We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Hotel, Caithness

Traill St, Thurso KW14 8EH, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royal Hotel, Caithness
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Royal Hotel, Caithness
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    51
    33
    25
See reviews for
10
53
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (142)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in Thurso for 2 nights in the Royal Hotel. Very big hotel, many corridors to get lost in. We stayed on the second floor. Room was comfortable and warm, quiet night. Shower was rather weak, but adequate. Room was clean. Hotel was interesting, looked like it had last been renovated in the 1970s. Breakfast was alright. I would use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for the weekend recently as we were attending a nearby festival. Check in is easy and the hotel staff are all very pleasant. The hotel rooms are basic but adequate. The electric shower does not control very well and is very hot or very cold. The room we had overlooked a busy junction, so getting a good nights sleep... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shetland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've just returned from my 12th annual visit to the Royal Hotel in Thurso and as always I thoroughly enjoyed it. I look forward to returning to the hotel each year as I think it's absolutely brilliant! The rooms are always immaculately clean each with an en- suite, TV, tea and coffee making facilities and complimentary toiletries in the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was terrible very old fashioned food terrible dinning room was very cold it really needs a BI GMAKEOVER .Positive thing the receptionist and the staff were great We would never go back.we had an alarm that went of before 2 am never saw any staff till I was outside people crowing the front door they should have beenn told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are expecting a sleek, modern hotel, then this isn't for you. But if you want decent, clean room near the center of town, with a good breakfast to start your day, with a reception staff that was helpful and knows the area ~ this should work for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did the job, just, saved by the breakfast. Tired, tatty, maze like, won't be back in a hurry. Parking was not great. When I rang and spoke to the receptionist I was given the impression that it was well run and friendly, I was fooled.

Was this review helpful? Yes
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is homely and our room warm and cosy. We found the staff were friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfast is excellent and the plates warm enough to cause full thickness burns on prolonged contact with flesh. The Royal is a great centre from which to explore the region with a great Indian, Chinese and Fish and Chip shop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brit in Gulf
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

In recent months, I have tried about 5 low-value hotel/guest houses in the North Highlands in single rooms. All 5 were acceptable for the price but the Royal Hotel was overall the winner for me and I had a most comfortable stay The room had everything I needed; it was clean, warm and perfectly located for my onward journey. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

An old fashioned hotel that has been in Thurso for decades so you have to accept that a few things might squeak. I enjoyed my one night stay here. From the quaint revolving door to the cheery woman on reception and the great nights sleep followed by a gut busting fry up for breakfast. We were in room 2 which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Me and my father stayed at this hotel. We had previously booked and payed for the room so had no choice but to stay or else lose our money. We parked in the rear carpark and came in through the back door.....the whole place looked dirty and old, we actually thought about just walking back out and actually that's what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamish M, General Manager at Royal Hotel, Caithness, responded to this review

Many thanks for commenting on Trip Advisor though i find it strange that you have decided to do so 5 months after you claim to have stayed. As always, if our guests, (who have actually booked and stayed with us) have a concern we will always do our upmost to address the issues and where possable rectify them. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question