We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunninghill Hotel

Hay Street, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Sunninghill Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Tim M Portree, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
9
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (6)
All months
Portree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Sunninghill Hotel Elgin in September 2013; thoroughly enjoyed then when one of our nephews joined us. Having reason to return to nearby Forres over the just passed weekend, (May 15) we elected to stay at Sunninghill again. Lovely welcome, nicely equipped bedroom and bathroom (room 15) well up to and we think exceeding the hotel's 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and i shall make sure the staff hear about your excellent review. I do hope we can welcome you again in the future if you are in this area. Best regards Winnie Ross More 

Orkney, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Great service from the friendly staff. The room was very warm and clean with free wifi throughout the hotel. The food was decent, although expensive, but pricewise is on a par with the Mansefield Hotel just along the road. It's an easy walk to Elgin town centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass on your remarks to the staff. More 

Faber, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

In town on business and used as a base to work in various parts of northeast Scotland. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean and efficient. Breakfast was pleasant as was the entirety of the hotel restaurant and bar. Close walking distance to the City's center and several restaurants and shops. Wifi is a bit slow but this may... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can be of service to you again in the future. More 

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Sunninghill hotel with my husband while he's been working in the area . The hotel itself is very nice and the owners have managed to integrate a modern , clean ( immaculate ) and comfortable environment along with retaining the character of the 'old' building ... Lots of lovely features like the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent. I aml very glad you enjoyed your stay and food with us. I shall pass on your comments to the staff who do try very hard to make guests feel welcome and it is always encouraging when we receive positive feedback. Thank you again. Winnie Ross More 

Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Our only problem for our one night stay was our wifi connection. We could not get an internet connection in our room even after the staff tried to help. Worked fine in the restaurant. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We know there is poor service in some areas with our WIFI and this Tuesday we are getting new access points installed which hopefully will solve the problem. Enjoy the rest of your trip to Scotland. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Lovely hotel, rooms well decorated and cosy. The restaurant menu was extensive, with lots of variety and reasonable prices. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the bar staff certainly know their whisky!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully may welcome you back again in the future. I shall pass on your remarks to the staff who always appreciate positive feedback. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

We had both been at this hotel for meals and family events in the past and on every occasion the food had been spot on so it was an easy decision for us to have our wedding reception (42 guests approx) here. Everything was perfect. Fantastic and plentiful food, and good choice of menu, hot plates (mother of the bride... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your special day with us. It is always encouraging for our staff to get good positive feedback. I do hope we can welcome you again and all the best for your future together. More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I was recently working at Lossiemouth and was booked into this Hotel by my company, I have found many of the Hotels seem to suffer a lack of water pressure with the result that you have to work hard to get a decent shower so I was pleasantly surprised when I booked in to the Sunninghill to find a half... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass on your remarks to the staff who always appreciate some positive feedback. I do hope we can be of service to you in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed at Sunninghill during a 3 day visit to Elgin and surrounds to explore family history. It was a very comfortable stay in an older but updated and clean venue. The restaurant downstairs was good, if a bit more expensive than I had expected for rural Scotland. The staff were helpful. I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although you found our menu slightly on the expensive side I hope you enjoyed your meals. We do try to use best quality local meat and fish which is more expensive. Hope we shall maybe see you again sometime in the future. More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Again we choose the Sunninghill for a special night. You guys never fail us, the food was first class and the service genuine and sincere. Both of us had a real wonderful evening before we set of for our wedding and honeymoon. Big thank you to Polly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I hope your wedding day day was everything you hoped for and more. Looking forward to seeing again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay