We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Culloden House

Certificate of Excellence
Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Culloden House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

326 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    235
    55
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
58
172
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (326)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (106)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel with my husband and our two dogs. From the moment we arrived until our departure we experienced a level of service that is sadly missing from many other similar establishments. The staff at Culloden are superb: I cannot fault them in any way. Pleasant, courteous and friendly without being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and stayed for two nights at Culloden House the last week of August and loved every second. The property is gorgeous, the food is delicious and the service spectacular - the staff was there with a whisky, a recommendation or a taxi as needed. :) We felt right at home from the moment we arrived. A wonderful little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Some friends and I had the pleasure of having lunch there on two occassions recently. The whole experience was excellent! The staff were very friendly ,helpful and mannerly. The food was excellent and served amongst beautiful surrounding. The whole experience was very relaxing and the service was the best I have experienced in some time. One of my friends has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here with friends while visiting Scotland. The staff are amazing and the rooms, although older, were well appointed and appropriate to the decor of the house. Highly recommend this hotel. The only negative is that it is not near a town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at Culloden House for 2 nights during our honeymoon. The hotel and grounds were absolutely gorgeous, and the walled garden is beautiful to stroll through. The service was beyond compare and every possible wish was fulfilled sometimes before we even knew we were about to ask. My only disappointment with the hotel was the bedrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Diego
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service at this hotel was amazing! I felt like a princess, especially during meal times and being waited on hand and foot! The grounds are gorgeous and extremely well maintained. Check out the walled garden and just stroll around the property for a relaxing vacation! Trust me, we needed that relaxation after our drive from Edinburgh! ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The grounds were exquisite and the food was fine. However I was given a standard room with ceilings that were so low I had to undress while sitting on the bed. In addition every seam of the wallpaper in the bathroom was unraveling and the toilet never flushed due to "English plumbing". My room looked like a child's room that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear RG2274 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I am suprised that none of your concerns were brought to our attention during your stay. I would like to clarify that the room you were given was the room that you had booked, we do offer a selection of rooms from Classic (entry level) Superior (larger rooms... More 

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff at Culloden were wondeful. Most excellent service of our two week trip. No detail overlooked. Friendly and helpful. Cocktails in the sitting room were greatly enjoyed. We did not enjoy our dinner in the hotel dining room. Not the staff fault, the food simply wasn't to our liking. The wi fi is a bit unreliable and did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear Traveldog_13, Thank you for your review. I always highlight what a great team we have here at Culloden, they are first class and really do want to make a difference to guests who choose to stay with us. Our walled garden is indeed a hidden gem and loved by guests and locals who take time to relax and enjoy... More 

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night (sadly only 1) as we travelled around Scotland with our teenage daughters. As we drove up to the location and saw the house for the first time, we were absolutely charmed with its beauty and charm. The grounds are beautiful! Definitely check out the walled rose garden in the back! The staff were incredibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear Sharon P, Thank you for allowing us to look after you on such a special occassion! Our walled garden is now benefitting from some sunshine, a rare thing this Summer! Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Stephen Davies General manager More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just came for tea. Fantastic relaxed ambience in beautiful surroundings. This place manages to get things right without trying. If it was a car I'd say it was a vintage Bentley, compared to places like Inverlochy hotel which are more pimped Rolls Royce. Both wonderful in their own way, I just happen to prefer this one. Even when there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review

Dear MyHighlands, Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Culloden, we have a fabulous team who do try hard, I will pass on your kind comments to Dorothy regarding the shortbread! Kind regards, Stephen Davies General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

102 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (91)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inverness hotels
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#7 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre - River Ness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay