We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inverness Student Hotel

8 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverness Student Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Inverness Student Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

101 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    31
    23
    8
    2
See reviews for
2
6
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (101)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It is a well-run hostel. It's in an older building, which means it has some quirks, but nothing that really detracts from the stay. It seemed like a lot of guests were cooking whole meals in the kitchen which made things rather crowded in the evening. Lounge has some beautiful leather couches that seem like probably a recent addition. Staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very noisy guests and some very rude! But that isn't the hostels fault! But nice staff and relatively clean. Shower flood issue on the top leve of the hostel meant that water backed up on itself when showering which was not so fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. First of all we're sorry that guest were rude and noisy; I guess some people don't understand manner. Next time, please, do not hesitate to come to reception and let us know ( either receptionist or night porter) about it and we'll try to do something about it. We're glad you enjoyed our staff though!... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2015

We stayed here for one night and that was okay. The flair of the puplic room was nice but all furniture is really old. Our 6 bed room was also ok for one night. The toilettes were clean. The showers really small. They had a private parking place for all customers which was really nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for your review of our hostel, We agree our furniture had seen better days but hallelujah we just got new lounge room furniture!!! Our cleaners work really hard at maintaining cleanliness and are very proud of the level they keep so thank you for noticing and pointing that out, they will be pleased to hear it. We... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

It did not suit us but perhaps we are a bit long in the tooth to try scaling a bunk bed with no step ladder and no rails. We did not actually stay as the only beds left were top bunks and the room looked really crowded with stuff everywhere. The host was very helpful and I guess if we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015

Very cosy hostel, good atmosphere. Kitchen is a bitt small but we were using it at a time when not many others were there. I personally don't mind but it's maybe a bit weird that bathroom/toilet are mixed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write us a review, We like to think of our kitchen as cosy and that the free herbs, spices and oils, compensate for its snug-ness :) We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will choose to come back and visit sometime! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Short walk past the castle from the bus stop brings you to this lovely place. Full of character and charm. On the night I was there a young scotsman was staying and he played the fiddle in the common room while we had a few drinks listening in. Top shelf!

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review about our hostel, We are glad you stayed when our friend the fiddle player had come up to visit us and play some tunes, we love the atmosphere he creates in our hostel. we hope that you come back and visit us again to enjoy more drinks and music! More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I stayed here during my john ogroats to lands end trip. Along with another hostel organised by the same company I didn't want to leave! I loved it! The walls are plastered with posters, maps and messages from other travellers. The kitchen is really nice and the living room is really warm. You can even clean to pay your way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your terrific review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us :) We like to give our guests as much information about the area as possible to that they can experience inverness to the fullest extent, that is why our walls are covered in posters and information from other travelers, this is why the walls... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I was volunteering at the Celtic Media Festival and I stayed for a week, and I had a really good time. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. It is clean, tidy, well located, has a great view to the river and cozy rooms. My only complain is that it doesn't have lockers, although you could keep valuable stuff in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Gabriel, it was fab to have you with us! Great to know you enjoyed your time here and that you were happy with your room, location, staff and cleanness. It's true that we don't have lockers but thank you for noticing that we keep valuables in our safe in the reception which is accessible from 7am until 22.30pm, when we... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

So we were a group meant to stay in this hostel for about a week but left after 2 nights. So I will give them credit that the location is ideal and were at first kind people.... However, after our second night, I woke up the third morning covered in insect bites. This was due to an infestation of ants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

The location of this Youth Hostel is one of the main reason we chose it: it's really close to Inverness Castle, a ten-minute walk from the city centre, with a great view of Saint Andrew's Cathedral and the River Ness. The place did not disappoint us at all, quite the contrary: bedroom, bathroom and common spaces were clean and comfy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for that great review Martine, We love that you enjoyed the hostel and that you realized about of the wee things such as our bed names, signage, location or extras that we offer. See you next time! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre - River Ness
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#23 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
#22 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#20 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay