We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 30 Fort William accommodations

Inverlochy Castle

5.0 of 5 Castle   |   Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Inverlochy Castle
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Inverlochy Castle to your Saves list
88%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Nik1M Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    43
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
56
177
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (294)
  • Mar-May only
    (61)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (97)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've wanted to visit this hotel for a long time and was looking forward to ending our week long visit to the west coast with a one night stay. Whilst everything was lovely, room, bed, bathroom, cleanliness service at dinner and breakfast etc, it didn't quite live up to my expectations. For the price, I'd have liked to have had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us; I am happy to read that after a long wait to stay with us the Hotel and service did not disappoint and that you found the breakfast incredible. In regards to teas and coffee we are always happy to provide this service... More

Qatar
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They were flawless regarding service. Room was very nice, big and with everything you can expect! Love the Penhaligons products. Wifi could be better. Great dinner but I was a little bit disappointed with the fish. Excellent breakfast. Excelent location. It would be lovely if they will receive you with a glass of champagne! Overall we would love to come... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found the rooms and service met your expectation; it is great to hear that you enjoyed breakfast and dinner, however, I am disappointed to read your comment regarding the fish as our fish and seafood are always a... More

Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The service was really good, the meals were lovely, the views fantastic but there were definitely a couple of 'downsides'. There was not a power point near enough to the dressing table to enable me to dry/style my hair, there was not a nozzle on the hairdryer, when one was requested they brought me one that didn't fit. I reported... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; in respect to the power point, due to the building being listed and our bespoke furniture we are limited to the work we can do in the rooms, however, we will review our room layouts to better accommodate... More

Stoney Creek, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent one night at Inverlochy. As expected, it was lovely. Right from the moment we arrived, we were looked after. The staff was kind and helpful. Our room was lovely with a huge bathroom..heaven. The views..beautiful. We enjoyed the main lounge room, the pianist, the tea after dinner..everything. The meal, was the taster meal and all was great..the dining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us; it is excellent to hear your comments on our bedrooms and I am pleased that all the staff looked after you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on a return visit. Kind Regards, Jane Watson Hotel Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a contrast to poor old Fort William! We had a very spacious room with excellent bathroom with all the bits and pieces you would expect in a top class hotel. The public rooms are very impressive and the service was professional. For us the outstanding part of our stay was the food. Dinner was memorable - for me the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you rated your dining experience so highly, we always strive to offer a memorable and exciting dining experience and I am glad this was the case for yourself, we are proud of our kitchen team here at Inverlochy... More

St Peter Port, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the point of arrival the staff provided genuine attention and interest in our comfort and requirements and this was maintained throughout the duration of our stay. The room was spacious and decorative as well as being extremely comfortable - the room was even serviced during breakfast! Although there was no tea and coffee in the room there was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful a review of your recent stay with us, I am very happy to read how much you enjoyed your experience at Inverlochy Castle and I am glad that you found the food and service lived up to your expectations, I have passed on your comments regarding dinner and the menu option available to our Head... More

scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful property ....lovely rooms....but service and food simply did not match expectations. We felt that the staff lacked the kind of training as befits a property with such pretensions .£500 a night B & B !! Food was rather pedestrian and we were not surprised that the Michelin Star had been withdrawn after 15 years ( we believe). Grounds attractive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us on Trip Advisor. I am saddened to read that your experience at Inverlochy wasn’t up to the high standards we aim to achieve and I apologise for this. I am also very saddened to read your comments regarding your dinner as we pride ourselves on the... More

USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are a fan of Downton Abbey then you will love this hotel. Set in the Scottish highlands it is as beautiful as it is serene. This is a great place to experience a past age and relax without so many trappings of our modern world. I don't think much has changed here except for updated bathrooms in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review regarding your time spent at Inverlochy Castle. We are happy to hear that you felt treated like Royalty and that all aspects of your stay lived up to this. Thank you again for your review and for choosing to stay at Inverlochy Castle. We hope to see you in the near future.... More

Dublin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with my Scrawny friend in September during our week long visit to the Highlands. This castle is located just outside the town of Fort William and staying here is a unique experience. We stayed in the Iona suite (which was probably due to my Scrawny friend's family connection to that area) which was clean, comfortable, quiet and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review, I am happy to read that enjoyed your stay and that your friend was able to find her roots while in the area, we are proud of our kitchen team here at Inverlochy Castle and it is great to read how much you enjoyed your dining experience and that you would recommend staying with... More

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Inverlochy Castle Hotel is a beautiful converted castle in a magnificent setting. The entrance and reception area although grand is warm and welcoming as are the staff and there is s clear onus on customer service. The hotel boasts a Coquet lawn, a giant out door chess set and an impressive array of indoor games in a lounge area extending... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
InverlochyCastle, Manager at Inverlochy Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am happy to read that Inverlochy Castle did not fail to impress and that you found that staff warm and welcoming, we aim to provide a homely feel to the Castle at all times. I am happy to read your comments regarding your meal, especially as this was the... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Inverlochy Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inverlochy Castle

Address: Torlundy, Fort William PH33 6SN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inverlochy Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inverlochy Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverlochy Castle Hotel Fort William
Inverlochy Castle Fort William, Scotland

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay