We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel, Caithness

Traill St, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Hotel, Caithness
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Hotel, Caithness
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    49
    32
    25
See reviews for
10
51
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you are expecting a sleek, modern hotel, then this isn't for you. But if you want decent, clean room near the center of town, with a good breakfast to start your day, with a reception staff that was helpful and knows the area ~ this should work for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Did the job, just, saved by the breakfast. Tired, tatty, maze like, won't be back in a hurry. Parking was not great. When I rang and spoke to the receptionist I was given the impression that it was well run and friendly, I was fooled.

Was this review helpful? Yes
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is homely and our room warm and cosy. We found the staff were friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast is excellent and the plates warm enough to cause full thickness burns on prolonged contact with flesh. The Royal is a great centre from which to explore the region with a great Indian, Chinese and Fish and Chip shop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brit in Gulf
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In recent months, I have tried about 5 low-value hotel/guest houses in the North Highlands in single rooms. All 5 were acceptable for the price but the Royal Hotel was overall the winner for me and I had a most comfortable stay The room had everything I needed; it was clean, warm and perfectly located for my onward journey. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An old fashioned hotel that has been in Thurso for decades so you have to accept that a few things might squeak. I enjoyed my one night stay here. From the quaint revolving door to the cheery woman on reception and the great nights sleep followed by a gut busting fry up for breakfast. We were in room 2 which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Me and my father stayed at this hotel. We had previously booked and payed for the room so had no choice but to stay or else lose our money. We parked in the rear carpark and came in through the back door.....the whole place looked dirty and old, we actually thought about just walking back out and actually that's what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Many thanks for commenting on Trip Advisor though i find it strange that you have decided to do so 5 months after you claim to have stayed. As always, if our guests, (who have actually booked and stayed with us) have a concern we will always do our upmost to address the issues and where possable rectify them. More 

Buckie, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This hotel is meant to be bespoke ...rundown is a better description. The welcome we got was cheerful and polite . I think it was the manager . He never explained any thing to us or gave directions to any of the hotel facilities . Only your room is that way . We managed to navigate our way to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

A bit tired in terms of décor. My room in particular was very cold, with a very old heater on the wall. Managed to search out a very old and tired looking blanket to use to keep warm. The bar area is lovely, nice and warm and a great space so I spent the majority of my night sitting in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We stayed here a few years ago and had some good food so thought we would give it a go. Having been underwhelmed by our greeting we chose our meal and ordered from a very nice young waitress. The older bar staff were not quite as welcoming and my request for the same glass to be used for my second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have an on-going refurbishment programme which i am sure will address any concerns More 

Lac Du Bonnet
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We had a two night stay here while on a bus tour. The room we had was old but clean and quite large. Bathroom was very large and, although outdated, fixtures worked. Window would not close but rad kept bathroom fairly warm. Our "laid on" supper was adequate and breakfast was good. The staff appeared attentive though there were not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We have an on-going refurbishment programm which i am sure will address your concerns More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question