We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Fort William accommodations

Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Banavie house | Lochiel Crescent, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LZ, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Save Saved
You added Chase The Wild Goose Hostel to your Saves list
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
74%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Suzanne B Holt, United Kingdom
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
7
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is just a great place to stay if you're on a budget. Really friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms and common areas. It was warm enough although it wasn't too cold outside for March and the facilities in the kitchen were good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

A lot of hostels stay closed over the winter due to the cost of heating them so you must expect rooms to be a little chilly, although there are heaters in the rooms! Really friendly staff and a lovely fire in the lounge is perfect for drying boots and gloves and chilling out after a big day. Great location from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at the Wild goose about 5 years ago and felt that it was basic but a reasonable hostel to stay in. Move forward 5 years and it left a lot to be desired. We arrived cold and dirty after a day of mountain biking to find there was no hot water. There was one bathroom with an electric... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MSpeshul, Owner at Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, responded to this review

We are sorry your second stay with us after 5 long years did not meet your expectations. However, much investment has been made in decor, furnishings, heating and we believe we now offer an excellent value-for-money service. Our drying room is now functioning again and our coffee making facilities are now in-view where they cant be missed. When you return... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Obviously at a hostel you have limited expectations that's just hostel life however as a walker/climber you do need a couple of things... We stayed there for winter climbing in Nevis in February. The kitchen is large and great for lots of people as is the dining and lounge area. There are 3 small bathrooms - one has an ok... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for a few days in September. When we arrived I was a bit unsure as it wasn't the homiest place we've stayed but gave it a chance. While it does lack some of the amenities of the bigger hostels in large cities, it gave us everythign we needed. The rooms were clean and large but a tad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at this hostel for two nights during our four day highlands hike. To be honest, I'm surprised by everyone's positive comments. We found the hostel didn't really deliver on most essential points. Although staff was friendly, this property needs some attention - there is a lot of room for improvement! 1. Amenities/property Our first disappointment was the reaction... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A very nice hostel with a warm atmosphere. Great place to stay along the amazing railways from Fort William to Mallaig. Two mins walking to Banavie Train Station and the Bus Stop for town and just beside the Great Glen Way path. Nearby a local pub serves a good selection of food and a nice Guinness ;). Great discover!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Positive: Friendly atmosphere, clean and all the amenities you need. Quiet location, we slept well. Ideal for exploring the area and, if you're planning to climb Ben Nevis, this is a good base camp. Staff are excellent, humorous and very helpful. We have fond memories of our stay and will recommend Chase The Wild Goose to all our friends. Negative:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I was aware of this hostels location, it is in Banavie which is on the outskirts of Fort William, unfortunately due to how the town is shaped around the Loch it is quite a walk into town. Unless you fancy swimming the Loch or know your way through the Caol and Inverlochy estates. I can walk it in 20 minutes,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hostel came highly recommended by some close friends. Unfortunately, after a booking complication I was unable to take my bed in a dorm for the night. On cancellation I contacted reception who were extremely helpful and put me in touch with enquiries via email. Communication with the hostel representative was first class, from the outset I never waited more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Chase The Wild Goose Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase The Wild Goose Hostel

Also Known As:
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel Fort William, Scotland
Address: Banavie house | Lochiel Crescent, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Specialty lodging in Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic hostel near Ben Nevis providing great accommodation for walkers, climbers, backpackers and families. Enjoy a break to the Scottish Highlands. Be inspired by fantastic views of Ben Nevis. Take an evening walk along the banks of the Caledonian Canal and Neptune's Staircase. Above all, share your experiences with like-minded travelers. Quality hostel accommodation sleeping 42. Accommodation offered on a 'Room Only' basis. Meals available nearby, with kitchen facilities in-house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Chase The Wild Goose Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chase The Wild Goose Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.