We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Morven House Guest House

70 Novar Road, Alness IV17 0RG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alness
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Morven House Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

I enjoyed my stay at Morvern Guest house. The bed was comfy, the wifi was strong enough, the place was clean and I had new biscuits every day! If you are fussy about decor then the rooms could do with a bit of an upgrade but when I stay in a place I focus on comfort, quality of sleep and... More 

Helpful?
Thank wolfbhoy
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights after reading the good reviews on here, however I was a little disappointed. The room and bathroom was clean, however as soon as you walk in the reception area smelled of cooking fat and the smell was present throughout the duration of our stay- on returning home clothes that were hung in the wardrobe... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey R
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review We do try to please our guests, a bit mystified where the smell of cooking fat in your clothes comes from as the kitchen and extractors are no where near any bedrooms. Since this review we will undertak a test to see if any smell permeates through the kitchen ceiling in to any other part... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

If you are looking for a nice little place to stay while up in Alness, look no further than Morven House. The host's are very friendly and welcoming and make you feel at ease from arrival. The room we had was a double (2 people sharing) and it was nice and spacious with all the facilities you would expect a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cef1987
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As always we try our best to make everyone's stay here a pleasure, if it is for one night or longer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here, being such a beautiful part of the country, can not remember what the weather was like, but Scotland is renowned for its diverse weather patterns... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

We have just come back from our 5 night stay at Morven Guest House. It was a great base for exploring Scotland's highlands. We found the accomodation very clean and comfortable with everything we needed in our room and en suite. We were made to feel very welcome by Martin and Janet and the house is very warm and inviting.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane R
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very please that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had the time to explore a lot of the beautiful area that we enjoy every day. We try to make all our guests feel welcome and ensure that their stay with us is enjoyable, and offer advice on what to see... More 

XXX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile

They have noisy plumbing problems, the shower was a trickle, breakfast was English not Scottish so disappointing. Poor value for money. Can't fault the cleanliness or friendliness. It's a shame because they seem to find it hard work and are not really enjoying it.

Helpful?
Thank XXX283
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that the plumbing was noisy for you, we believe that this has now been sorted out, but cannot guarantee silent plumbing in the future. The varied breakfast menu that we offer may lack some items due to certain fatal allergies to food substances, which i believe others have as well. We try... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

I have just read up on the history of this place and realise now why we had felt such "peace" during our week-long stay with you! We stayed in the self contained self catering annex and it was just so suitable for what we needed. We were made very welcome on our arrival and the friendly owners always on hand... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review apologies for not responding earlier windows 10 issues. That said it was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are glad that you had a peaceful holiday and that the weather held for you. Hope all the hard work you did whilst you were here went well. Kind regards Martin and janet More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

A warm welcome yet again & our hosts remembered us !! a good sign ! They are continuing to improve the facilities & we really enjoyed the fire in the large guest lounge. Tasty Sausage & Bacon at breakfast !

Helpful?
Thank Gordon070
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure seeing you again and very pleased that you opted to stay with us again. We always look forward to returning guests to catch up on news. Very pleased that you also see all the updates we have done to the place. Only question we have is (Black Tomato Seeds) ?? Hope... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

We stayed on a cycling tour so comfy beds were very welcome as well as a decent shower. The house and 'grounds' are nice and spacious, garage storage for our bikes provided and the dogs were great! Breakfast - selection of cereals, spreads etc was very good with fresh coffee, cooked breakfast was well cooked - not to be taken... More 

Helpful?
Thank jimmyhatch
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope that you completed your tour safely. The dogs are getting bigger each day and still full of fun. If you are ever back up this way it would be a pleasure to see you again and I am sure the dogs would... More 

tunbridge wells
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Nice big room, warm house, clean, large bathroom with the twin room, mass of space to park the car. Recommended. Would definitely use it again. It's a short walk from lots of places to eat in the town.

Helpful?
1 Thank mmmmartin
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, as always we strive to make our guests warm and welcome throughout their stay. We have now basically finished all renovations to the bathrooms and had just finished laying carpets just before you arrived. It was a pleasure having you stay and hope that the rest of your visits throughout Scotland are as enjoyable. More 

*Kyle
Level Contributor
226 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

On arrival you get a friendly and helpful welcome. This is not a luxury B&B, but a good basic B&B with en-suite facilities. If you are a single traveler, the prices are on the expensive side, but if you are a couple, then the prices are competitive. The room was clean and of a reasonable quality. There are no face... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm350
Martin Q, Owner at Morven House Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to read what people think of our guest house with honest opinions, only request that I would ask all our guests that make a review would be to discuss any issues or comments with us on departure. Saying that, in answer to your review, we have never advertised our guest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alness
8.6 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kiltearn House
Kiltearn House
#1 of 2 in Evanton
5.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities