We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Fort William accommodations

Inverlochy Castle

5.0 of 5 Castle   |   Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Inverlochy Castle
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Inverlochy Castle to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
KelliP88 Memphis, Tennessee
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    43
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
57
180
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (298)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Absolutely top notch service from the time we stepped out of the car. Afternoon tea was delicious and by far the best scones we had on our two week trip. We were not up to dinner in the dining room but ordered room service which was very good. The room was spacious and the castle has stunning views. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed here earlier in the year we knew what to expect from this exceptional establishment and we were not disappointed. The hotel has maintained its country house character, the setting is lovely and the views outstanding. On this occasion we had the Queens Suite which was spacious with an extremely comfortable four poster bed. The room was immaculate ,tastefully... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have wanted to visit Inverlochy Castle for many years. Sadly it did not live up to my expectations. It is a wonderful setting and has huge potential but it needs serious investment and does not justify its very high tariff. Comparing it to other 5 star hotels, it does not even come close. A hospitality tray in the rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first time I travelled here I was 14 and deeply romantic--I dreamed about coming back with my husband--whomever he would be and honeymooning at Inverlochy. That was not to be--the second time I arrived at Inverlochy I was married and traveling with my husband, two daughters, my mother, cousin and his wife. It was again magical. Terrific food, beautiful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I've wanted to visit this hotel for a long time and was looking forward to ending our week long visit to the west coast with a one night stay. Whilst everything was lovely, room, bed, bathroom, cleanliness service at dinner and breakfast etc, it didn't quite live up to my expectations. For the price, I'd have liked to have had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us; I am happy to read that after a long wait to stay with us the Hotel and service did not disappoint and that you found the breakfast incredible. In regards to teas and coffee we are always happy to provide this service... More

Qatar
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
35 hotel reviews
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

They were flawless regarding service. Room was very nice, big and with everything you can expect! Love the Penhaligons products. Wifi could be better. Great dinner but I was a little bit disappointed with the fish. Excellent breakfast. Excelent location. It would be lovely if they will receive you with a glass of champagne! Overall we would love to come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the rooms and service met your expectation; it is great to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner, however, I am disappointed to read your comment regarding the fish as our fish and seafood are always a... More

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

The service was really good, the meals were lovely, the views fantastic but there were definitely a couple of 'downsides'. There was not a power point near enough to the dressing table to enable me to dry/style my hair, there was not a nozzle on the hairdryer, when one was requested they brought me one that didn't fit. I reported... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; in respect to the power point, due to the building being listed and our bespoke furniture we are limited to the work we can do in the rooms, however, we will review our room layouts to better accommodate... More

Stoney Creek, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We spent one night at Inverlochy. As expected, it was lovely. Right from the moment we arrived, we were looked after. The staff was kind and helpful. Our room was lovely with a huge bathroom..heaven. The views..beautiful. We enjoyed the main lounge room, the pianist, the tea after dinner..everything. The meal, was the taster meal and all was great..the dining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; it is excellent to hear your comments on our bedrooms and I am pleased that all the staff looked after you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit. Kind Regards, Jane Watson Hotel Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

What a contrast to poor old Fort William! We had a very spacious room with excellent bathroom with all the bits and pieces you would expect in a top class hotel. The public rooms are very impressive and the service was professional. For us the outstanding part of our stay was the food. Dinner was memorable - for me the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you rated your dining experience so highly, we always strive to offer a memorable and exciting dining experience and I am glad this was the case for yourself, we are proud of our kitchen team here at Inverlochy... More

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

From the point of arrival the staff provided genuine attention and interest in our comfort and requirements and this was maintained throughout the duration of our stay. The room was spacious and decorative as well as being extremely comfortable - the room was even serviced during breakfast! Although there was no tea and coffee in the room there was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful a review of your recent stay with us, I am very happy to read how much you enjoyed your experience at Inverlochy Castle and I am glad that you found the food and service lived up to your expectations, I have passed on your comments regarding dinner and the menu option available to our Head... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Inverlochy Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle

Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Inverlochy Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William
Inverlochy Castle Fort William, Scotland

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay