We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Columba Hotel

7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Columba Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    128
    230
    182
    114
    75
See reviews for
68
365
39
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (729)
  • Mar-May only
    (221)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (202)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just stayed here for one night last week, when we checked in we were told the lifts were broken but we're being fixed that day and we were on the top floor! Our room was very hot, dark and had ancient furniture which was scraped and chipped, bathroom was very out dated with no ventilation and as it was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry if we did not meet with all your expecatations of us. I will share your most valuable feedback with my team as all feedback is essential in my business, as it enable me to monitor our performanc and make changes where necessary. I do... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A last minute change of plan had us looking for overnight accommodation in Inverness. We were booked into a large comfortable room with a view over looking the river and the bridge into the City Centre. Bonus!!! Breakfast in the morning was buffet style but well presented and tasty. Staff were friendly and helpful and our only 'gripe' was having... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will share oyur kind words with my team. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon. With best regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Myself and my partner have stayed here on two occasions. It's a lovely hotel in a prime location;?just on Ness walk. Staff were really friendly and food was standard. Our room was an executive suite which overlooked the river and the town itself. There was a massive comfy bed and the room was huge. Beautiful bathroom with antique bath. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will share your kind words with my team. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

La Habra, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice hotel, with a sitting room, along with the standard bar and restuarant. A bit of a noisey lobby but as soon as you are above the ground enjoy the silence! Nice quaint rooms with enough room for two large bags. The hiden featute is the sitting room featureing nice views of the River Ness and Inverness Castle. A nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks fo your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted you enjoyed your stay and will share oyur kind words with all my team. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night. room was nice and a lovely big bathroom which had a bath and a shower, the breakfast was very nice as well. had our evening meal in McNabbs which is next door to the hotel,food very very nice in there. The only downside to this was our window in the room was filthy,there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that the food in our Bistro, Macnabs was good. I will share your kind words with all my team. I am sorry that there was scaffolding outside your room, we are having some necessary roofing works which can only be carried out in good... More 

FALKIRK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed there for 1 night !! Needs a wee bit TLC but a lovely hotel and great variety for Breakfast !!Staff lovely too and could not do enough for you !! Where the Hotel is situated you have beautiful views of the River, and the castle highly recommend. Will be back next year for 2 nite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after you. Your kind words will be shared with my team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Columba soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having just read some of the other reviews I had to check that this was the hotel that I'd stayed in. I had a very warm welcome. The room was clean and modern with good WiFi. Well located on the River Ness and close to the centre and about 10 minutes walk to the station. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following a recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We have over 1200 guests staying each week, we do get mixed reviews but we strive to ensure everyone is happy and I am so pleased we ticked the boxes for you. Your very kind words will be shared... More 

Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the menu did not change while i was their the lift kept breaking down the staff were kind and helpful.The menu was awful- I nearly broke my tooth on the Eve's pudding as it was brick hard. The high tea for terrible- a rubber scone, no jam, no butter and just a dollop of ordinary cream. I will not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent stay with us. I am sorry if you did not like the Eves Pudding or Cream Team I do hope you asked for an alternative at the time as my team would of done their utmost to ensure you enjoyed your desserts. I am also sorry that we had an... More 

Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My food had been microwaved until the sauce was crusty, the chicken like leather, and the bread completely inedible. In addition the hotel charged 10 cents more on the pound exchange than the standard price of the day, even though we presented a credit card. The clomping of the waitresses was like horses running across the floor, service was slow... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry if you did not enjoy our food. I canot tell by your review which eatery you dined in but will share with my team. I am sorry if you felt the service was slow - I do hope you spoke to one of my duty managers at the time so... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a pity that this hotel in a gorgeous building right on the river has to be such a huge disappointment. Where to start! The wi-fi is so slow there is no way to get any work done or even to send an email (I complained and a nice chap came up but couldn't fix it). The rooms are tired,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review followiing a recent stay with us. I am sorry if we did not meet with all your expectations and will address your feedback with my team to ensure we address some of your valuable comments. I do hope we have the opportinity to welcome you back again. With best regards, Amy More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

104 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay