead of having the cases on the floor and having to step over them. The breakfast was below average. The scrambled eggs tasted like... More 

Helpful?
Thank redcar_10
SeanFSmith, Owner at Ballabeg Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, as none of the issues were mentioned on your departure. Although you did write "Thank You" in our Visitor Book. We have received an AA 3 Star Gold Award for 2015, and for the previous 3 years and are also graded Three Star... More 

fife
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed at this B&B & enjoyed our stay. We were going to a family wedding. We usually stay in hotels but they were all booked up due to it being T in the park weekend & I found this lovely little guest house online. It's very close to the city centre so ideal for access to the shops... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kjb2b
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Ballabeg in order to attend the British open at St. Andrews. While we didn't spend much time in Perth or the guest house it is actually a nice spot in its own right with a lovely river close to Scone and Scone palace. We were also handy to St. Andrews and were there... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed a great two night stay with Debs and Sean. The room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. We had everything that we needed and there was access to a DVD library if we wanted it. The breakfast was superb - we would heartily recommend it! A lovely house with a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Museumfolk
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had a very disappointing stay at this establishment which is badly in need of refurbishment. The carpets are old and faded and the cheap furniture and fittings add to the sense of gloom! Of particular concern was the room door which has a window inserted with a curtain which did not keep out the hall lighting - all through... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hugh H
SeanFSmith, Owner at Ballabeg Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We were sad we did not see you in the morning at check out or at breakfast. The Guest House is Three star Graded by both Tourism bodies, and we retained our Gold Star Award for the third year. Both Tourism bodies have never commented on any of the negative aspects you have stated. We... More 

Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at Ballabeg. The room and toilet were spotless and bed was comfy. Owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome and at home. Were had a room on the top floor (room 6) that had a separate bathroom which we were a little nervous about. Our fears were not an... More 

Helpful?
Thank rcmacc_12
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.1 mi away
Achnacarry Guest House
Achnacarry Guest House
#27 of 54 in Perth
4.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arisaig Guest House
Arisaig Guest House
#21 of 54 in Perth
5.0 of 5 stars 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auld Manse Guest House
Auld Manse Guest House
#22 of 54 in Perth
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clunie Guest House
Clunie Guest House
#11 of 54 in Perth
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardfern Guest House
Ardfern Guest House
#10 of 54 in Perth
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hazeldene Guest House
Hazeldene Guest House
#18 of 54 in Perth
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay