We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Aviemore hotels

The Aviemore Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Aviemore Inn to your Saves list
The Aviemore Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
50%
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Aviemore
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Wendy Q Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (116)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (20)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    29
    24
    5
See reviews for
26
43
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirriemuir, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here late June 2014. Our first problem was trying to get into the room. Having gone to reception in the main building, you are sent off to the hotel that ajoins the main building. There are no staff on the reception there and so when our key did not work, we had to go back to the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is great. However, the hotel itself is poor. There were holes in the bathroom wall and damp mould on the ceiling. The bar floor was filthy even though it was empty. The hotel really needs a makeover. That said, the staff were really helpful and friendly. There is plenty to do in the complex and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with your accommodation during your stay. I do wish you would have taken the time out to inform us whilst staying in order for us to see what alterntives would be available for you. Thank you for... More

Navan Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here for one night in May 2014, clean, comfortable and good value at what worked out at just £27 pp for 3 of us in two rooms. Staff were professional and friendly. Breakfast was really good. Would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it of good value. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff - it is something that we work very hard on. We look forward to welcome you back again, Best regards, The General Manager More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We booked the aviemore inn as there was an offer on. The room was lovely. Snug but comfortable. Unfortunately we were right next to the lift AND a door. There was also a locked door into an adjoining room that you could hear a whisper through. It was very noisy. Our 3 year old wouldn't settle but the staff moved... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy that you found the room comfortable and that the staff were helpful with your room move. We hope you get the opportunity to welcome you back again, Best regards, The General Manager More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for couple of nights for a weekend getaway. Rooms very basic and in need of a refurb but beds were comfy and bathroom spacious enough. The shower had one of those plastic curtains that stuck to you when you were showering yuck ! The Italian restaurant on the ground floor was good and the staff delightful Two nights was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy to hear that you found the room accommodating for your stay with us - and your comments regarding the shower have been passed on. It is great thay you had the opportunity to try the Italian restaurant and enjoyed it. We hope to get the... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

I came back to the Inn with a couple of friends for a two night break. I paid the same as I paid a year ago for the more upmarket Highlands at the same Aviemore resort. My friends and I booked separately and I sent an email asking if we could be put near each other. The email was acknowledged... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with your recent stay with us. I apologise about the confusion regarding your breakfast and that you were left feeling dissapointed with what was on offer. Please note that we have taken all your feedback on board... More

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We decided to stop of here for a night to spend time in Aviemore. The hotel is basic and a bit old fashioned however for a short stay this isn't really a problem. When we stayed the hotel seemed a bit desserted which did make it quiet. The good points are the breakfast, the facilities on site and the price.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. I am happy that you found the resort accommodating for your stay and enjoyed the breakfast that we offer. We hope to welcome you back again, Best regards, The General Manager More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed in a twin room at the Aviemore Inn recently with a friend for one night. Our room was basic, with outdated looking furniture and an old tv but it had everything we needed and was clean so it was what I expected for the price. The room had a lovely scenic view and though I noticed that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time and effort taken into writing a review with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the resort accommodating and of good value. It is great that you had the chance to use the leisure facilities whilst staying with us and enjoyed them. We hope to welcome you... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night on business. It's clearly in need of an update. It looks like it's not been touched since the 80's. On a positive note, I had a very quiet night (although room was a tad cold) and breakfast was decent. All staff were polite and friendly. I'm back that way in March and will probably stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am happy to hear that you had a plesant stay with us and found the resort accommodating. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff I am happy to hear that they made you feel welcome. Please note that your comments regarding the decor has been taken... More

Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

When I arrived with my family two girls and my wife on approaching the hotel I was filled with disappointment from the start. The place looked like a mix of a bad travel lodge and a Butlins. My wife and girls went to see what the room was like as I called the main reception to confirm that I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the accommodation in the Aviemore Inn, but however happy that it was solved with your upgrade to the Highlands Hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again, Best regards, The General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Aviemore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Aviemore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviemore Inn

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviemore Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Aviemore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Aviemore Inn
Aviemore b&b
The Aviemore Inn Scotland

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
62

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer