We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Columba Hotel

4.0 of 5 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Columba Hotel
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    178
    165
    102
    66
See reviews for
61
307
30
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (627)
  • Mar-May only
    (158)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (178)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (97)
All months
buckie
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We're just back from a night away at the Columba hotel. Our room was stunning, overlooking the river and centre, but not noisy. It was very spacious,clean and had everything we needed. The staff were very pleasant and helpful with the only disappointment being the buffet breakfast in the morning not being replenished well enough,not only at one point in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased you enjoyed your time and your kind comments will be shared with my team. I am sorry if the breakfast buffet was not replenish in a timely fashion and will share this with my food service team. I do hope we can welcome... More 

Atco, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel was charming in a bit of a quirky way. Staff was excellent and food was very good. The location was lovely for pictures and walking. The area is full of natural beauty such as the river, tons of flowers and rabbits everywhere, which were comical to watch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased you had a good time with us and you kind words will be shared with all my team. I look forward to wlecoming you back soon. With warm regards, Amy More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My stay at the hotel was good the staff were very friendly, the room had an amazing views of the castle it was a large room with a soft bed. However the wallpaper was coming off the walls as it was sloped ceilings and there was lots of cracks in the ceilings. The bathroom had mold growing all over the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will share you feedback with my team. I do hope we can welcome you back soon. With best regards, Amy More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is perfect for the town centre, that's the plus! Oh and the breakfast was ok! Downside is the room we stayed in ( and paid to upgrade but received it back after we complained) definitely needs some TLC...the bathroom needs regrouted and cleaned up, the door needs fixed and they could take a hint from Premier Inn and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following your recent stay with us. More 

Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great Hotel, great location, lovely room (ask for one with a river view), good breakfast (finishes too early for a Bank Holiday weekend -9.30am) Lovely receptionist called Alex, she was so helpful and curtious. The only thing I can conplain about was the bar! The young girl was excellent on New Year's Eve, as for the the 2 other bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your New Year break with us. I was deligthed that overall you enjoyed your stay and I am sorry you found the bar team lacking and will ensure this is relayed back to my team. I do hope we can welcome you back soon. With kindest regards, Amy More 

Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm sure a few others have had a great experience here but the majority will be disappointed. The service is impersonal, the public areas are non existent (unless you use the adjoining bar). The views from most rooms are crap - look at the frontal of the frontage of the hotel - there's just not enough room to have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a recent stay with us. I am sorry if we were not what you were expecting from a city centre hotel. We have a lounge located on our first floor, over looking the castle and river which is a nice quiet space for residents to use as an alternative to the bistro... More 

highlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Stayed at the Columba for one night only and had a very enjoyable stay. Dinner and breakfast were lovely. Our room was small but probably because we were on an Easy breaks deal, but we had no complaints about it. It was spotlessly clean and very warm and cosy. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. We would highly recommend. Only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted you enjoyed your time and your very kind words will be shared with all my team. It is such a pleasure to welcome back returning guests especially as the hotel held such a special occasion for you. I hope we can welcome... More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

I stayed here in a single room. The staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the young man waiting at breakfast. The check in was efficient, the room spotless and adequately equipped and the breakfast buffet fine. The hotel was in a great location on the banks of the Ness, very close to the town centre and offered very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted you enjoyed your time and the team looked after you. Your kind words will be shared with all my team. I do hope we can welcome you back very soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Great hotel for a weekend break. Beautiful views of the castle & river and located really close to shops and nighlife. Room was small but immaculate and had everything we needed including great Wifi. I had a really sound sleep, the bed was comfy and there was no noise from traffic as our room faced the rear. The bar was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that your had a good time with us andyour kind words will be shared with my team. I do hope we can welcome you back soon, With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

On My way to John O groats from Edinburgh I had to halt on Inverness as it was too dark to drive ahead .. Found Columba.. The hotel was nice.. Room was cute and small.. But the only problem I faced was heating.. I waited ft one hour to see if it was heating, but cool air was coming from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and will share your kind words with my team. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. With warm regards, Amy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Inverness

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay