We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Braeval Hotel

#5 of 9 Hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Crescent Road, Nairn IV12 4NB, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Braeval Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Braeval Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    114
    91
    24
    13
    3
See reviews for
30
99
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (245)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed with a party of friends and overall enjoyed our stay, food and drink good as were the staff.We had a problem with our room (room 10) which had a distinct smell of damp dog/smelly socks. A shame as I would not say the room was unclean, it was not, it just had a strong,unpleasant smell. I'm sure it... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit overall. I apologise for any strange smell (nothing was detected by us.. but perhaps it had gone by then.) The price of £125 was for a suite for THREE people. So, if you compare with other hotels, you'll find that's very reasonable for two sea view rooms in July. More 

Glendale
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Chose this hotel, site unseen, for a two night extension after having been in London and Edinburgh We absolutely loved this hotel. Our room had a great view of the First of Forth. Since we were a family of 3, they gave us a nice room on the 3rd floor with an ajoining room for our HS son. We shared... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

order the fish & chips from the bar menu & was v disappointed. Portion was v small for £11.95 & the fish did not taste fresh. Batter also chewy. Also rude staff, her response after saying we were disappointed was 'we'll u didn't leave much'. V poor value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

I served your food with one of my waitresses and recall the incident. My waitress checked with you shortly after serving and you did not mention any problem. When she removed your empty plates and asked if you enjoyed your meal, you replied "No, it was (expletive/expletive)". She was so shocked by your reply that she initially thought you were... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I looked online for the cheapest hotel in Nairn where I needed to stay the night following a Country duo called Raintown. The Braeval Hotel was it so I booked. On arrival I had a warm welcome a lovely single room overlooking the links and across the Moray Firth. A bar with excellent selection of ales and a whisky selection... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so glad you found us! Your remarks are very generous and much appreciated. More 

culby
Level Contributor
144 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One of the owners personally showed us to the room and told us a little about the area. We had a wonderful room, and we walked across the park to the beach on the Moray Firth. Great dinner in the restaurant, and breakfast too. I highly recommend the Braeval.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

We aim for visitors to feel that the Braeval is a home from home, so it's lovely to hear your remarks. Thank you. More 

Warminster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No. Clean comfortable room, excellent service, spectacular location, wonderful pub and restaurant. Only thing wanting was breakfast, but only slightly so. Nairn is my wife's ancestral home, and it made for a perfect "root finding" base, centrally located within walking distance of the High Street and Fishertown. Highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again if you return for another visit to the "home country". More 

London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took pot luck here on a short stay in Nairn. My lucky night. Superb ales from local craft breweries and a first rate and good value steak and chips. Barman knew his beers inside out, and restaurant staff very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Just the kind of feedback we love to hear! We try our best to ensure staff really know the products we offer. Thank you. More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location on the sea front. Friendly staff and the food was excellent. We loved the great night's entertainment wirh Black Isle Rock Orchestra. Plenty of choice of beers and wines. Just a fantastic weekend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I'm so glad you enjoyed the live music from BIRO - they're playing here again on 24 October. More 

Stronsay
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very disappointed with our stay at the Braeval Hotel. Firstly, there's no parking. You might be lucky to park on the street, if not you have to find a public car park. There was no room for us in the restaurant, as it was fully booked, but after the breakfast in the morning, that might have been a... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

I'm really sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, but I believe you simply picked the wrong style of hotel for your preferences. The issues that bothered you - parking, noise and busy restaurant, are all fully explained on our website so you should have read all about this before you booked. We state that we do not have private parking... More 

Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are fairly local but decided to stay over for the night after the whisky tasting evening we booked (highly recommended). Rooms are good, clean and tidy and reasonably priced. Breakfast is really good and was included in the room cost. Evening meal was excellent. Is also the best bar/pub in Nairn in my opinion as they always have lots... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MHMHolding, Owner at Braeval Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your short stay and your visits to our Bandstand Bar. Look out for the next Whisky Nosing & Tasting event coming soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairn hotels
1.0 mi away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Sunny Brae Hotel
Sunny Brae Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#3 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
2.3 mi away
Boath House Hotel
Boath House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Nairn
4.5 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay