We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Elgin hotels

Sunninghill Hotel

Hay Street, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sunninghill Hotel to your Saves list
Sunninghill Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
81%
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014
MrandMrsGrizwald Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
7
2
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My family of 4 stayed here one night in rooms 17 and 19. Nice, comfortable rooms with large and comfy beds however an extra pillow would have been ideal. Decor was a little dated. The Hotel itself was smart and well maintained. The dining room and cocktail bar particularly good. Food was excellent. Both evening meal and breakfast were superb.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your favourable review of our hotel. I shall pass on your kind comments to Margaret. She has been with us for 34 years and has been a great asset to us. I am sorry you did not find the extra pillows which are in the wardrobe in case guests require extra along with an extra bed cover.... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

stayed at sunninghill hotel staff good breakfast good very clean car park good size rooms 8 was a nice size so was room 15 elgin small but nice got train to inverness nice to. i would stay there again stayed there 3 times before pamela and margaret served us breakfast johnathan served us drinks they were all nice so was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It is always good to see you when you visit. I do hope we shall see you again. More

Nottingham
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed one night, in a ground floor room which opened off the car park and suited us well. It was simply but attractively decorated and had comfortable beds and a spacious modern en suite. The staff were helpful and let us leave our luggage early so we could go and explore the town, which is only a short walk away.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you felt our breakfast room was dated but we have tried to keep the decor in the old house in keeping with the age of the property. We still cook all our breakfasts to order rather than have a buffet service... More

Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great staff , great food.. Wanted Scampie, asked if was actual prawns, & not a mish mash of fish some serve. Staff went & asked owner, who promptly phoned local fish provider in Lossie to check. Should tell you much about a hotel that hides nothing & totally up front. Lovely meal, the homemade sweet was to die for.congratulations to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and i am very pleased you were pleased with our service. I do hope we can be of service to you again. More

Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to this hotel and again it was fantastic. Food was absolutely amazing and staff are so friendly and are helpful and make you feel so relaxed that your stay is even more enjoyable. It's like being at home. Have been recommending the hotel to everyone and I will most definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed on to the staff your comments as it is always good to get some positive feedback. I hope we shall cater for you again. More

Perth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business and found the rooms lacking privacy and discretion. The walls are paper thin to start I had the pleasure of a snoring gent next to me as well as the tv's and goings on of the rooms above and on the same floor. The doors are poor fitting so every door slam and footstep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

We were very sorry to read your unfavourable review of our hotel. We only wish you had made your dissatisfaction known to us at the time and hopefully we could have dealt with your problems. We have had a happy relationship with your local company for a long time and are sorry you found our service and accommodation not to... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

... and if I had to choose between a 5 star chain hotel and this one, it would win every time. Having pre booked a holiday let in Lossiemouth that turned out to be smelly, sticky and dirty on arrival (avoid 3 loxa court if you are visiting!) the sunning hill put us up at very short notice in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the very kind review. We hope your leg is back to normal soon. Best regards Winnie ross More

Siena, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I visited the Sunninghill Hotel in August 2013 with my scottish friend and we were really looking forward to a 'true' scottish experience. Unfortunately our meal order was lost and after 45 minutes we started to inquire about our food. The Manager and the staff were very apologetic and gave us the meal and wine for free which was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

I can only apologise for the mistake with your meal order again but I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Have just had four nights at the hotel and found the rooms very comfortable - breakfast also great. The menu for dinner was very wide but not cheap and we also expected to eat in the restaurant but had to use the bar/conservatory. My only real complaint was that there is not adequate parking as the car park was usually... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
winsome1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad you found our hotel comfortable. I am sorry you did not enjoy being in our bar/conservatory area in the evening but most people prefer to be where it is a bit busier with a bit of buzz. I am sorry you did not ask as we always have our dining room... More

Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Spent the weekend at this hotel to surprise my Brother-in-law for his birthday. Myself, niece and hubby, nephew, wife and son were allocated a three bedroom bungalow in the grounds of the hotel, each having our own en suite room with use of lounge and conservatory. Staff were so helpful supplying us with buckets of ice to take to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
winsome1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

We are really glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your kind remarks More

Been to Sunninghill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunninghill Hotel

Also Known As:
Sunninghill Hotel Elgin, Moray
Address: Hay Street, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunninghill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunninghill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.