We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inverness Student Hotel

8 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Inverness Student Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Depok, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It was a bit difficult to find this hostel at first, but in the end we managed to find it anyway. It was a good and cozy hostel. The bunk bed was cozy, although there was no frontier on the upper side of the bunk bed. They also have wide kitchen that we can use and FREE HOT CHOCOLATE AND... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lian1808
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

It took me a couple of laps of the block to find it, but it has space for parking! Yes the place is a little dated but the friendly, outgoing staff make up for it. The rooms are clean and big enough. The living space is nice with the kitchen having all the necessities. I'd definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Gillo35
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to know you liked our lounge, dorms and our lovely staff. The building it's quite old indeed but we love it's charm : ) You're more than welcome to stay with us ! More 

Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

A great youth hostel with a trully friendly welcome! I found everything I needed here, you can have a nice breakfast for only 2£. Coffee, tea and milk are free! Wifi is fast and you can chill in the huge sofas.

Helpful?
Thank Quentin C
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

We are very happy to know you enjoyed the hostel that much : ) We hope to see you soon! More 

Mandal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

One has to take the pace as it is, slightly worn-out but on the other hand - what can one expect of a student home? However, we met only friendly people and staff and for people who not demand luxury and is happy with a roof over their head, this is the place. The rooms is with bunks and as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Svein B
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review Svein. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall, we take pride in having helpful and friendly staff. Since you stayed in April we have made an effort to update many aspects of the hostel especially in the communal areas. I hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in Inverness. More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night of my tour around the Highlands. The staff were very helpful, around 1am he went through the first aid kit with me as someone in my room needed it. Very friendly atmosphere in the common room and £2 breakfast served every morning. Only disappointment was the beds as I could hardly sleep.

Helpful?
Thank Dominique T
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review Dominique, We're really glad to know you enjoyed your time in the hostel with other guests.... we must say that lately atmosphere that all of you created it's been absolute magic! Also, sorry to hear you didn't have a good rest because of our beds, we'll keep it in mind for new changes... More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2015 via mobile

Staff was really nice and always helpful. The rooms and beds were ok, though there definitely could've been more bathrooms on the lower floor and our dorm could've done with two beds less - it felt s bit cramped at times. Kitchen and lounge are quite small, thus crowded and also a bit dark - was hoping for a more... More 

Helpful?
Thank OneHostelAtATime
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review : ) We are sorry to know you didn't enjoy much our common areas, it is true that they are a wee bit tight, but usually people are happy sharing time and space in it. Light it's a wee bit tricky in this country...sometimes it gets dark and no light... More 

The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
214 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

I specifically broke up my trip between the Isle of Skye and the Edinburgh area in Inverness because it was a Saturday night and I knew I could find good live music. The hostel is a bit rough around the edges and the kitchen is really small, but it was clean and friendly and really well located. I'd stay there... More 

Helpful?
Thank hopefulist
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review : ) We know our kitchen is quite small, that's why we keep it very well equipped, with lots of seasoning and of course, clean. We are very happy to say that we're painting it this winter! so a new face will help to make it look better. We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in... More 

North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2015

I was surprised to find that the unisex shower room on my floor did not have any space for disrobing/dressing. You had to try to navigate everything within the wet shower stall or strip naked in front of any other occupants. But what was really upsetting is that no one was at the front desk when I needed to check... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we always appreciate our guests feedback. First, I would deeply like to apologize about the reception being closed when you wanted to check out; we do open at 7am but that day the person on shift didn't make it on time. We've been trying to post you your deposit back but sadly, in the note... More 

Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

Favorite hostel ever! I stayed in the sisters to this hostel in both Edinburgh and Skye, and for me this one was the best. It is undoubtedly small, and can be crowded at peak times like breakfast and dinner, but for a solo traveller that only more easily facilitates mingling and chatting. If it's too crowded to find a seat,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily M
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for that lovely review!!! you definitely put a smile in our faces We hope to have you back at some point : ) More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015 via mobile

It is a well-run hostel. It's in an older building, which means it has some quirks, but nothing that really detracts from the stay. It seemed like a lot of guests were cooking whole meals in the kitchen which made things rather crowded in the evening. Lounge has some beautiful leather couches that seem like probably a recent addition. Staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank JeremyA
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
#24 of 33 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 811 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#20 of 33 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 421 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 33 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay