We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fort William Backpackers

Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6HB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Fort William Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Oliver R Bangkok, Thailand
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    39
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
16
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (103)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the best place to stay if you want to tackle Ben Nevis and discover the mountains around. The hostel is very clean and super cosy. The staff is helpful in every matters and will give you tips for the area whilst your stay. You can use the fully equipped kitchen and have a lot of nice chats with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really enjoyed my stay in the hostel. It had it all: a great location near the nature trails and the town centre, a professional and laid-back staff who always helped me with different sort of arrangements, many other like-minded backpackers as I am, and good kitchen facilities to make and store your own food. But if you come to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hostel's best feature is without any doubt the common room: cosy, offering good views over Fort William, it feels just like home. The rooms are a bit small and the beds are not really good but they are alright. The kitchen and eating area are clean, even if they are small regarding the number of guests. The staff is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Staff were friendly and helpful, which counts for a lot in my book. Always keen to offer advice when it's needed. I was also glad to know they offer mixed dorms, as they seem to be one of the only companies in the UK offering such. Good value for money in my opinion. The view is great and the skype... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there Marc, Thanks for taking the time to write your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and glad that we could be of service to you on things to do in the Fort! We're sorry the showers were looking poorly. We've taken your words under advice and tried to improve our cleaning routine around them. As for our... More 

New Cumnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

For a one night stop over before hitting the East Highland Way it is good value for money. Room and kitchen clean and tidy as always as the Ayrshire Waysters have previously stayed here. Will no doubt be back in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there Hugh! Thanks very much for taking the time to write this review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope your journey along the East Highland Way was adventurous and successful! Best Wishes Kelsey :) More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Checked in early to spotless hostel, was allocated comfy bunk with superb view, then went out for day. Got back late to find that due to unforeseen double booking, my bed had disappeared. Was immediately offered a full refund and complementary breakfast. However, at 10pm the only remaining bunk was a top bunk; I have mobility issues so a top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review! We're glad you had a nice time and hope you come back a visit again! Best Wishes Kelsey More 

New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Looking to meet cool people ? Looking for a hostel run by interesting people and a fun manager ? This is a lively hostel with personal touches all over the place. We were looking to meet new people, but at the same didn't want to live in a pure party hostel. Kelsey, the manager invited us out to drinks around... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Really glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your review,was good having you hear and getting to meet you :) Hope we have the chance to meet again and enjoy some more time in the Hostel. Thanks Ryan More 

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

After a couple nights in a pretty blah hostel, this place was a HUGE breath of fresh air. It's pretty big, and it's up quite a hill so be prepared if you are walking up with quite a bit of luggage. The jovial, bearded, super-Scottish fellow who was working there, whose name I regrettably did not catch, was so boomingly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks so much for taking the time out and writing a lovely review :) Its really nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with ourselves,We don't mind don't mind doing anything for our guests to make their stay better and this is exactly why we offered you the free upgrade...........the smile way more than enough of a thanks. Also... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Friendly enthusiastic welcome and staff. Quite a good location but not as serene as Glen Nevis. Really wasn't impressed especially as it's more expensive than Glen Nevis too. The place has character but could really do with some paint, feels very dilapidated and worn out. The bed was comfy and the Wi-Fi good. The kitchen was apparantely cleaned every Tues... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Alex! Thanks for taking the time to respond to us! Glad you liked the beds and the wifi! I'm sorry you had such troubles in the kitchen! As you said we do clean our fridges Tuesday and Friday, and the kitchen as a whole is cleaned twice daily. However we've taken your comments into our cleaners and out cleaning... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

The staff is amazing, he helped us with renting a car, booking the train and finding a nice hike for that day. The living room is super cosy, perfect for enjoying your free tea with a book in front of the fireplace! 100% sure that I will go back there if i'm around Fort William.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
FortWilliamManager, Manager at Fort William Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Guys, Thanks for writing a super review for us,its much appreciated :) I really enjoyed your company for the couple of days you stayed with us and it was a pleasure to meet you both. Im glad i could help and i hope you managed to get the car back (scratch free),hopefully we WILL see you back in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay