We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Columba Hotel

7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Columba Hotel
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    210
    176
    106
    68
See reviews for
63
339
33
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (681)
  • Mar-May only
    (197)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (178)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Negatives Being woken up by housekeeping at 7:30am when we where late arrivals! Checkout is 11am, at 11:07am the housekeeper returned to our door reminding us checkout was 11! Although previously agreed with reception midday Positives Room was small but adequate, everything you need and a reasonable price

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was sorry to hear that you were woken up at 7.30am. I am unsure who this could be as my housekeeping team do not start until 8.30am. I was pleased you found everything you needed in your room and will take on board your comments. I... More 

inverurie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

good location but that's about all, when we got checked in after 3 pm was told we had been upgraded to an executive room, room 302. I dread to see the twin rooms if that was an upgrade, bed was so soft and squeaky , also floorboards were uneven, cleanliness in room was good and bedding clean, heard everything in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following your recent stay with us. I was pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness of the room, I was suprised you did not enjoy the stunning view of the River and Castle, Room 302 is a front facing larger room in our orginal part of the hotel dating back to 1880's and I... More 

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel last week as it had been recommended by a friend and had a great time! I was given a suite and it was perfect and very spacious. The hotel is perfectly located about 5-10 mins walk away from the bus and train station and the shopping mall, across the bridge you have Inverness castle and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, WOW - Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time and will share you very kind words with my team. I look forward to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

perth
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for work in February. The room was good enough value, no breakfast with the cost which I thought it should have had. Unfortunately, although the room was nice and clean its location was very noisy - right outside a corridor door and next to lifts and to top it all there was work going on outside. No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your stay with us recently. I am pleased overall you enjoyed your stay and take on board your valuable comments. I do hope we can welcome you back very soon, With best regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staff are lovely, all helpful and friendly. The location was perfect, just across the river from the shops and plenty of restaurants. The room I was in was perfectly clean, but the decor was just pretty tired looking, but from the other reviews it looks like they're working on that :-) All in all, perfect for business, but don't think... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We are indeed carrying out alot of refurbishment works and hope to have it all finished soon. IMy team will be over the moon that they ticked all the boxes. I hope we can welcome you back... More 

Fife
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a Monday to Friday four night break to this well run hotel,l very close to the city centre, which was a short walk across a bridge over the River Ness. Our room was very nice and comfortable, the only thing that let it down slightly was the decoration in the bathroom. We did not have a view, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and your kind words will be shared with all my team. I hope we can welcome you back very soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Got this through a groupon for two night stay, bed, breakfast and dinner included. Excellent value for money, the food in the hotel was lovely however I would avoid eating in the bistro, food was very basic compared to the night before even though the chefs are the same as those that cooked in the hotel which baffles me as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I am pleased overall you enjoyed your stay and will address the comments you have raised. I am sorry that we let oursevles down over a couple of things and really hope we have the chance to welcome you back very soon. With best regards, Amy and... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I made a spur of the moment decision to spend a Friday night in Inverness to join the NIP 2015 Inverness Whisky Tour. Top night. As such I can't report on the hotel noise levels as I was a little over served come bedtime. I'll tell you what I can. The hotel has an excellent riverside location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your overnight stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the tour. Your very kind words will be shared with all my team. We look forward to wlecoming you back soon and just contact us direct if we can help with your reservation on the next tour! With... More 

Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The visit to this hotel did not start well, due to an incompetent receptionist. After waiting over 10 minutes, the woman could not find the correct details. We continued to wait, as she time and time again answered the phone. Finally we were checked in but given no details at all about the hotel. By this time there was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry we did not get off to a good start but pleased that the rest of the stay was good. I will share your kind words with my team. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sold has a 4star hotel but would not have left my cat in it! Food atrocious, room a throw back from a bad 70s film. So tired and run down. Needs a total renovation. On a plus side in a brilliant spot in Inverness opposite the river and castle and decent wifi

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your thoughts following a recent stay with us. All feedback is welcome and where possbile we try our best to see what we can improve on. I am sorry you felt this way. With best regards, Amy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (86)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question