We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Columba Hotel

#30 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Columba Hotel
Professional photos
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    Write a Review

    643 reviews from our community

    Traveler rating
      117
      188
      169
      102
      67
    See reviews for
    61
    316
    30
    83
    Rating summary
    • Location
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Sleep Quality
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      3.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
    Date | Rating
    • Danish first
    • Dutch first
    • English first
    • French first
    • German first
    • Italian first
    • Portuguese first
    • Russian first
    • Spanish first
    • Swedish first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (643)
    • Mar-May only
      (159)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (178)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (194)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (112)
    All months
    Contributor
    19 reviews 19 reviews
    14 hotel reviews
    18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

    I stay here often. Have had problems in the past. This time my room faced the river, however the heating was not working and I did not discover this until 2am when I awoke absolutely freezing. I was on a 3 night work stay and, to be fair, they changed me next day and moved my stuff for me as... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
    1 review
    1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Stayed two nights in this hotel . The first room we were first given was very shabby and cold no heater in the bathroom and the one in the bedroom not working. Asked for another room which we got which was still shabby but at least we had heat. Breakfast was ok and the lounge areas are nice with lovely... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we did not meet with all your expectations of us. I have just returned from annual leave, I understand you have spoken to 3 of my managers over the course of the past week. The day after you left the hotel, you advised... More 

    Cowdenbeath Fife
    Senior Contributor
    22 reviews 22 reviews
    14 hotel reviews
    36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Stayed here for a weekend trip. The Hotel is in a great location for Shops and The Eden Court Theatre. The staff are extremely helpful and the food served at Dinner was lovely. The Breakfast is buffet style and both cold and cooked items are on offer. The staff are so attentive and courteous and they make sure that you... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, WOW , what a lovely reveiw, Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we can wlecome you back very soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

    Top Contributor
    61 reviews 61 reviews
    13 hotel reviews
    33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    I paid about £53 a night. The hotel is on the River Ness across the street from the Inverness Castle. There is parking right down the street that is free from 6pm - 8am. The hotel has a bar attached downstairs that serves haggis and all that other good Scottish food. All the bars and restaurants are a 5 minute... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was dleighted that you enjoyed your time and your very kind words will be shared with all my team. I really hope we have the great pleasure of wecloming you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

    Fife, Scotland
    Top Contributor
    59 reviews 59 reviews
    23 hotel reviews
    48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

    Stayed at this hotel for one night on a business trip. The hotel has an attractive setting on the riverside with views of the castle floodlit at night. However, only the higher cost front rooms, benefit from the views. The room I stayed in at the back of the hotel was spacious albeit rather dull. The biggest drawback was the... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We are lucky to have such stunning views and yes it is a shame we do not have more rooms at the front of the hotel. I have noted your comments and will address these with my team and do hope we can welcome you back soon.... More 

    Reviewer
    4 reviews 4 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    booked in here for a snip at £40 a night. very good value. decent sized dining area. location is excellent in the city centre. would certainly go back. shops are within striking distance and located near to the hotel. not sure on parking facilities I parked away from the hotel but wouldn't blemish the stay

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon, With best regards, Amy More 

    Brighton, United Kingdom
    Senior Contributor
    30 reviews 30 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Found this very nice hotel on a last minute deal. Location could not be better, it is in the centre of Inverness, on the banks of the river Ness, opposite the castle. Fantastic views. Staff really helpful, friendly and accommodating. Room a bit on the small side, but very clean. Bed extremely comfy. Breakfast delicious. The place is full of... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will share your kind words with my team. I do hope we can welcome you back very soon, With best regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

    Aberdeen, United Kingdom
    Top Contributor
    59 reviews 59 reviews
    9 hotel reviews
    42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    This hotel was lovely, very warm and cosy atmosphere partly due to the decor but also you can tell that it's old (a few squeaky floorboards which were my only real complaint). Lovely staff and the rooms look very modern but also work well with the theme of the hotel, which itself was in an excellent location. Lovely bar/restaurant attached... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay and your kind words will be shared with my team, I do hope that we can welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    Reviewer
    4 reviews 4 reviews
    3 hotel reviews
    2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

