We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Nairn hotels

Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center to your Saves list
Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
78%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Nairn
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Juliet1 Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    101
    37
    24
    12
See reviews for
51
156
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights over Easter, we are a family of three, myself hubby and 9 year old daughter (plus our chihuahua) and had booked this hotel as it was dog friendly. It is a beautiful looking hotel in a great location, a lovely 5 minute walk to the most fantastic beach. I had read all the TA... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on Good Friday for one evening. The website prior to booking had painted a picture of the hotel as a beautiful castle country retreat. The hotel is spectacular from the outside, however once you delve under the surface, the whole experience is disappointing. First, the good points, the reception, bar and seating areas are nice.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at The Newton Hotel. You did give me the heads up on this by showing me your posting before you left the hotel. I can only reitterate what I said to you then, that the plate with foil stuck to the underside of it was totally unacceptable.... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We are travelling the UK and stayed mostly at 2 star hotels which had surprisingly amazing food, bar stock and rooms, which is why we expected real value for money from the Newton Hotel, only to be disappointed. There is no variety in beers and ciders in bottles or on tap, the salmon was dry, the beef shin lacked flavour... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel last August, 2013 on a CIE tour group. The hotel rooms are very large with comfortable beds. It is somewhat out of the city but you can still walk to the beach and to the city. I would highly recommend this place to anyone. The food is also fantastic and awesome service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A lovely hotel in quite and relaxed environment, well appointed and furnished hotel with nice bedrooms. The outstanding feature was the excellnet service provdded by the staff,especially reception, who went out of their way to make the stay so pleasurable - couldn't rate qulity of service more highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center, responded to this review

Neil, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Newton Hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on the comments about the staff, I am sure that they will be very much appreciated by them all. Brian More

W Yorkshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for 5 days this week. On arrival the place looks quite nice. When I checked in I'd been upgraded to the Tower suit, the room was ok but it was let down by the rather old 90's style tv. The bathroom was nice, but like virtually all hotels it was lacking in shelf space to store my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center, responded to this review

WOW!! Tolkein eat your heart out. Thank you so much for your thorough appraisal of your stay at the Newton Hotel. The issue of how to deal with a sudden influx of groups of guests, whether they be tour groups, wedding parties or conference groups, is being dealt with at present, we will in future offer an alternative breakfast area... More

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Place looks fanstatic......but, the experience was underwelming. Shocking bed, no shower water pressure and the staff had a poor attitude. The only positive was the restaurant food was reasonable. Suggest you look elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center, responded to this review

I am very sorry that you felt disappointed with your stay at the Newton Hotel. I only wish that you had contacted me or a member of my team to discuss the problems with the bed and the water pressure, so that we may have been able to assist. I would also like to know if your comments about the... More

Forres Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent this afternoon at a Highland Hospice Charity Lunch at the Newton. Food, sorry but can only say food was poor school diner standard, to be fair desert and tablet served with coffee were much better. Wine and drink service was a joke, no wine list on table and no waiter service for wine or drink at table !!!!!!! As... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding the sevice that you received at the Highland Hospice event on Sunday. The issue of table service for the event was discussed with the organisers prior to the event and it was they that decided that we should not do it. I think therefore, this is a matter that... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had stayed here before and were back for sad reasons. The hotel room needs a bit of updating,but it was a lovely quirky room with views out to the sea,a huge comfy bed,and a very good bathroom. The restaurant food was very good,particularly the fresh cooked breakfasts. The staff were delightful,all of them and we would have loved to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us at The Newton Hotel. It is always nice for the members of the team to know that their hard work is appreciated by our guests and your comments are certainly very welcome. More

St. Andrews, Scotland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from an overnight stay, and would gladly return. Very clean, spacious and modern bedroom with lovely view of the gardens and a huge, comfortable bed. We watched the glorious sunset from the beach, which was only a couple of minutes drive away (and easily walkable in the summer months) and would recommend that anyone staying does the same!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian G, General Manager at Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your really nice comments regarding your recent stay with us at The Newton Hotel, they are very much appreciated. More

Been to Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center

Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel And Highland
Newton Hotel Nairn
Newton Hotel And Highland Conference Center Nairn, Scotland
Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairn
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 56 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton Hotel and Highland Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.