We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 34 Inverness hotels

Culloden House

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Culloden House to your Saves list
Culloden House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
88%
Ranked #6 of 34 hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
nora312 Highlands
  • Overview
  • Reviews (225)
  • Photos (87)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    36
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
35
117
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I took two special friends here for a treat and we enjoyed every mouthful . Lovely sandwiches and a great selection of scones and cakes . You wont be disappointed. The room is very old fashioned and the hotel has lots of quaint features. The service was excellent .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Culloden House was located in a very picturesque environment. The service was exceptional and the staff very attentive. The rooms were large and comfortable. The comfort of the beds was just ok. Although there was no coffee or tea in the rooms, service to the rooms was provided at no charge. Breakfast was included in the daily rate and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear VGehrt, I am happy to read that you found our small part of Scotland to be a lovely oasis, our latest edition, the Walled Garden, certainly aids that title and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Stephen Davies General Mamager More

Laguna Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this property for three nights. Our room was lovely on the second floor with views of the back lawn. Our bathroom was amazing. Looks like it was remodeled big jacuzzi tub and two sinks and completely tiled. The bed coverings are not as pictured on their website a little worn. The bed is kind of soft, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear rbjmsol1, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am delighted that there were memorable experiences that made your stay with us a pleasant one. I do apologies for the short coming in service, it is not the norm for us and I will ensure that we address that immediately. With regards to dinner I... More

Saint Joseph, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had stayed here on a visit to Scotland in 2008 and looked forward to returning. We were not disappointed. The building is a beautiful Georgian mansion, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our room had two full bathrooms and a real king sized bed (as opposed to two twins clamped together as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear ScottM, Has it bee six years since your last visit? How time flies, we were delighted that you chose to return and even more delighted that we are one of your favourite Scottish properties, we love welcoming back repeat guests as its just like welcoming family back home. Each year the owners do reinvest back into the house, we... More

Boston, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Culloden House is a beautiful historic manor house just minutes outside Inverness. We had lovely rooms and enjoyed the stunning walled gardens! Dinner and breakfast were served in their elegant dinning room. Our favorite part was ordering dinner over cocktails in the drawing room and then being seated when the first course was served. We were also taught a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear DeanneH, With Culloden House being so richly steeped in Scottish history it is always a delight to talk about. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, I enjoyed selecting a few different malts for you and your husband and hopefully you managed to find a new favourite Scotch! Kindest regards, Stephen Davies General Manager More

Tamworth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I spent three nights here as part of a two week holiday. We'd booked here as a result of tripadvisor recommendations and were not disappointed. The room was on the second floor. Every single member of staff that we met went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect. Just one word of warning: the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear PeterH Your review makes us all feel proud that we managed to make your stay so delightful. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company when you next visit the Highlands. Kindest regards, Stephen Davies General Manager More

Fairfield County
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

By the time your stay is over at Culloden House, you feel like you are leaving friends. The staff is warm, friendly, accommodating, funny and easy going. Culloden is a grand old country home with florals, chintz and tartans. Rooms are furnished in antiques with large windows. The floors are a little uneven and everything isn't perfect but that is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear Sharonconnecticut, It was absolutely our pleasure, nothing makes our team happier than ensuring that your stay is first class and I am delighted that they managed to do so. Each year our owners reinvest into the property and try to ensure that we stay on top of all areas, bathrooms are being addressed and I hope to welcome you... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been making trips to Scotland since the early 1980s and now go at least twice a year, usually more. Very familiar with the hotels throughout the country. I first visited the hotel in 1983, but have had the pleasure over the last several years of staying there for at least three nights each January with a group of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear William B, We take great pride in welcoming guests back to the house, the fact that you have been returning for many years shows us that we must be doing something right! Thank you for your kind words, I will share them with the team and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back for many years to come!... More

Round Pond, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at Culloden House for two nights on June 14 and 15, 2014. In a word the experience was wonderful. From the moment we arrived we were treated as special guests. The entire staff seemed genuinely happy that we were there. They were very service oriented and friendly. Our room was large and comfortable. The dining... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear JLH00 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review, I am delighted that all of our team managed to make your stay in Scotland memorable and I will ensure I pass on your kind comments to all. Our dining room is popular and our seasonal menus showcase the best of local produce. I hope... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
52 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I just left the Culloden House without spending the night because their approach to my needs was unacceptable. If you book a junior suite, as I did, and end up in the Garden Mansion know these things. First, this is a completely separate building which is about 250 yards from the main house. Your building has nothing in it besides... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear Christmas2010 Thank you for your prompt review. I am sorry that you did not like your accommodations, they were as described to your travel agent and also the fact that your Junior Suite was located in the Garden Mansion House which is located 250 yards away from the main house. Your travel agent had all this information when they... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Culloden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness #7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness #9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
28

See which rooms travelers prefer