    I think we may have been given the smallest room in the hotel! The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was cold. We did report this but did not notice any difference in the temperature. The shower was also temperamental. On the upside the location is great and the breakfast was lovely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and will share this with my team. I am sorry if it was cold in the bathroom and will ensure we look into this. I do hope we can welcome you back very soon. With warm regards, Amy More 

    Reviewer
    5 reviews 5 reviews
    2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    A pretty nice hotel by the Ness. Excellent view of the fort.Nice breakfast. The rooms are a bit small though and the bathrooms don't have bathtubs. But overall a nice hotel to stay for a couple of days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following a recent stay with us. I was so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will share your kind words with my team. I do hope we can welcome you back soon, we do have many different sizes and offerings, so please do give us a call and when you are next staying... More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
    Owners: What's your side of the story?
    Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
    Manage your listing

    Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

    Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

    Additional Information about Columba Hotel

    Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
    Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
    Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
    Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel 4*
    Number of rooms: 82
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    Also Known As:
    Columba Hotel Inverness, Scotland
    Hotel Style:
    #9 Luxury Hotel in Inverness

    89 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (84)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (9)
    Viewed
    View from room (10)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (14)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (15)
    Viewed
    Dining (2)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (1)
    Viewed
    Other (33)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (5)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (2)
    Viewed
    Dining (1)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (2)
    Hotels you might also like...
    Check In Check Out
    Price Your Stay

    Amenities

    Highlights
    • Restaurant
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Room Service
    • Bar/Lounge
    About the property
    • Wheelchair access
    Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Tennis Court
    • Golf course
    Room types
    • Suites
    • Family Rooms
    Internet
    • Free Internet
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    Services
    • Room Service
    • Business Center with Internet Access
    • Dry Cleaning
    • Laundry Service
    • Meeting Rooms
    • Self-Serve Laundry
    • Babysitting
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Questions & Answers

    Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel staff and other travelers.
    2 questions
    Ask a question

    See all questions (2)

    Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    Hotels around Inverness

    pentahotel Inverness
    pentahotel Inverness 4.0 out of 5, 283 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 4, 2015
    Premier Inn Inverness Centre - River Ness
    Premier Inn Inverness Centre - River Ness 4.5 out of 5, 879 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 4, 2015
    Winston Guest House
    Winston Guest House 3.5 out of 5, 111 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015
    Ardmeanach House
    Ardmeanach House 5.0 out of 5, 54 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 24, 2015
    Rossmount Guest House
    Rossmount Guest House 5.0 out of 5, 201 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 22, 2015
    Craigside Lodge Guesthouse
    Craigside Lodge Guesthouse 5.0 out of 5, 186 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 17, 2015
    Strathness House
    Strathness House 4.5 out of 5, 330 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 13, 2015
    Westbourne Guest House
    Westbourne Guest House 4.5 out of 5, 112 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 12, 2015
    Eskdale Guest House
    Eskdale Guest House 4.5 out of 5, 66 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 5, 2015
    MacDonald House
    MacDonald House 4.0 out of 5, 24 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 12, 2015
    Amulree Bed & Breakfast
    Amulree Bed & Breakfast 4.5 out of 5, 10 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 30, 2014
    The Quaich Bed and Breakfast
    The Quaich Bed and Breakfast 4.5 out of 5, 79 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 30, 2014
    Craignay Guest House
    Craignay Guest House 5.0 out of 5, 34 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 18, 2014
    Castle View Guesthouse
    Castle View Guesthouse 5.0 out of 5, 106 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 15, 2014
    By the Bridge Apartments
    By the Bridge Apartments 4.5 out of 5, 47 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 10, 2014