We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Irvine Lodge

Townhead, Irvine KA12 0BE, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save
You added Irvine Lodge to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #6 of 6 Irvine B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012
niall m Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
3
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (10)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Very unclean stayed mon to the Fri never cleaned my room once or even emptied the bucket it was over flowing and didn't changed towels very disappointed. Definitely not staying again seen one person on the mon who let me into the room but no one else was around the rest of the week after that.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

called No 10 not Irvine Lodge,dbl room @ £80 2 nights,spent 20 mins at door chapping and phoning a workman staying there let me in,name was above a combination lock with key inside,eventually found room outside main building,room was unbearably small asked to change,given fam room ground floor which was miserable,most slats on window broken off no curtains had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6

Travelers are raving about these Irvine hotels

Mallow, Co. Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our first experience of the DIY B&B. You arrive to a place that is apparently "family run" to find the door locked and a telephone number outside. You ring the number and are told the code to open the door and where to find your room key. A note accompanying the key tells you how to make your... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I occasionally work in kilmarnock and have frequented the Irvine lodge on 4 occasions now. I have always found the experience to be excellent. The rooms are spacious and the on-suit facilities are always very clean. The staff are always keen to help. On 1 occasoin the remote for the tv didnt work but this was sorted immediately. The price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I visit Ayrshire on a regular basis and always stay at the Irvine Lodge Guest House because I consider it to be good value for money. The simple accomadation, I have found, is always clean and tidy and the bed comfortable while the rooms are cleaned each day and replenished. I always travel and work alone so the Irvine Lodge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I booked this lodge before reading any reviews on here and was a bit nervous about staying but I need not have been. Although the room is small it is still great value for money. The room is very modern and has everything you would expect or need and most importantly it is very, very clean. Staff were extremely helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed for a week for work purposes and did not have new towels, beds changed or made, tea coffee and milk replenished or rooms cleaned all week! The rooms were not terrible but the service was.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I would like to say that our stay at the irvine lodge guest house was not satisfactory there were so many things wrong with the guest houses rooms that it made the trip awfull, we stayed in room 4 and 6 one family and one twin in room 4 the door to the room did not lock unless you locked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
jsm172, Owner at Irvine Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Irvine Lodge. All your complaints could have been sorted there and then if you had contacted reception. You stayed with us for 2 nights and had ample time to raise these issues. Instead you choose to complain on this platform-after the event when things cant be resolved. With regards to... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Good base if flying from Prestwick and price was cheap! Few decent restaurants around area too! Keys were at reception with note of room, this was out the back door, over a building site (still under construction) so heels for women not a good idea! Room was a converted garage which was clean and cosy. However the bed was possibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jsm172, Owner at Irvine Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Irvine Lodge. We apologise that your stay conflicted with essential structural work that was taking place, however there was a separate access to your room that you could have taken. Your room was not in a converted garage, but an annex that was purpose built to accommodate more rooms, all... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

put it this way-at £35 a night for 2 people, i wasn't expecting much, so imagine my surprise to have a completely spotless room, flat screen tv, comfortable bed and free wifi! yes there are somethings like a small sink in the bathroom, but these are tiny inconveniences compared to the experience as a whole.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irvine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.