We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inverness Student Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
8 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverness Student Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Inverness Student Hotel
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    19
    8
    2
See reviews for
2
5
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was volunteering at the Celtic Media Festival and I stayed for a week, and I had a really good time. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. It is clean, tidy, well located, has a great view to the river and cozy rooms. My only complain is that it doesn't have lockers, although you could keep valuable stuff in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Gabriel, it was fab to have you with us! Great to know you enjoyed your time here and that you were happy with your room, location, staff and cleanness. It's true that we don't have lockers but thank you for noticing that we keep valuables in our safe in the reception which is accessible from 7am until 22.30pm, when we... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So we were a group meant to stay in this hostel for about a week but left after 2 nights. So I will give them credit that the location is ideal and were at first kind people.... However, after our second night, I woke up the third morning covered in insect bites. This was due to an infestation of ants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of this Youth Hostel is one of the main reason we chose it: it's really close to Inverness Castle, a ten-minute walk from the city centre, with a great view of Saint Andrew's Cathedral and the River Ness. The place did not disappoint us at all, quite the contrary: bedroom, bathroom and common spaces were clean and comfy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for that great review Martine, We love that you enjoyed the hostel and that you realized about of the wee things such as our bed names, signage, location or extras that we offer. See you next time! More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff were friendly and helpful, which counts for a lot in my book. Always up for a chat. I was also glad to know they offer mixed dorms, as they seem to be one of the only companies in the UK offering such. Good value for money in my opinion, especially considering how close it is to the city centre.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Marc, thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hostel. We're glad to know you found staff members helpful and chatty. Also, we like to offer mixed, female and male dorms as everybody everybody has different preferences and it might be that a wee group/couples/friends... want to stay together in the same dorm even if they're not the... More 

Broome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Wasn't sure about booking this hostel based on some bad reviews on here but as soon as I arrived they were proved wrong. I stayed in the Inverness hostel for a week and by the time I left it felt like home. The staff are friendly and welcoming as well as fun! Full of local knowledge and happy to help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Ella, thank you so much for your review. We're happy you decided to stay with us although we had a couple of bad reviews...we always try to improve :) Very glad to know you had a good time here. It's great to have guests like you that stay for a wee bit so they get to be part of the... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never have I stayed at a hostel I didn't want to leave! The staff were incredible. Their friendliness and their helpfulness when planning activities in and around Inverness was invaluable. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm and it was great. I felt safe to leave my valuables in the room. The beds were so comfortable. By far the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for that lovely review Ashea! It was great to have you with us in the hostel :) The atmosphere you guys created that week was absolutely incredible. We're very glad to know you enjoyed your stay that much and that you felt like home. Also, we really appreciate that you wrote a review because we know... More 

Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Me and my friend stayed at the Inverness Student Hostel for five nights and it started to feel like home. We even got one night for free. The atmosphere is relaxed and sociable, the staff is always up for a nice conversation and very helpful. We enjoyed those five days very much and I would definitly recommend it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, We strive to create a homey atmosphere in our hostel as we see our staff as family and our guests as friends! We enjoyed having you two stay as much as you enjoyed being here and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! From everyone at Inverness student hotel. More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

When we arrived we asked for some must-sees in Inverness, the receptionist gave us a map and started explaining a lot about the city and draw a really nice walk for us. She was also helping us with searching for another hostel in Edinburgh and calling a lot of hostels to find a place for us to stay, super friendly.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a lovely review. I'm very happy to know you guys found my tips helpful. Too bad we couldn't find a place for you in Edinburgh...our other hostels would have loved to have you as you were lovely guests! hope the rest of your trip is amazing and come back any time you like! More 

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Just loved the place. Nice people at the reception, they try the best to help you when you need something. The bedrooms are comfy (I really like the sheets. it feels like you're in a sleepingbag, lol). The kitchen is nice, they provide coffee and hot chocolate for free and they have the "free food" at the kitchen, with stuff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for the great review! We all enjoyed you staying here and we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us:) Enjoy the rest of your travels and we hope to see you again in the future! More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Maybe i'm too geek but when I'm traveling in 2014, internet is an amenity just like water or electricity. That's why i didn't fancy that during the two days spent there i could never ever use the internet (tried with two different devices). The girl at the reception just shrugged her shoulder and said that 'maybe later she'll restart the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we are so glad that you enjoyed our location and spectacular views of Inverness while you stayed with us. I am sorry you experienced our temporary WIFI issues, we were upgrading our service and during that time we had some problems with connectivity on some devices, which was very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question