We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 220 Inverness B&Bs / inns

Teaninich Castle Hotel

Save
You added Teaninich Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Alness, Inverness IV17 0XB, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Teaninich Castle Hotel
Ranked #186 of 220 Inverness B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (22)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
the highlands
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

after reading the last review we thought by the end of january everything would be up and running after xmas/new yr, how wrong we were! the caretaker didnt know bookings were still being taken and told us the bar was closed and the chef is away at weekends (arnt most places more busy at weekends?) so the restaurant was also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Wick, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Arrived at hotel after making a booking for 1 night dinner bed and breakfast. Caretaker did not know we were due to arrive then he informed us chef was still on holiday so no dinner available. (Uncertain about breakfast) Room was cold with grubby carpet, no milk to make a hot drink and poor services available in the bathroom. (no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I had my wedding here on the sixth of august and was absolutely fantastic jane and all her staff did an absolutely fantastic job and made my day really special could not fault anything. The chef was amazing the food was out of this world . My room was stunning and spacious and the bed was the softest i have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great exterior and entry. Huge room and bathroom but terrible room decor. Dorm look pine furniture, mission brown doors and skirts, very 1970 budget look and feel. So excited to stay in a castle but was bitterly disappointed with the interior.... Saying that, the staff were great and the Chef superb. Had one of our best dinner experiences in ages.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We had a very unfortunate stay at the Teaninich Castle. The room we had for the first night was very nice but unfortunately there was no hot water due to a plumbing problem. The next day we were moved to another room which was a real disappoinment. There was a water heater in the bathroom which was noisy. The avocado... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
jane01349, Manager at Teaninich Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry to here your stay was so disapointing, The second room you were given is newly refurbished with all new furniture, we had the boiler looked at the plumer states that it is fine. unfortunatly the building is very old and some times there can be some noises. I explained to you before you checked in that... More

Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The castle was excellent - small but very friendly and the rooms were excellent and of very good size. Definatley recommend that you eat in the restaurant as the food was of a very high quality and good value. All the staff were excellent Can't wait to visit again and to bring the rest of my family for a stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

This is my second stay here at Teaninich Castle - by request as I had the pleasure of staying here last September. A real gem of a place here in the highlands. Picturesque, secluded but within walking distance of Alness and the two Distilleries. The place is clean, food - above excellent (compliments to chef every night), and all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We were staying close by and picked this place to go to for a meal and glad that we did as the building is very impressive, old castle in it's own grounds. We were greeted by a very friendly waitress, as we walked in the main door, who showed us through to the dining room and our table. The menu... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had planned this night as our 1 luxury night of our road trip in Scotland - staying in a scottish castle! We opted for the four poster bed with exclusive use of hot tub, champagne and chocolates. Great deal for £140, so we thought. The sat nav took us to the distillery rather than the hotel itself. When I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
jane01349, Manager at Teaninich Castle Hotel, responded to this review

I am really sorry that you felt our breakfast came from morrison as this is not true, all our sausages and black pudding etc come from our local butchers, there was a wedding on the night before you arrived, the guests were enjoying the lounge up stairs for meeting up with there family. The land was sold many years ago... More

Oxelösund
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

My husband and I travelled from Sweden for my nephew's wedding and it was worth the trip. We stayed 3 days and enjoyed a 'full Scottish' breakfast every morning freshly cooked. The wedding was well organised and expertly carried out by the friendly and efficient staff. The location was perfect for wedding pictures with spring blossom on the trees. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Teaninich Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teaninich Castle Hotel

Address: Alness, Inverness IV17 0XB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Teaninich Castle Hotel Inverness, Scotland

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Teaninich Castle Hotel

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby