We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club

Morriston Road | Morayshire, Elgin IV30 6UL, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
nosilad Orkney, Scotland
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    159
    103
    75
    50
See reviews for
65
199
36
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (532)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (165)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (125)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (120)
All months
Orkney, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel and staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean. However, the hotel charges £2.00 for every card transaction (both debit and credit cards). This isn't mentioned anywhere on the website by the owners, Crear Hotels. Due to the fact that the hotel is outside Elgin with no easy access to a cash machine, especially if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which is always welcome and I am very sorry that you are unhappy with our policy on credit and debit charge recovery. You may already appreciate as a consumer, that we are charged a range of fees from a variety of banks and credit organisations purely for the use of their cards by their own... More 

Aberdeen Scotaland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I cant really understand the bad reviews. Our party had 2 rooms which were clean and comfortable. OK you had a wee bit of noise when folk went outside for a smoke but it did not spoil our break. The Leisure facilities were better than expected with the pool being ideal when the weather was inclement. The breakfast was good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, its good to know you have had a positive experience of all aspects of the hotel. Our staff are a wonderful asset and its great to know that work is appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager More 

Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Tiniest room , premium price paid. Mattress old and lumpy causing me to wake at 5 am with backache. Bar closed down at 10.30 pm. Breakfast very poor fruit salad was actually all Apple . Steer clear no wonder they do not give out feedback forms .

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our rooms are priced according to the local market and when including full cooked breakfast, complimentary use of an extensive leisure facility, free parking and complimentary unlimited use of superfast broadband they do represent value for money. All mattresses have been replaced within the last year, mattresses are very much personal taste however. We rarely... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great hotel. Lovely reception area with lots of comfy couches to relax on. Rooms spacious, clean and beds very comfortable. Toiletries available in bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities available within the room. We were given the code for wifi on check in, no complaints regarding wifi access in the rooms. We had a bar meal which was beautiful. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are delighted you will be back and look forward to seeing you. Chef and his team are delighted with your comments, our staff truly are an asset to us. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager More 

Lesmahagow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasant gardens and surroundings , with the manageress most helpfull , warm and clean , with a great garden for the children to run around in the sunshine , with a garden full of rabbits watching you at breakfast

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had a pleasant stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager More 

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my mum for afternoon tea on Saturday 14th March and booked her in for a treatment with Chloe at the spa, she loved her treatment (best facial she has ever had!!) Fab afternoon tea, So many delicious cakes, had to take some home with us. I also booked tickets for the ABBA tribute night in the Sherwood suite, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, our tribute nights and afternoon teas are a relatively new area for the hotel so its great to know how well received they are. We look forward to seeing you back, we have a full programme of entertainment throughout the year. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better stay! As a contractor working away constantly, I can honestly say that Eight Acres is the best yet. The staff are brilliant, rooms immaculate and can't forget to mention how welcoming and helpful Maggie ( the manager ) is. Highly recommend to anyone looking for a home from home stay 👍

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, its great to know that the guests who stay with us regularly and for long periods feel its a home from home. I will ensure Maggie and the team are aware of your comments. We look forward to continuing to look after you. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had always drive past this hotel on the way though to Inverness and though it would be worth staying well stayed this weekend and found the staff pleasant and attentive the rooms are tired especially the bathrooms the shower hose only coming up to my chest and the doors have been over painted far to many times so peeling but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. The refurbishment of the building is a decision for our head office although our facility was fully refurbished a few years ago and items such as mattresses and beds are replaced regularly. I am pleased to see that those things influenced by the hotel management and staff however were positives for you. Kind Regards Carolyn... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok! Fntastic staff,expensive single room. This is not a retro hotel.Room size 10ft x 8ft.wardrobe from the 80s carpet tired wood chip wallpaper 90s.Cheap thin mattress,ceiling office tiles.Overall tired room the only thing positive the tweed blind.Please do not respond back, either decorate rooms or adjust price of rooms accordingly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for our review. Our single rooms have all been decorated with new carpets, blinds, beds, mattresses and bathroom flooring in the last two years. We cannot however change the size or build fabric of the rooms. Our prices are in line with all other accommodation in the area and our budget singles do offer good value for money,... More 

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Eight Acres Hotel Elgin i attended a conference here and stayed overnight the costs were very reasonable for the room But the meal in the restaurant was a culinary delight i started with the crayfish cocktail in a delicious old fashioned sea food sauce then finished off with Fresh Scallops with Chorizo and asparagus a well constructed plate full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gm_eightacres, General Manager at Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, our staff and chef are delighted with your comments which I have ensured they are aware of. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Carolyn Robertson General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (50)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question