We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Columba Hotel

7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Columba Hotel
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    219
    178
    109
    72
See reviews for
64
352
36
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (703)
  • Mar-May only
    (219)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (178)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (194)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (112)
All months
wales
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The positives definitely outweighed the negatives at this hotel. First the positives; comfy, well equipped rooms and we experienced no noise issues over our 3 night stay. However, my double room was quite small and was ideal for me as I was on my own in the room but if I'd been staying there for the 3 nights and been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed at the Columba hotel for one night in May 2015. I chose this hotel for its location and because I didn't require parking. If you need parking for a few days and can walk, the train station charges £15 for four days. I got a good price for the nights stay but would have rathered paid double to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for oyur reveiw following a stay with us recently. I was pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and I am very sorry that you were disturbed by noise. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again soon and thank you for your valuable feedback. With warm regards, Amy More 

Travelers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is well-located but that's a far cry from being enough to please travellers! I had the worst night ever in this hotel (room 121) which is so noisy (door banging, people shouting...). The room itself was small, nondescript, and quite cold. Don't book a room there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I am sorry if you were disturbed by noise from other guests. I do hope you called down to one of my team who would of spoken to guests that were disturbing you. I also hope you gave us the opportunity to show you how to controll your heating as it is self... More 

Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent one night at the Columba. It was a lovely, old-style hotel, in the grand Victorian tradition. Our room was cozy, clean and comfortable, with plentiful hot water. Breakfast was included in our stay, and the breakfast bar was amply stocked with all the makings of a full Scottish breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest - WOW, Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted you enjjoyed your time with us and will share you very kind words with amm my team. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back to the highlands soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

Moscow, Idaho
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Inverness is said to be the "Gateway to the Highlands' and for us the Columba Hotel on the River Ness was a great location from which to explore the city and the surrounding attractions. We had a river-side room which meant we looked directly across to Inverness Castle. The old-wooden staircases, plaid carpeting, and quaint sitting-rooms, plus the traditional Scottish... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely review following a recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will share you kind words with my team. It is always a great pleasure to share with the team, that their very hard work has been enjoyed. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you... More 

Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The only good thing I can say about this hotel is its location. Being directly across from the Inverness Castle give an impressive view. Now the annoying but understandable piece was parking. Parking for it is the next block over at the cathedral lot. And now for the bad pieces. First was the room's door. It did not have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that we did not meet with all your expecatations of us. I do hope you gave us the opportunity at the time to see if we could of corrected any of you concerns, as we do truly want all our guests to leave... More 

Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel sits on the River Ness right across from the Inverness castle. Our room, however, was in the far back looking over an alley. In fact, to get to our room, we had to take the lift to the first level, down the corridor, then down a flight of stairs. We were barely greeted, given a key with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent stay with us. I am sorry that we let ourselves on arrival and will ensure we correct this. Unfortunately, we do not have car parking on site but we do have an unloading bay for guests to use. We are a city centre hotel so not all the views are... More 

Byron Bay
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was really rather tossing up between 2/3 stars for this... but ultimately, had to go with 2. This Hotel is rather dated, but that itself ins't the problem - it is in a rather nice spot for a visit to Inverness. But with dated, usually comes the normal sorts of things - smaller rooms, etc. In the hotel, don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for our review following a recent stay with us. I am pleased that we ticked the boxes on service and cleanliness and location, but I am sorry if you had a disturbed night sleep. I will investigate to see if we can find out what the issue was. I will share your feedback with my team... More 

Ripon, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived during a nasty downpour. We were greeted by staff. Treated very well. Room was great. Hallways were a maze....needed to leave breadcrumbs to find our way back to entrance. Room very clean, modern, quiet enough, comfortable. Dinner in their dining room was fine, but nothing special. Service was polite and efficient. Yes, I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will share your very kind words with all my team. I do hope we can welcome oyu back soon. With best regards, Amy and Team Columba More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on a Friday night for just a night away. To start the list this is a large hotel with NO parking to go along side it we were driving around for over 30 minutes looking for somewhere to park eventually having to park in the car park next to the cathedral which I did happen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your thoughts following a recent stay with us. I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. We do not advertise we have car parking on any booking site but yes there is lots of car parking bays around the hotel and a car park 450 yards from the unloding bay outside the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay