We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Inverness hotels

Columba Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Columba Hotel to your Saves list
Columba Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
50%
Ranked #31 of 34 hotels in Inverness
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Nona O Brookings, Oregon
  • Overview
  • Reviews (575)
  • Photos (85)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (119)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    162
    148
    94
    62
See reviews for
54
284
29
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
60 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is located on a pretty waterside street which made it very quiet. The hotel is very very old which I'm told, gives it character. Well with a confusing hall way and stair system and creaky floors that's was enough "character" for me. They did have great wifi and it was free... They would do the rooms a huge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found my team hepful and our hotel clean. I fully take on board your comments, we are an older building, dating back to 1881, which does have it challenges. I hope that we might have the chance to welcome you back, With... More

Brookings, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent two nights here in August 2014. The room and bathroom were very clean and updated. The location is along the River Ness and with just a "wee walk" across the river, you are in a great shopping location. We were with a CIE Tour and the only compliant is the Dining Room staff showed inflexibility when dealing with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and your kind words will be shared with my team. I am sorry if there were any shortfalls during dining service and will address these with my team. I hope we have the chance to welcome... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for two nights with a friend last week. I was absolutely delighted with every aspect of my stay. Every member of staff I encountered was extremely friendly, most helpful and quick to address any request made of them. Our room overlooked the river and provided beautiful and picturesque views over the River Ness and castle beyond. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your two night break with us. I was delighted that you had a good stay with us. Your kind words will be shared will my team. I hope we can welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More

Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
19 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were so thrilled to be a part of a Scottish Night, bagpipes, Scottish dancers, Robert Burns poetry. The Columba has history, and shares it. The room was small, and probably because of recent complaints of no air conditioning, had our fan on when we arrived. It stayed on, thank you. The view of the Ness River and the castle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your stay with us, Thank you for your kind comments and it will be shared with my team. Unfortunately we do not have air con in our rooms, but glad the fan did the trick for you. The shows are good and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us... More

Yorktown, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My recent stay at the Columba hotel was extremely disappointing. Our group stayed one night. Our room was not air-conditioned and extremely hot. We asked for two fans but were told only one was available. The fan was delivered. We turned it on and dust flew everywhere. It was coved with dust and apparently had not been cleaned in some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a recent one night stay with us. I am sorry that we did not meet with your expecations. Unfortunately we do not have air con in our rooms nor we do advertise this. I am sorry that the fan was not cleaned prior to supplying you, I will address this with my... More

Bozeman, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel at least 50% of the time for work, but this was a vacation and thus, I am more flexible with accommodations. I paid >$350 for one night for a room that was truly awful. No screens on the windows and a view directly into other guests windows/rooms. The bathroom floor was dirty with accumulated dust and medication (seriously,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a recent stay with us. I am sorry if you did not enjoy your stay with us and I do hope that you raised your concerns at the time, as we do ruly want all guests to leave happy. Whilst this does not excuse any shortfalls, I will address your feedback with... More

Wallingford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes, the hotel is a little dated. But the food is good, the beds are firm, the water pressure is excellent with abundant hot water, and there is more than enough square footage, shelf and storage space to satisfy the most discerning traveler. Even though I was part of a CIE tour staying only one night, two weeks before arrival... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on your stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed yourself and that we ticked all the boxes for you. Your kind words will be shared with all my team, and Bryan who welcomed you. I do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around Scotland and I hope we have... More

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I bought this trip through Groupon for £129 - 2nights, with breakfast each morning, 3 course dinner on one night and bottle of bubbly. Sorry it's taken a while to get round to writing the review. The location is great, with 24hour parking just a short walking distance away. The town center is right across the bridge and there are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review following your stay with us. I was delighted that you had a good stay and will share your valuable feedback with all my team. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. With warm regard, Amy and Team Columba More

Bellingham, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location for checking out Inverness on foot. but You've got to get a room with a view of the river/ castle. Day or night it made for some really magic views, even fireworks. The rooms are a little dated and not immaculate, but nice and comfy. Staff was helpful and we had a fantastic meal in the bar downstairs.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our food and that my team looked after you. You kind words will be shared with all the team. I do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Columba soon. With... More

St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Columba as part of a tour group. The hotel was in a good location right on the river. While inside the hotel looks a little worn the staff were very pleasant and friendly. Our room was quite large and we soon noticed it was a wheelchair friendly room though we had not requested this and no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We do get fab reviews from our customers about out Beef Stew in our Restuarant and our Pie in MacNabs. I am so peased that the team looked after you and I do hope we have the... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Columba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Inverness, Scotland

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Inverness with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Hotel Style
#9 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
82

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Columba Hotel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer