We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Inverness hotels

BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
93%
Ranked #1 of 34 hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Fran M Sydney, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (281)
  • Photos (100)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (53)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    190
    69
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
48
121
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found the hotel peaceful and comfortable. The staff were helpful and the service was excellent. The hotel was spotless and charming. Having your own small outside terrace was a real plus. We loved it

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Graeme More

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
306 hotel reviews
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not only they were honest and returned them, they kindly sent them to my home. Thanks! In upscale residential area away from down town. Reception- Friendly Breakfast –Extra Room-It was not in the main house. I don’t know if that was good or bad. Rooms are nice and clean and of a good size. Good size room. Clean Light for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am glad to hear that your ear-rings arrived back safely. It was a pleasure having you with us. Kind regards Graeme More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel several times before, all on business in Inverness. I was lucky to be up graded this time to a room in the Garden block - the rooms here are much larger than the ones in the main house with nice views across the gardens and out to the hills beyond. All the rooms I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip Thank you so much for your kind words. we do our very best to ensure our guests enjoy their time here and it is great to hear from you. Kind regards Graeme More

Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good quality hotel with polite staff. A bit far from downtown but there is a pleasant walk along the lake . The restaurant is of good quality the rooms were clean. Come with a light bag because climbing the stairs with a heavy suitcase might be too arduous for some.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do not have a lift but there is no problem in assistance with luggage and I hope you used that service. Kind regards Graeme More

Sheffield, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A hotel in large grounds a couple of miles from the city centre. Our deluxe room was very large, comfortable and well equipped with 2 chairs and a settee. Huge bathroom with bath and separate shower - the best on our road trip by far. We were slightly disappointed that the room was in a separate, modern annexe rather than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and for your kind words regarding the room and your breakfast and dinners. I note that you were 'disappointed' that the room was not in the main building but the room type you booked through the website is clearly described as in the Garden Wing and that room type is not available in... More

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We found this hotel to be great. Friendly staff. The room was clean, bathroom excellent. We had a small courtyard. It was quiet. The bed was a little bit on the hard side, but otherwise a gem. Definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind words. We try at all times our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us. Kind regards Graeme More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the lochardil house hotel many times now and will continue to do so whenever I'm up visiting in Inverness. The staff are extremely attentive and very friendly, they're always looking to do that little bit extra to make our stay even more enjoyable. The kids love it and have become quite attached to the owner and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you all enjoy your stays with us and appreciate your kind words. Regards Graeme More

Portree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I found our room to be well equipped, clean, tidy and comfortable. I was disappointed with the welcome from the owner who I thought was stand-offish and this came across as rude. Better to have a smiling face with some small talk as front of house.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you found our Hotel comfortable etc. I obviously do not know who you are given the lack of proper name etc with these reviews but clearly my not making a point of personally speaking to you has offended you. I am not in the least 'standoffish' which... More

Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I am a hotel snob and do not mind basic but when running a hotel the very least that should be done is the beds should be comfortable and the place clean. This hotel score highly on both counts. It is also in a lovely historic building, has friendly well trained staff and on my search on Booking.com was the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review. We try our very best at all times and it is nice when our excellent staff are appreciated. We do try to offer good value. Kind regards Graeme More

eastbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is my second visit to the Lochardil following a business trip last year and I have to say it was a joy to return. The room (garden room), the staff and the service were all as excellent as from my previous experience last year. I Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for business or as a tourist. many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve Thank you for your lovely review. We do our best and it is great when appreciated. We hope to see you back soon. Kind regards Graeme More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

100 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Inverness with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness #2 Family Hotel in Inverness #5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
28

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer