We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 35 Inverness hotels

Columba Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Columba Hotel to your Saves list
Columba Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
49%
Ranked #31 of 35 hotels in Inverness
A recent review
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    132
    130
    88
    53
See reviews for
46
249
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Columba for one week whilst in Inverness visiting relatives. The staff are friendly and professional - particularly in reception and in McNabs bar. The waiting staff at breakfast were also very good. Martin in the bar was exceptional. Our bedroom (127) needed updating and was quite dark. The mattress needs replacing and was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed most aspects fo your stay, and your very kind comments will be shared with my team, epsecially Martin. I am sorry if you found the room dark and the mattress was uncomfortable, we would of been deligthed to offer you another... More

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely central hotel, reception staff very friendly, meal in bistro was good value for money, partner booked through groupon bottle of bubbly on arrival in room stayed in room 208 the views were of back hotel but overall a good break

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, WOW, what a lovey review from your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after you. They will be be over the moon. We do have some fab choices in our bistro and gives a variety from our restuarant offering, so I hope we can welcome you back very... More

Skye
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here a few times now booking through late rooms .com , as always this time was just as good & comfortable , stayed in room 118 really warm big room big bed and fine bathroom , the view was nothing great but the curtains were drawn so it could have been any view .we didn't eat in the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, WOW, Thank you for your lovely review. I am so peased we ticked all boxes for you and the team will be equally over the moon by your kind feedback. It is such a morale boost for the team when we are recognised for the things we do right. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.... More

Aberdeenshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Columba Hotel was excellent. Good sized double room. Very clean. Friendly helpful staff (apart from the barman/manger in McNabs bistro last night who ignored us completely - that's ok, we ate elsewhere), McNab barmaid was lovely. Breakfast was superb and again very nice staff. Would recommend to anyone looking for a lovely clean hotel but beware of rude barman/receptionist. Just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. I am deligthed that you had a good stay with us your very kind words will be shared with my team. I am sorry if one of my team has not given you the same standard of service and will address this immediately, as you experienced it is not the service... More

turnerjs08
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

right on the river, next to the town overlooking a castle....perfect location. staff friendly, rooms gorgeous, breakfast great, quiet AND room temperature just right.....which is not often the case in hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, WOW - Thank you so much for your lovely review. My team will be delighted you enjoyed all aspects and your kind words will be shared with them. I hope we see you back soon. With warm regards, Amy and Team Columba More

Lerwick
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on Groupon deal and although not the best hotel we have ever stayed in it was ok for what we paid. Our deal included dinner on first night and may not have been menu we would have chosen, but it was perfectly adequate for what it was and was served by helpful staff. May not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a recent break with us. I was so pleased you found the team friendly and that you were overall satisfied with your stay. Your kind words will be shared with my team. I do hope we can welcome you back to the Columba when you are next visiting the area. With kind... More

Aberdeen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the Columba Hotel a few years ago and thought it was excellent, but on our trip a few weeks ago we were very disappointed. The Hotel is very tired, our room was certainly not up to 4 star standard,our bathroom was very grotty,shelves for toiletries were rusted and shower door was not easy to use.The food also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your reveiw following a stay a few weeks ago. I am pleased that you found the team helpful and friendly, I will share your kind comments with them. I am sorry if you found this trip disappointing and fully take on board your comments and will correct and necessary actions. I do hope we can... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night on a very good rate for Inverness. Being realistic, we didn't expect anything too much and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely spot, close to shops, bars etc and on first impressions seemed really nice. However we were given a room to the rear of the hotel. It looked out on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following a stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and will share this with my team. I am sorry that we did not meet all your expecatations. We allocate rooms on types, for example double, twin, single etc. and not rate. Unfortuantely being in a city... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at the Columba.We were very Dissapointed the hotel looks very nice but once we stayed a night.The room was cold the shower dripped all night .my wife woke up through the night complaining that something was jagging into her side which could only have been a spring in the mattress. We went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry if we did not meet all your expectations and your feedback will be shared to see what improvement we can make. There can be no excuses for any shortfall and please accpet my most sincere apologies if you found this to be the case. I... More

Cruden Bay (Port Erroll), United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a really nice hotel to stay at. The staff are very friendly and are attentive. Breakfast was nice. Room was clean and comfortable. Will recommend hotel and will certainly be staying here again. Many thanks for making our stay a happy one :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amy W, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, WOW what a lovely review - and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. My team will be over the moon at your comments and I hope we can see you back soon. With war regards, Amy and Columba Team More

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Inverness
Columba Hotel Inverness, Scotland
Address: 7 Ness Walk, Inverness IV3 5NF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Columba Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columba Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.