We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Inverness

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Millburn Road, Inverness IV2 3TR, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thistle Inverness
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Inverness
Add Photo Write a Review

499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    98
    157
    148
    63
    33
See reviews for
67
174
29
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (499)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (167)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (118)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Myself and my partner stayed here along with several other family members after a wedding. The hotel doesnt look much from the outside to be honest but apart from that and the slightly out dated decor of the rooms ... I can't fault a thing. The staff were lovely and super helpful, even allowing us to check in early as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
evergem
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed two nights and had two rooms. The hotel is a bit outdated but the rooms were clean. People at the reception were friendly. We had a great bed in our room! Breakfast was not included and was a but pricy. Not all personell here was equally friendly. one morning we asked for hot chocolate to a waiter (no,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel with plenty of parking. Room was clean but did get very hot. The food was excellent with a very good breakfast in the morning to get the day started. There is a 24 hour Tesco a short drive away if you need anything. The lift for some reason always tells you that it is overloaded. I think this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

arrived Inverness Sunday afternoon and found hotel ..also found out hotel closes next Wednesday and thistle hotels will be no more.....room executive but nothing to write home about ....no air con and wit heat wave up here at mo room was a sauna ...windows open all nyt but still melting ...really could do with installing air con wen refurbishments take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Thistle Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Chris R, Thank you for taking time to post a review following your recent stay here at the Thistle Inverness. I was delighted to read your positive comments with regards to the food, staff and cleanliness. I would like to state that the hotel is not closing however we are moving management companies and therefore the hotel name will... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked a twin room so me and my friend could have separate beds, but they were pushed so close together in a small room that it was virtually a double bed. They couldn't be moved apart as the bedside tables were screwed into the wall! The shower head was obviously faulty as it fell off causing the effect of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Thistle Inverness, responded to this review

Dear granticle, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay here at the Thistle Inverness. I was delighted to read your positive comments about breakfast with regards to the selection and quality of the items avaliable. I have passed your comments about the shower to the maintenance team and offer my apologies that you... More 

Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is good value with comfortable and clean rooms. You do get some road noise which was a particular problem I had as I needed to open the window due to the room being very war courtesy of some hot weather. The breakfast is a very efficient buffet affair which is fresh and wholesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Thistle Inverness, responded to this review

Dear AdrianHumphreys Thank you for submitting a review following your recent stay here at the Thistle Inverness, I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be good value, comfortable, clean and that breakfast was fresh and wholesome. We have been experiencing some lovely warm weather recently and whilst the hotel does not have air conditioning we do... More 

Muir, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Firstly I booked this last minute and got a reasonable rate paying booking.com, I arrived and checked in and was asked to confirm my card details to pay I did. Got to the room and there was rubbish in the bin and half used shower gel in the shower...complained and moved rooms...didn't complain that much and when asked if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Thistle Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty J Thank you for your recent review of the hotel following your stay. I was sorry to learn that you were checked into an un-inspected room in error but I am pleased to hear that the team dealt with this efficently and moved you into an alternative. All our rooms carry hairdryers, however in the executive rooms they... More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Reception staff were excellent, room was fine, everything as it should be, water pressure in the shower wonderful, almost knocked me over first time. For a 'Chain' hotel I thought the staff were far and above the ususal standard, friendly attentive efficient, made the stay comfortable. Worth staying for the breakfast on its own.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Thistle Inverness, responded to this review

Dear George L, Thank you very much for taking time out to post a review on your stay here at the Thistle Inverness hotel. I was delighted to read your glowing comments with regards to the staff herel, without their hard work we could not provide the service we do. I do hope you visit us again in the not... More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room clean, enjoyed the Nespresso machine, but room was WAY too hot. Heat wasn't even on, and when I called to ask about the heat, they seemed non-plussed and said the best they could do was bring up a fan. Next morning, the flush on the toilet broke, and when they sent someone to investigate, he didn't knock, he just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Thistle Inverness, responded to this review

Dear CanadianKimEdinburgh Thank you for writing a review following your recent stay here at the Thistle Inverness. I was pleased to read that you found the room clean and enjoyed the Nespresso machine. As you can imagine the need for air conditioning in the Highlands is very limited and as you mentioned the team did provide a fan on request.... More 

caithness
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of a further journey south, so didn't use many of the facilities. The room was dated, but clean a tidy. There is no air con though, so the window was opened to cool the place but was beside a busy main road. Had a drink at the bar, thought it was pricey at over £9.00 for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Thistle Inverness, responded to this review

Dear don1903, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay here at the Thistle Inverness. I was pleased to read that you found the hotel clean. We have renovated over 60% of our bedrooms so and we will continue to make improvements on the remaining rooms. You are correct in saying that we do not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

84 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.0 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#24 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Mercure Inverness Hotel
#29 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre - River Ness
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Back to top