We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

pentahotel Inverness

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
63 Academy Street, Inverness IV1 1LU, Scotland
Special Price
15% off room rate
pentahotel Inverness
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Theworldismylobster Peterborough, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    128
    138
    75
    25
    21
See reviews for
39
120
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (387)
  • Mar-May only
    (156)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Don't be fooled by the entrance - I did walk out thinking I had wrongly wandered into a club...but once you get your room key at the bar, you are away! The breakfast is lovely, free WiFi and films (although LG TV in hotels is rubbish!) and no real complaints.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a cycling tour through Scotland we were a party of 7. We arrived in the early evening having cycled 110 very hilly miles from Stonehaven. The Pentahotel shone like a beacon and we piled into reception, bikes and all! The bar doubles up as the reception and we were warmly met, promptly dealt with and nothing appeared to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold A, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. I absolutely take on your comments regarding local beers and this is something I am currently looking into and seeing what we can offer. I'm glad that you mention nothing was too much trouble for the team. That is what we are here for and... More 

Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently stayed here in a business trip and whilst it has a lot going for it such as friendly staff, decent bar, free pool table, free wifi and good selection of free TV in the room. Normally, this would be a 4 or 5 star report. However, on the day I was there, the lifts were all broken and had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold A, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Fox2319, Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback for the hotel. You've mentioned a lot of the complimentary added extras we provide and I'm glad you put these to good use! I can only apologise for the issues we had with the lifts during your stay. I can assure you however that both lifts were not... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A little quirky. Reception is more of a trendy bar than a traditional reception Staff are really friendly, drinks a little pricey. If you are expecting a 3 star traditional hotel then you are going to be disappointed. If you are expecting something more like a holiday inn express or travel lodge then you are gong to be pleasantly surprised... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold A, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Paul C, Thank you for your review. You are right, the hotel reception and lounge is slightly different than the normal stuffy hotel lobby. We feel this allows our guests to relax the minute they arrive in the hotel and really feel at home. It seems like you really enjoyed the hotel and had a great stay. Hopefully we... More 

Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Central location great room big flat screen tv. Breakfast was not included in the room rate and hotel required 15 pounds but there are many coffees and bars around there. Parking available and free of charge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold A, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Fabrizia, Thank you for leaving such a great review. I am sorry you found our breakfast too expensive. If you had booked this on check this is discounted to £11. We feel this is fantastic value for money for such a wide range of items. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Inverness and thank you for choosing pentahotels.... More 

Manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Your reception staff were the best of the six hotels we stayed in during our holiday in Scotland. Restaurant staff were excellent, attentive and thoughtful. Nobody just goes through the motions - all seem to enjoy their contact with guests. Hotel location is just about perfect for those on a brief visit to Inverness.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold A, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for your kind words regarding the team here at the pentahotel Inverness. At penta we have a slightly more laid back manner of service, whilst still attending to our guests needs. We feel this helps our guests relax and enjoy their stay and it certainly seems to have worked on this occasion! I will pass on... More 

Lossiemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Superb hotel with excellent facilities which are free to guests unlike most hotels who charge u extra, worth every penny of my stay, excellent location right in the heart of Inverness, would stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold A, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review

Dear 285carlp, Thank you for such a wonderful review. You're right we do try to offer our guests that little bit extra. From free on demand movies and premiums sports channels in the room, to the mineral water, our WiFi, gym, pool table and Playstation 4 in our pentalounge, I could go on. We hope these touches help our guests... More 

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister and I stayed here for one night while traveling north. The room was clean and comfortable and looked updated. The staff was very pleasant. The food was delicious, both dinner and breakfast. We had a great view from our room of Inverness. I would stay again if I were in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold A, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review

Dear JesLC, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It seems like you had a great stay in Inverness and I'm happy we have been able to contribute to that. I'm glad you enjoyed the food in our restaurant and the service from our team. We are constantly looking at how we can deliver great service to... More 

Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed three nights as I met family there on a visit to Scotland. Good location to walk around Inverness. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, spacious and the beds were comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold A, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Margaret, It sounds like you had a great stay with us here at the pentahotel Inverness and thank you for taking the time to share this with us. It's great to hear such positive comments about the team. I will be sure to pass these on as we all take great pride in the service we provide our guests.... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent bar and restaurant with a good fibe, great interior design and lovely staff, the rooms however are a different story... Bed is small and uncomfortable, the room gets very hot quickly and shower is not temperature consistent at all (too hot/cold, uncomfortable). No air conditioning and if you open the windows, be prepared to be awakened by seagulls early... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harold A, General Manager at pentahotel Inverness, responded to this review

Dear Martin, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All feedback is extremely important to us here at penta. I'm glad you enjoyed our pentalounge. I agree it has a great vibe and is a great place to relax, eat or indeed have a drink. I am sorry about the issues you experienced with your room. If... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay