We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inverness Tourist Hostel

24 Rose Street, Inverness IV1 1NU, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Inverness Tourist Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    19
    35
    31
    21
    20
See reviews for
5
15
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My group of four had booked a private four-bed room far in advance and when we showed up they said they didn't have it and we'd be put into the staff bedroom. The staff bedroom did not have a key and different people (staff members and friends of staff members) were constantly in and out of the room and sleeping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oviedo, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The fire alarm set off at 5 am and a man, supposedly the manager although he failed to mention that, decided to get into our room to check something that he didn't even bother to explain, he tried to put the blame on us and then he said it was a false alarm and didn't apologise. There were just two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

yuk! Disgusting doesn't even begin to describe this hostel! To begin with, the halls have a strange smell but thankfully the room did not have such a strong smell. When we got into our room we almost cried of how disgustingly dirty it looked. The comforter and mattress has so many brown stains that I barely wanted to touch them!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InvernessHostel, Manager at Inverness Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, If you had a problem with the room we would happily have given you a refund or at least tried to move you. However, why you felt the need to remove all the bedclothes from the bed to try and give the impression of uncleanliness is quite extreme. We replace our mattresses as much as any other hostel does.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015 via mobile

Do not make the same mistake I did and stay here! This hostel was the low point of my trip! It was disgusting. I was scared to touch anything. THEY DO NOT CHANGE THE SHEETS BETWEEN EACH GUEST!! They will likely comment on this and say they do but from my experience they don't! I know because I checked to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InvernessHostel, Manager at Inverness Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Your two reviews are very worrying, though it seems that you are trying beyond normal circumstances to try and stop people from visiting with several extreme reviews. We DO change bed sheets and clean rooms every morning. I know because we get a laundry bill every two days for the laundry that we send them to be cleaned. Most people... More 

Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015 via mobile

Right after me and my friend checked in and went to see our room we decided to not stay there for any longer. The room was just disgusting. There was hair on the pillow and the bed, dust on the floor and the lockers didn't work either. At least we got our money back. What struck us most was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
InvernessHostel, Manager at Inverness Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

First, we apologise for your experience at the hostel- we find that most people do enjoy their stay. We very rarely have cleanliness problems with the beds and will look into the matter with our laundry company. As for the room itself, most guests find it acceptable, however whatever problems there are we will be renovating as soon as we... More 

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2015

I will only say that I loved it! I loved the place since it's pretty affordable for the great location directly beside the bus station. From there you only have to walk about 5 minutes into the city centre. The staff were great and I had an great time

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

Great spot very helpful and friendly staff comfy beds the area and scenery were beautiful great lakes and happy times all round.clean and would very much like to return . Top notch thanks guys ;-) ★★★★★

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I've extended my stay at Inverness tourist hostel staff were all very welcoming and happy to advise on local pubs and restaurants,very clean and spacious rooms with comfortable beds big TV lounge and kitchen would highly recommend it great rates in friendly surroundings

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

The hostel is clean and the staff are helpful. Unfortunately, it is also small, cramped and crowded. The rooms and beds are tiny; the kitchen has queues for facility use and even seating. It's located centrally in Inverness, which is good, but there is nowhere secure to store bicycles.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

Was in a great location, so close to the train station and seconds away from the bus terminal. For the price the rooms were great, wifi was only available on the main floor, but that wasn't a huge problem. The kitchen and common areas were a nice way to meet other travellers and I ended up visiting the Tomatin Whisky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre - River Ness
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#20 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#24 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness West
Premier Inn Inverness West
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay