We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inverness Student Hotel

8 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inverness Student Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Inverness Student Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

98 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
2
6
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (98)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night and that was okay. The flair of the puplic room was nice but all furniture is really old. Our 6 bed room was also ok for one night. The toilettes were clean. The showers really small. They had a private parking place for all customers which was really nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou very much for your review of our hostel, We agree our furniture had seen better days but hallelujah we just got new lounge room furniture!!! Our cleaners work really hard at maintaining cleanliness and are very proud of the level they keep so thank you for noticing and pointing that out, they will be pleased to hear it. We... More 

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It did not suit us but perhaps we are a bit long in the tooth to try scaling a bunk bed with no step ladder and no rails. We did not actually stay as the only beds left were top bunks and the room looked really crowded with stuff everywhere. The host was very helpful and I guess if we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very cosy hostel, good atmosphere. Kitchen is a bitt small but we were using it at a time when not many others were there. I personally don't mind but it's maybe a bit weird that bathroom/toilet are mixed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write us a review, We like to think of our kitchen as cosy and that the free herbs, spices and oils, compensate for its snug-ness :) We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and that you will choose to come back and visit sometime! More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Short walk past the castle from the bus stop brings you to this lovely place. Full of character and charm. On the night I was there a young scotsman was staying and he played the fiddle in the common room while we had a few drinks listening in. Top shelf!

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review about our hostel, We are glad you stayed when our friend the fiddle player had come up to visit us and play some tunes, we love the atmosphere he creates in our hostel. we hope that you come back and visit us again to enjoy more drinks and music! More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I stayed here during my john ogroats to lands end trip. Along with another hostel organised by the same company I didn't want to leave! I loved it! The walls are plastered with posters, maps and messages from other travellers. The kitchen is really nice and the living room is really warm. You can even clean to pay your way... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your terrific review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us :) We like to give our guests as much information about the area as possible to that they can experience inverness to the fullest extent, that is why our walls are covered in posters and information from other travelers, this is why the walls... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2015

I was volunteering at the Celtic Media Festival and I stayed for a week, and I had a really good time. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. It is clean, tidy, well located, has a great view to the river and cozy rooms. My only complain is that it doesn't have lockers, although you could keep valuable stuff in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Gabriel, it was fab to have you with us! Great to know you enjoyed your time here and that you were happy with your room, location, staff and cleanness. It's true that we don't have lockers but thank you for noticing that we keep valuables in our safe in the reception which is accessible from 7am until 22.30pm, when we... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 via mobile

So we were a group meant to stay in this hostel for about a week but left after 2 nights. So I will give them credit that the location is ideal and were at first kind people.... However, after our second night, I woke up the third morning covered in insect bites. This was due to an infestation of ants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

The location of this Youth Hostel is one of the main reason we chose it: it's really close to Inverness Castle, a ten-minute walk from the city centre, with a great view of Saint Andrew's Cathedral and the River Ness. The place did not disappoint us at all, quite the contrary: bedroom, bathroom and common spaces were clean and comfy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for that great review Martine, We love that you enjoyed the hostel and that you realized about of the wee things such as our bed names, signage, location or extras that we offer. See you next time! More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
51 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015

Staff were friendly and helpful, which counts for a lot in my book. Always up for a chat. I was also glad to know they offer mixed dorms, as they seem to be one of the only companies in the UK offering such. Good value for money in my opinion, especially considering how close it is to the city centre.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Marc, thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hostel. We're glad to know you found staff members helpful and chatty. Also, we like to offer mixed, female and male dorms as everybody everybody has different preferences and it might be that a wee group/couples/friends... want to stay together in the same dorm even if they're not the... More 

Broome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

Wasn't sure about booking this hostel based on some bad reviews on here but as soon as I arrived they were proved wrong. I stayed in the Inverness hostel for a week and by the time I left it felt like home. The staff are friendly and welcoming as well as fun! Full of local knowledge and happy to help... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Ella, thank you so much for your review. We're happy you decided to stay with us although we had a couple of bad reviews...we always try to improve :) Very glad to know you had a good time here. It's great to have guests like you that stay for a wee bit so they get to be part of the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay