We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Elgin hotels

Sunninghill Hotel

Hay Street, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sunninghill Hotel to your Saves list
Sunninghill Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Ruth F Melbourne, Australia
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    20
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
8
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Sunninghill during a 3 day visit to Elgin and surrounds to explore family history. It was a very comfortable stay in an older but updated and clean venue. The restaurant downstairs was good, if a bit more expensive than I had expected for rural Scotland. The staff were helpful. I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although you found our menu slightly on the expensive side I hope you enjoyed your meals. We do try to use best quality local meat and fish which is more expensive. Hope we shall maybe see you again sometime in the future. More

Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Again we choose the Sunninghill for a special night. You guys never fail us, the food was first class and the service genuine and sincere. Both of us had a real wonderful evening before we set of for our wedding and honeymoon. Big thank you to Polly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I hope your wedding day day was everything you hoped for and more. Looking forward to seeing again. More

Huntly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This Hotel is a great find , we have never stayed here before but we have eating in their dinning room quite a few times with my husband and with family we did a surprise dinner for my parents golden anniversary and the staff went out of there way to be so helpful we will defenatly use this Hotel again,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very favourable review of our hotel. It is always good to know that our guests have enjoyed both the food and the accommodation. I shall make sure the staff see you comments. It is always a morale boost for them to know their efforts are appreciated. Thank you again and I hope we can... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My family of 4 stayed here one night in rooms 17 and 19. Nice, comfortable rooms with large and comfy beds however an extra pillow would have been ideal. Decor was a little dated. The Hotel itself was smart and well maintained. The dining room and cocktail bar particularly good. Food was excellent. Both evening meal and breakfast were superb.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your favourable review of our hotel. I shall pass on your kind comments to Margaret. She has been with us for 34 years and has been a great asset to us. I am sorry you did not find the extra pillows which are in the wardrobe in case guests require extra along with an extra bed cover.... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

stayed at sunninghill hotel staff good breakfast good very clean car park good size rooms 8 was a nice size so was room 15 elgin small but nice got train to inverness nice to. i would stay there again stayed there 3 times before pamela and margaret served us breakfast johnathan served us drinks they were all nice so was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is always good to see you when you visit. I do hope we shall see you again. More

Nottingham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed one night, in a ground floor room which opened off the car park and suited us well. It was simply but attractively decorated and had comfortable beds and a spacious modern en suite. The staff were helpful and let us leave our luggage early so we could go and explore the town, which is only a short walk away.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you felt our breakfast room was dated but we have tried to keep the decor in the old house in keeping with the age of the property. We still cook all our breakfasts to order rather than have a buffet service... More

Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great staff , great food.. Wanted Scampie, asked if was actual prawns, & not a mish mash of fish some serve. Staff went & asked owner, who promptly phoned local fish provider in Lossie to check. Should tell you much about a hotel that hides nothing & totally up front. Lovely meal, the homemade sweet was to die for.congratulations to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and i am very pleased you were pleased with our service. I do hope we can be of service to you again. More

Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to this hotel and again it was fantastic. Food was absolutely amazing and staff are so friendly and are helpful and make you feel so relaxed that your stay is even more enjoyable. It's like being at home. Have been recommending the hotel to everyone and I will most definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on to the staff your comments as it is always good to get some positive feedback. I hope we shall cater for you again. More

Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business and found the rooms lacking privacy and discretion. The walls are paper thin to start I had the pleasure of a snoring gent next to me as well as the tv's and goings on of the rooms above and on the same floor. The doors are poor fitting so every door slam and footstep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

We were very sorry to read your unfavourable review of our hotel. We only wish you had made your dissatisfaction known to us at the time and hopefully we could have dealt with your problems. We have had a happy relationship with your local company for a long time and are sorry you found our service and accommodation not to... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

... and if I had to choose between a 5 star chain hotel and this one, it would win every time. Having pre booked a holiday let in Lossiemouth that turned out to be smelly, sticky and dirty on arrival (avoid 3 loxa court if you are visiting!) the sunning hill put us up at very short notice in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the very kind review. We hope your leg is back to normal soon. Best regards Winnie ross More

Been to Sunninghill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunninghill Hotel

Address: Hay Street, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunninghill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunninghill Hotel Elgin, Moray

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunninghill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines