We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Teaninich Castle Hotel

Alness, Inverness IV17 0XB, Scotland
Teaninich Castle Hotel
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
the highlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

after reading the last review we thought by the end of january everything would be up and running after xmas/new yr, how wrong we were! the caretaker didnt know bookings were still being taken and told us the bar was closed and the chef is away at weekends (arnt most places more busy at weekends?) so the restaurant was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Wick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Arrived at hotel after making a booking for 1 night dinner bed and breakfast. Caretaker did not know we were due to arrive then he informed us chef was still on holiday so no dinner available. (Uncertain about breakfast) Room was cold with grubby carpet, no milk to make a hot drink and poor services available in the bathroom. (no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I had my wedding here on the sixth of august and was absolutely fantastic jane and all her staff did an absolutely fantastic job and made my day really special could not fault anything. The chef was amazing the food was out of this world . My room was stunning and spacious and the bed was the softest i have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great exterior and entry. Huge room and bathroom but terrible room decor. Dorm look pine furniture, mission brown doors and skirts, very 1970 budget look and feel. So excited to stay in a castle but was bitterly disappointed with the interior.... Saying that, the staff were great and the Chef superb. Had one of our best dinner experiences in ages.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a very unfortunate stay at the Teaninich Castle. The room we had for the first night was very nice but unfortunately there was no hot water due to a plumbing problem. The next day we were moved to another room which was a real disappoinment. There was a water heater in the bathroom which was noisy. The avocado... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
jane01349, Manager at Teaninich Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry to here your stay was so disapointing, The second room you were given is newly refurbished with all new furniture, we had the boiler looked at the plumer states that it is fine. unfortunatly the building is very old and some times there can be some noises. I explained to you before you checked in that... More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The castle was excellent - small but very friendly and the rooms were excellent and of very good size. Definatley recommend that you eat in the restaurant as the food was of a very high quality and good value. All the staff were excellent Can't wait to visit again and to bring the rest of my family for a stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is my second stay here at Teaninich Castle - by request as I had the pleasure of staying here last September. A real gem of a place here in the highlands. Picturesque, secluded but within walking distance of Alness and the two Distilleries. The place is clean, food - above excellent (compliments to chef every night), and all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We were staying close by and picked this place to go to for a meal and glad that we did as the building is very impressive, old castle in it's own grounds. We were greeted by a very friendly waitress, as we walked in the main door, who showed us through to the dining room and our table. The menu... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had planned this night as our 1 luxury night of our road trip in Scotland - staying in a scottish castle! We opted for the four poster bed with exclusive use of hot tub, champagne and chocolates. Great deal for £140, so we thought. The sat nav took us to the distillery rather than the hotel itself. When I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
jane01349, Manager at Teaninich Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you felt our breakfast came from morrison as this is not true, all our sausages and black pudding etc come from our local butchers, there was a wedding on the night before you arrived, the guests were enjoying the lounge up stairs for meeting up with there family. The land was sold many years ago... More 

Oxelösund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My husband and I travelled from Sweden for my nephew's wedding and it was worth the trip. We stayed 3 days and enjoyed a 'full Scottish' breakfast every morning freshly cooked. The wedding was well organised and expertly carried out by the friendly and efficient staff. The location was perfect for wedding pictures with spring blossom on the trees. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
8.6 mi away
Tulloch Castle Hotel
Tulloch Castle Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dingwall
3.5 of 5 stars 441 reviews
10.8 mi away
Mansfield Castle Hotel
14.6 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
15.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#3 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 stars 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities