We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alexandra Hotel

3.0 of 5 The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Alexandra Hotel
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    228
    104
    36
    23
See reviews for
84
202
44
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (511)
  • Mar-May only
    (136)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (161)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (137)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a night with my fiancé who has been working in fort William and staying at this hotel for some time. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the hotel reception area feels cosy and homely. The rooms are spacious and clean though would perhaps benefit from a fresh lick of paint and new carpets to freshen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived here on one of the stormiest nights of the year and despite the relentless wind had a good nights rest in a fairly well appointed room. The reception staff were very pleasant on our arrival. The bar area was a bit disappointing and lacked any character but I guess in the summer this a popular and busy tourist coach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Although the Wi-Fi is working adequately we are looking to upgrading the Wi-Fi availability in the hotel. More 

Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed our one night stay at the Alexandra. We arrived at 5.00pm after a torturous journey from the central belt, we proceeded to the bar to order a few well earned drinks. Because of the weather conditions we decided to eat in the restaurant and enjoyed what we ordered, the haggis neeps and tatties and the scampi. The hotel itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback it is much appreciated. More 

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on the overnight sleeper at 09:50 and were had booked a room at the Alexandra for the following night. We received a very pleasant greeting from the reception staff, who arranged secure storage of our luggage until we wished to occupy the room later in the day. The room itself was clean, tidy and well equipped and of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Car problems meant we had to overnight in Fort William just after the New Year with no prior notice nor opportunity to pre-book. The town was very busy but unfortunately the Tourist Information Office was shut, so we were busking on our own at 5pm & feeling rather apprehensive. Also, having a dog with us was a further concern. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An excellent find mid-budget hotel. For the money the room was clean spacious and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was particulalry good for the money and would highly recommend it. Some good deals to be had around christmas which is when I stayed. All in all excelelnt for the price!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments it is much appreciated. More 

Devon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent value for a hotel smack in the middle of town. Good sized room and clean. Stayed in a double room towards the rear of the property which was a good size and comfortable bed. Bathroom was a good size but showing a few signs of some wear and tear! The restaurant was excelelnt value for money and fresh good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback it is much appreciated. More 

Cairns, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014 via mobile

We were recommended this hotel by a couple of locals and we were so disappointed. It's an old hotel in the middle of town with terrible parking. It's ok for a stopover if you want something cheap and simple but I must admit it's one of the rare occasions that I would have preferred to stay in the Premier Inn... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years, and being an old hotel, we do have an ongoing refurbishment program. You mentioned terrible parking which puzzles me in that there is ample parking both in front as well as the back of the... More 

Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Stayed 1 night (Wed 10th Dec) on a tour of Scotland - booked online and was taken with the exterior look of of the hotel and the thought of staying in a beautiful place like this. Great location, handy for the local shopping and amenities. Very disappointed there is no wifi in the rooms, only in the reception area. Room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments, and please let me apologise to you that we did not live up to your expectations. We do have a renovation program that will be addressing the issues you have raised. in addition we are looking to upgrading our Wi-Fi availability. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Attractive older style hotel walking distance to the shopping area. Comfortable bed, quiet and well appointed with all amenities needed for a short stay. We had a Spacious room with a distant sea view. The bathroom had a shower over the bath and plenty of hot water. Wifi is advertised as available in the lobby but we could connect in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris V, Manager at Alexandra Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Address: The Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay