We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Columba Hotel

7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Columba Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

755 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    130
    239
    191
    117
    78
See reviews for
74
380
39
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (755)
  • Mar-May only
    (221)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (228)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Bellport, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here on a CIE tour this month. Our Ness Suite was gorgeous with a fireplace, bay window looking out on the river and castle, sitting area/living room, and great bathroom. The only downside was that it was a weekend night when they have live music. The suite is right on top of the pub so you can hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for oyur review following your recent stay with us. I was so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and will share oyur kind words with all my team. I do hope you enjoy the rest of your trip around Highlands and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy... More 

Laramie, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was probably the worst place we have ever stayed. Needs to be torn down and replaced. This was what I would call servants quarters. We had 6 inches on each side of the bed and it wasn't a large bed. We had a lovely view of the alley and had to listen to the gulls fighting all night. The only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following an over nght stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the food but sorry if the room size was not to your liking. We do have many different views and obviously being a city centre hotel we do have other buildings around us. I do hope you enjoy the rest... More 

Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is situated directly across from Inverness Castle on the river. I opened a window and heard seagulls. It was very calming. The queen size bed was very comfortable. My son had an actual twin bed in the room with us. I read other TA reviews and must say our bathroom was lovely. Hot water and good water pressure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. With warm regards, Amy More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

... and breakfast shambolic. We stayed for a night but sadly had breakfast right after a tour group with two waitresses stressed out and being plain rude. Asked for milk for the coffee and was told to get some from the buffet. I got a jug but was then pulled up by staff because that jug was apparently for cereals.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent overnight stay with us. I was pleased that you enjoyed some aspects fo your stay but I am sorry if your did not enjoy the breakfast service. I will address this with my team. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near furture.... More 

Garching bei Munchen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly, but very old, broken infrastructure at high price. Very old rooms (consumed carpets etc), WIFi did not work, TV did not work, shower cord broken etc. Rooms without transaprent glaces. Very loud because of the kitchens exhaust ventilators. But 190+ pounds for that... .never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a recent stay with us. I am sorry if you did not enjoy all aspects fo your stay with us. I do hope you had chance during your stay to talk to one of the team to try and see if we could of solved any of the concerns you had.All feedback... More 

edinburgh
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night on DBB.Room 121 on 1st floor,small but adequate and freshly upgraded with everything we needed.View to scaffolding at rear.Comfortable bed and very quiet,sleep quality perfect! Beautiful 1st floor lounge with views of the river and castle. Both Dinner and Breakfast were fresh and hot and offered plenty of choice and for the price, represented excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed most aspects fo yoru stay and will share this with all my team. I am sorry if there was any delays in service and we do try where possible to react quickly to an influx of guests in our MacNabs area... More 

Karratha
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Columba hotel is a beautiful old hotel with very spacious rooms. It's absolutely gorgeous and set right beside the River Ness and only a few minutes from central Inverness. Buffet breakfast was included, with continental and cooked opinions. The only downside to this is that there is no parking offered next to or near the hotel, rather you have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us and will share you feedback with my team. I am sorry if your were disturbed by other guests. I do hope I have the chance to welcome you back again soon. With kindest regards,... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was an older hotel but updated. Friendly staff, but somewhat uninformed about available services. Meals where good, the wake-up call came on time! We could have had a room with a view, but instead looked over the back of the hotel. No air conditioning,but the windows opened, so it was comfortable, except for the noisy seagulls!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will share your very kind word with all my team. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. With best regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They call this 4 stars? The room was 2 stars at best. This was mainly because the bathroom was so tiny, poorly equipped, and the shower did not work. When we brought this to the attention of the manager he came to investigate, found it was not working, and did nothing about it. No compensation was offered. I would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a recent stay with us. I am sorry if we did not meet with your expectations. I am sorry if there was a problem with your shower, I am surpirsed that my team did not offer an alternative and will certainly look into this as this is very rare for us to... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed one night here during our tour of the UK. The room had two single beds with two pillows each. The room was small and there was hardly any floor space for us to open our two suitcases. There was no air-conditioning but it was cool enough for us to sleep comfortably. The bathroom was well-stocked with towels and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was dleighted that you enjoyed oyur time with us and will share your kind words with my team. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • River Ness(10)
  • Great view(4)
  • Bar staff(4)
  • Very nice(4)
  • Very friendly(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#24 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#20 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre - River Ness
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay