We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel, Caithness

3.0 of 5 Traill St, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel, Caithness
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Hotel, Caithness
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    48
    32
    25
See reviews for
9
49
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (133)
  • Mar-May only
    (30)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my father stayed at this hotel. We had previously booked and payed for the room so had no choice but to stay or else lose our money. We parked in the rear carpark and came in through the back door.....the whole place looked dirty and old, we actually thought about just walking back out and actually that's what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Many thanks for commenting on Trip Advisor though i find it strange that you have decided to do so 5 months after you claim to have stayed. As always, if our guests, (who have actually booked and stayed with us) have a concern we will always do our upmost to address the issues and where possable rectify them. More 

Buckie, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This hotel is meant to be bespoke ...rundown is a better description. The welcome we got was cheerful and polite . I think it was the manager . He never explained any thing to us or gave directions to any of the hotel facilities . Only your room is that way . We managed to navigate our way to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

A bit tired in terms of décor. My room in particular was very cold, with a very old heater on the wall. Managed to search out a very old and tired looking blanket to use to keep warm. The bar area is lovely, nice and warm and a great space so I spent the majority of my night sitting in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We stayed here a few years ago and had some good food so thought we would give it a go. Having been underwhelmed by our greeting we chose our meal and ordered from a very nice young waitress. The older bar staff were not quite as welcoming and my request for the same glass to be used for my second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have an on-going refurbishment programme which i am sure will address any concerns More 

Lac Du Bonnet
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We had a two night stay here while on a bus tour. The room we had was old but clean and quite large. Bathroom was very large and, although outdated, fixtures worked. Window would not close but rad kept bathroom fairly warm. Our "laid on" supper was adequate and breakfast was good. The staff appeared attentive though there were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have an on-going refurbishment programm which i am sure will address your concerns More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

My partner and I stayed here recently, and having travelled a long way we both were looking forward to a few bespoke luxuries as advertised on the website. We were greatly dissapointed by the hotel from our arrival until our departure!! After parking our car in the car park around the back, we made our way through the maze to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and wish you had told us at the time in order that we could have made an effort to rectify your disatsifaction. I would disagree that there is a mis-match of furniture and decor however would like to point out that we do in fact have... More 

Aberdeen
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I attended this hotel whilst on business. I found the hotel was very dated and of a very poor standard, it also unfortunately had an musty smell. The staff seemed unresponsive and fairly uninterested in their guests, whilst the bedding was clean in my room the door lock did not work if you twisted the handle, the towel was stained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on Trip Advisor. I have taken on board all your comments and addressed those with the appropriate members of staff. I can only apologise that we did not meet your expectations and assure you that your comments are not the norm from the 1200 guests we have per week. Should you be in Thurso in the... More 

Telford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

The Hotel has a good history but is well past its best. It is a very large Hotel but it is sad that only a limited part of it is now in use. The whole Hotel is in need of refurbishment, maybe that's why its not being fully used. The standard of food is obviously aimed at over night coach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Received a warm welcome from the lady at reception. The hotel is quite old fashioned. Fair enough as being too modern would be at odds with the rest of building. Hotels in other countries off the retro look. Got to my room. Pretty tired. Chipped paint on the doors and skirting. Pretty small. Very strange locking mechanism on the door.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

I take on board your comments and would like to assure you that we have an on-going refurbishment programme that is addressing your concerns re the tiredness of your room. Unfortunatley we are situated on the main road and i am sorry there was a disturbance to your sleep caused by this. I do hope that if in Thurso you... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Stayed here for one night in August and that was enough for me and my family. The receptionist could not answer our simple questions I.e. what is checking out time and breakfast. The rooms where ok in size. Curtains were to small for windows. Showers were hot and cold never stabilised the temperature. Beds were small. I had very bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I do find it amazing that my receptionists, who have been here for many years do not know the times of checkout or breakfast considering they are asked many times on a daily basis and are able to answer everyone else. I would dispute that the curtains are to small for... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Royal Hotel, Caithness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel, Caithness

Address: Traill St, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Thurso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel, Caithness 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Hotel, Caithness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel, Caithness Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel Thurso
Royal Hotel, Caithness Thurso, Scotland

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay