We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 116 Fort William B&Bs / inns

Balcarres Guest House

Save Saved
You added Balcarres Guest House to your Saves list
Seafield Gardens, Fort William PH33 6RJ , Scotland
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (38)
  • Photos (7)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Balcarres Guest House
Ranked #73 of 116 Fort William B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In Check Out
true
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    14
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
11
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Below expectations. We stayed 2 nights out of a 2 weeks holiday in Scotland in different B&B or Guest Houses. This one was the least generous and the most expensive. The family room advertised for 4 was extremely small. Although we were only 2 Adult and 1 Child, once we brought our luggage up (3 suitcases), the whole room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night only. The owner is a retired person from south of the border! Excellent large rooms, good wifi and unusually for a B& B , superb really long clean white soft towels in which you could happily wrap yourself! Great breakfast. We were very happy to have stayed there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stopped here for 2 nights from 19th to 21st July.Didn't think much of this place. Our room hadn't been serviced properly. Breakfast was awful. Cereal stale. The only good thing I would say about this place is that the owner moved us in to another room for our 2nd night and we never had any confrontation with him. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tryphena55, Owner at Balcarres Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry that these guests were unhappy with their stay, perhaps it would have been better to leave our bed and breakfast after the first night rather than stay if they had so many issues about the bed and breakfast. We did our utmost to help by offering another room. We hate to think that these guests stayed on... More

Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a warm welcome with fresh milk to go with the tea and biscuits provided in our rooms. Breakfast was excellent with many choices and the breakfast room had a marvellous view of Loch Linnhe. We especially enjoyed the fresh fruit salad! The rooms were nice and clean and toiletries were provided. The managers were very friendly and helpful,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tryphena55, Owner at Balcarres Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for such a lovely review. We are glad that you and your family had a great time. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are so pleased that you found everything to your liking. More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed 7 nights in comfortable self-contained unit at Balcarres. Magnificent view over the loch. Spacious rooms (except bathroom), and every possible amenity that we needed was already provided in the unit (eg kitchen wrap). Comfortable walk to the town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
tryphena55, Owner at Balcarres Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank your for your very positive review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and if you are ever in Fort William again come see us! More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

A lovely experience, very accommodating and friendly manager. Great view of the Loch. Clean and tidy room. They went that extra step to make us feel comfortable and informed. If I was was going back to Fort William I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Lovely b&b. Nice welcome into a cosy homely house on a cold day. Very comfy rooms and well 'stocked'. Dark when we arrived but in the morning....amazing view in the breakfast room, breakfast very varied would cover all tastes. Welcomed our 2 little dogs too. Easy to find and close to the town but very peaceful location. Would definitely stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tryphena55, Owner at Balcarres Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank these guests for such an lovely review. Pets and their owners are warmly welcomed and pets stay for free!! More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The stay at Balcarres, was like a detention in the principal's office! We got the booking through the tourism centre and reached the BnB, to be 'un-greeted' by a gentleman, who seemed borderline annoyed by our intrusion. He had a brusque attitude as he showed us to our room. He informed us that the main door will be closed at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tryphena55, Owner at Balcarres Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry that these guests felt that they were back at school and sorry that they did not enjoy their school years. With regards to the time we lock the main door, there seems to have been a misunderstanding as the door is locked at midnight so that guests can have a leisurely evening meal and drinks before returning... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

With 2 Labradors and a 21month old daughter we couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to stay. We stayed in the "Rowen Self Catering Apartment" for 5days and could easily have stayed for much longer. Mike and Jackie were extremely welcoming on arrival and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. The apartment itself was lovely and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tryphena55, Owner at Balcarres Guest House, responded to this review

We would like to thank these guests for a very positive review. We aim to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. More

cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were quite excited about this adventure into Fort William, we researched places to stay and went by reviews, we were disappointed with our stay, we were uncomfortable, and felt like we were intruding instead of being welcomed. This is not a good apartment for people with mobility issues . There were some surprises about our booking fees, and we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tryphena55, Owner at Balcarres Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry that this guest felt uncomfortable with their stay after three days. As we had no idea of this we could not do anything about the situation. As for the access issue the guest was notified in their inital enquiry that there were five steps up to the apartment yet they still decided to book the apartment knowing... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Balcarres Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Balcarres Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcarres Guest House

Address: Seafield Gardens, Fort William PH33 6RJ , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Also Known As:
Balcarres Guest House Fort William, Scotland

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Fort William with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Balcarres overlooks Loch Linnhe and the beautiful countryside that surrounds it. Situated at the end of a quiet road Balcarres is an ideal base for touring the highlands. An approximate 15 minute walk into Fort William town centre gives you an appetite for the many eateries that the town has to offer. For a relaxing stay, stunning views and a very warm welcome come and visit us at Balcarres. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Balcarres Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer