We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Aviemore hotels

The Aviemore Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Aviemore Inn to your Saves list
The Aviemore Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
52%
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Aviemore
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Foodaholic01 Glasgow, United Kingdom
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    42
    21
    22
    4
See reviews for
22
39
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in a twin room at the Aviemore Inn recently with a friend for one night. Our room was basic, with outdated looking furniture and an old tv but it had everything we needed and was clean so it was what I expected for the price. The room had a lovely scenic view and though I noticed that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for one night on business. It's clearly in need of an update. It looks like it's not been touched since the 80's. On a positive note, I had a very quiet night (although room was a tad cold) and breakfast was decent. All staff were polite and friendly. I'm back that way in March and will probably stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am happy to hear that you had a plesant stay with us and found the resort accommodating. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff I am happy to hear that they made you feel welcome. Please note that your comments regarding the decor has been taken... More

Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

When I arrived with my family two girls and my wife on approaching the hotel I was filled with disappointment from the start. The place looked like a mix of a bad travel lodge and a Butlins. My wife and girls went to see what the room was like as I called the main reception to confirm that I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the accommodation in the Aviemore Inn, but however happy that it was solved with your upgrade to the Highlands Hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again, Best regards, The General Manager More

Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed one night on a travel Scotland trip on my own. When I turned up to book in the reception door was open but all the lights were off. Confused with no signs, i drove around the corner into the main car park of Macdonalds car park and went into their reception. Here they said you are at the correct... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to share your resort experience with us on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your contructive feedback given regarding certain aspects of the resort - please note that you comments and concerns have been passed on to the relevant departments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the resort and... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First of all the 'professional' photographs listed on both MacDonald Resort & Trip Advisor are misleading. The room does not look like this at ALL. The room I had looked like an old people's home. Dated furniture, old & solid wooden headboards that looked like the tops of coffins on the bed - don't get me started on the ultra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband and 2 year old daughter. We had a double and single bed in our room and the beds were very comfy and clean. Room was basic but that's all we needed and we really couldn't complain at £67 per night. We have tea making facilities and a tv which had channels 1-5 and itv2.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the time taken to write a review and share your resort experience, as we always appreciate guest feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with your family and that you had a good time. I am glad that you had the chance to use our leisure facilities and enjoyed them. Please... More

Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Booked through supabreaks for 2 nights good clean rooms could do with updating but good value for price and good service and facilities on site including pool with steam room and sauna also try the laggan bar and aspects restaurant really good ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear EGT1979 Thank you for your review; here at the resort we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and had the chance to use the leisure facilities as well as the dining on site. Please note that your comments regarding the rooms has been taken on board. We look forward... More

Crieff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After reading many of the reviews on here, I was really apprehensive about staying in this hotel. I don't know if it was because i was expecting it to be awful, but it wasn't as bad as I expected. On the plus side,the housekeeping dept do an excellent job as the white towels and white cotton sheets were immaculately clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Babymac65 Thank you for sharing you experience with us on Trip Advisor – all guest feedback I always much appreciated as it helps us to continuously grow and develop. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the value good – thank you for your kind words in regards to our housekeeping staff, I know... More

England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Macdonald - the first night at the Aviemore Inn. Check in is at the resort centre, which is a newly built building in the middle of the resort, gives you lots of confidence. Unfortunately this does not extend to the room we were given at the Aviemore Inn. The Aviemore Inn is in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ash_Black Thank you for the time taken to write a review, we always appreciate it as guest feedback is very important to us. I am sorry that you felt let down with the hotel during your stay. Our continuous investment into the resort will guarantee that we can offer the best available guest services. Please note that your comments... More

Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is good value for money. The rooms are clean and for guests there is an array of past times on site gym, pool and so forth. The staff are nice and friendly and breakfast is very good and the chef is on the ball as are most of the staff in the dining area. Good experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at The Aviemore Inn, responded to this review

Dear Goldfinch1745 Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and had the chance to enjoy all the facilities that we offer onsite. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Best regards, Hanna Wolimbwa Guest Services More

Been to The Aviemore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviemore Inn

Also Known As:
The Aviemore Hotel Aviemore
Aviemore Inn
Aviemore b&b
The Aviemore Inn Scotland
Address: Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviemore Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Aviemore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aviemore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.