We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Culloden House

4.0 of 5 Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Culloden House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Culloden House
Culloden House
Culloden House
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    43
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
40
137
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (259)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Russell Island, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in November. It was lovely to come in from the cold and wet weather to be greeted by very pleasant and helpful staff. Our room was huge - we had a very large master room, plus a very large lounge room, plus two bathrooms (his and hers?). There are two lovely lounge rooms to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Culloden House, separated by many of years. The approach to the House is dramatic with the short drive leading to a magnificent view of the red ivy-clad house. The view was not greatly spoiled by the presence of a fleet of the newest Porsche Cars for a customer day (Last time it was Jaguar).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear docandyscot, Thank you for your lovely review, I am sorry that the problems we experienced with the boiler that weekend impacted on your stay, the matter has been resolved now, a simple thermostat had packed in and has now been replaced. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Stephen... More 

Rutland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we pulled up the long, elegant driveway and saw Culloden House for the first time we were impressed with this place. The warm welcome we got from the manager and the unsolicited room upgrade confirmed our first impressions. Our room was one of the suites - huge, immaculately clean and very comfortable with a large en-suite bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear thing-with-wings Thank you very much for your kind words, I will pass them on to all the team. We are lucky to work is such a fantastic building and have a team, that in my opinion, are one of the best in the country. We look forward to hopefully having the pleasure of your company in the future. Kind... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful hotel! My (now) husband and I chose Culloden House Hotel as our wedding venue on 22nd November 2014. We stayed at CHH for 4 nights. We fell in love with the building, it's surroundings and it's warm atmosphere. However, believe it or not, the grand setting and wonderful attention to detail isn't what makes the hotel so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear Sarah S, It was our pleasure to add to your special day and we are all delighted that we helped in making the day special for you. Your special requests were a challenge, but thats what we like!! Look forward to welcoming you both back in April. Kind regards, Stephen Davies General Manager More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was due to stay here for my nephew's wedding. I ended up cancelling my booking due a member of staff, Fiona Maclean. I found her to be rude and unhelpful and she did not have the basic understanding of the needs of the guests. My parents who both have mobility problems required a ground floor room. This was asured.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Its not very often that I totally disagree with a customer complaint but on this occasion I will. I would like to start by pointing out that the hotel did not allocate the bedrooms, this was done by the Bride & Groom, and the lowest possible accessible room was allocated by them for your parents. We acknowledge that the room... More 

new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had the most lovely stay at Culloden House near Inverness. The view of the house (an 18th century Scottish mansion) took my breath away when we drove up to the gate. It truly looks and feels like Downton Abbey, inside and out. We stayed in a giant suite with incredible comfortable beds and soft linens. The bathroom was magnificent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear jb2026, It was our pleasure and thank you for your kind words, I will pass them onto the team. I loved the photographs you posted on this site also, looked very atmospheric! I will pass your kind comments onto Fiona who talked with you at the desk and Kyle who served you in the dining room. Kind regards, Stephen... More 

Inverurie, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

What a great place ! Old world relaxation with great service and fabulous food. Very impressed by the quality and service. Would defintiely return and recommend. Only negative, the wifi didn't work anywhere. If they got that sorted, it would be a great place for a longer stay as its really well positioned for great golf, shopping, castles and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear CCohen2014, Thank you for your kind words, Ill ensure that I pass them onto all the team with special mention to the kitchen and waiting staff. Kindest regards, Stephen Davies General Manager More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The hotel is great! Stayed there for two nights with my girlfriend. Everything was according to standards provided by the previous reviews. The hotel is situated in the very beautiful place, especially when you drive through the gates the hotel emerge in the background giving a breathtaking views. The room was perfect as well, the fireplace was lovely and bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear Jakub P, On a cold winters night sitting in front of our Adam's lounge fireplace with a good malt is the way to go! Delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Stephen Davies General Manager More 

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We stayed here just for one night. The building from the outside & the grounds are beautiful. We chose this hotel for its close proximity to Inverness airport (10 minute drive away) as we had an early flight the next morning. I would definitely stay here again if my main priority was to be close to the airport. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear HotCharlie, Thank you for your kind review. It was our pleasure to look after you for the evening. Our owners do invest each year into the property and your room is in line to have its bathroom replaced. We are perfectly placed for Inverness airport which is only 5 minutes away. I hope that the lost telephone made it... More 

Perth, Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

You can't help but be impressed as soon as you start to drive up to the house. I'd booked a classic single but they must have upgraded me as the room was absolutely huge. There was a 7ft bed (too soft for my personal taste but most people would love it), 2 easy chairs, good sized TV and a separate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear Duncrieviedude, Delighted that you loved the experience! As we were quiet we took the opportunity to upgrade you as we had the room available to do so. Hopefully you will consider us for your next trip to Inverness, please call in advance and speak with Fiona in reservations who will guarantee you the best rate available. Kind regards, Stephen... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness

92 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (82)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay