We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Fort William hotels

BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel

Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Fort William
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (387)
  • Photos (100)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (71)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    110
    83
    50
    40
See reviews for
29
184
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very dated, toilet didn't flush very well, shower temperature was burning hot to freezing cold and back again in a matter of seconds, room was so small that we had to bring in the mattress from my mother and father-in-law's room so that there was enough space for the four of us, because they told us the fold out bed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 1 night and it was "fair" the hotel could definelty do with a refurb! Our room was directly on the main front of Fort William which did get a bit noisy but i'm a heavy sleeper so not an issue for me but could be for some. No lift either but staff did offer to help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night after a weeks' hard sailing in the Atlantic and the boat was quieter! Teeny tiny room with a view of a wall! The pub next door has an amazing cover band playing on stage and I can sing along word for word as it's loud and crystal clear. Can also hear other hotel occupants 😳 Oh the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us. We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to... More

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was poor value for money, 2 people for 3 nights @£400 you expect more than what we got. The "Double" bed was actually a three quarter and not comfortable. The loch view was from a tiny window in the corner of the room which was broken and could not be closed or open fully. Traffic noise was terrible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us. We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to... More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

hard bed smallroom with a view of a wall over priced! Your paying for the location breakfast was ok, evening meal expensive for what you got, no lift and lots of stairs friendly staff was its only good point better nights sleep at a premier inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us. We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to... More

Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The window opens to kitchen exhaust and we got the smell of curry all night. Otherwise room is clean and has a good size of standing shower. The mattress is extremely poor quality and that's where they have failed my expectations. It was hard to sleep on a 5" mattress. Breakfast was good. Hot breakfast is prepared upon order. Location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments we have taken your observations into... More

Helsinki
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I would say that this is not a bad hotel, but there is nothing special about it, and it seems difficult to recommend it. Nicely located if you are travelling by train was the most postitive thing. The biggest disappointment was the breakfast, although we left the hotel at 7.30 am when only continental breakfast was available (without bread for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments we have taken your observations into... More

notts, england
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here last weekend whilst my husband completed the City to Summit Ironman and it really was an awful end to what had been a fantastic 4 days in Scotland. Upon arrival, I was shown to our room - had trouble getting through the door with the bags as there is a desk right inside and the room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Imperial H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments we have taken your observations into... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I stayed here on business for one night. My room was modern and very comfortable. I had a good night's sleep, save for being disturbed by passing traffic particularly in the morning. My room was towards the back of the hotel (not facing the Loch). I was sleeping with the window open, because it was warm enough to do so.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Typical clean hotel, other than the fact there are no lifts! Fine for me, but a real drawback if you are infirm. Staff were very helpful - advised that there were no lifts (I was on the 2nd floor) and offered to carry my luggage. The room TV has an unusual controller and it just kept telling me that there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel

Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (51)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Number of rooms
35

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer