We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Aviemore hotels

Aviemore Academy Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore Highland Resort | Invernesshire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Aviemore Academy Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aviemore Academy Hotel to your Saves list
43%
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
2012_Gaz Scotland
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    45
    35
    24
    23
See reviews for
88
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (139)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here in the eighties and had a feeling of deja vu on my return. Whilst the reception area of the resort is very good, this does not forewarn you of the 'quality' of the Academy Hotel. This place is pretty poor. The reception when we arrived was empty and the walk to the rooms resembled something from Cell Block... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
40 hotel reviews
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked into the hotel not that long ago and expected a lot more for a 3 star hotel, When walking down the corridor towards the room the smell was not very nice, there was a dark patch in the corridor no sure what it was. When walking to my room there seems to be towels along the corridor and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor and for highlighting the issues that you encountered. Please be assured that this is not our normal standard and I can assure you that this will be addressed with the operations team. Kind regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More

Cupar
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place has seen better days. Substandard and poor quality. We arrived at main reception and stood to be checked in for about 10 minutes while one wee lassie ran about daft but in the office behind was a number of staff. She then told us just go to the reception at the Academy and found what looked to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. I can assure you that this is not the normal standard we strive for in our daily routines and is certainly not what we are all trained for. I am pleased to announce that in January the Academy Hotel and the Aviemore Inn... More

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel 6 times in the past 7 years and in that time I don't think it has had a single penny spent on it. We stay on a very busy weekend so you know things are going to be a bit stretched but the problems go beyond the amount of guests. We had an awful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am pleased to announce that the Academy Hotel and the Aviemore Inn will close in January 2015 and there will be over £5 million worth of investment to bring both hotels up to 4 star hotels. We are hoping to have both hotels fully... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

So, we were looking forward to a stay at a lovely looking resort. We were disappointed. On arrival it all looks super, but a LOT of cracks started to appear. We were checked into the 'Academy Hotel' - A second class (3*) block of rooms on the edge of the resort. Not a great start. - The rooms, although sizeable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you had a number of issues during your stay. Here at the resort we welcome good and bad feedback as it is such a valuable way for us to monitor our operation and make improvements where necessary. Since your review I... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely discussed, where do i start, bath had a huge blue stain and still running while shower is on, extractor fan not working, bed is sunk in the middle couldnt sleep all night, apart from checking in, no reception or staff at the front all day or night, dont feel safe at all. Should have paid little more for hilton.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your recent stay with us. We always aim for the highest possible guest service and take it seriously when guests find this not to be the case. I do wish you would have taken the time to express... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Booked a room at sister hotel was told overbooked so was sent here, dreadful looking building looks tired both inside and out, room not worth money, complained to manager about this, no real apology just told take it or leave it, had to find alternative place to stay at 9pm, third poor experience with McDonald hotel think long and hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the tie time taken to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed after your recent stay with us. We always strive for the best possible guest service and I apologise that you did not find this to be the case whilst staying with us. If you do wish... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

First of all we booked the Academy as we just needed a bed and it seemed reasonable. We had no idea it was on a "resort" and had some trouble finding the place due to lack of signs. Got there and there was no receptionist at the academy so had to go to the main centre to check in. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taking to write a review. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel and location accommodating for your stay. Please note that your feedback regarding the Academy Hotel has been taken on board. We hope to welcome you back in the future and perphaps your will have the opportunity to make... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We booked a long weekend at the Academy Hotel in April. When we arrived the lovely lady at the reception desk could not find our booking which was a bonus to us as we got upgraded to a 3 bedroom lodge, as we had our 3 year old granddaughter with us it gave us more space and she had more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to write a review - it is aways highly appreciated. I am sorry that you were left feeling dissapointed with the beds provided - please note that your comments have been taken on board. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful weekend whilst staying with us - thank you... More

Fife, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The macdonald resort is looking good but this hotel is definitely the poor relative of the rest of the hotels. Our first room was 3008 on the ground floor and unfortunately smelled of damp, windows don't open and no aircon. The receptionist Claire was lovely and really helpful and found us another room 3323 which had a window that opened... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed the room you stayed in and that you were woken up early in the morning. Thank you for your kind words regarding the breakfast that we offer - if always tends to be popular with our guests. We look forward to welcome you back... More

Do you own or manage Aviemore Academy Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aviemore Academy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Academy Hotel

Address: Aviemore Highland Resort | Invernesshire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aviemore Academy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aviemore Academy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviemore Academy Hotel Scotland

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Aviemore Academy Hotel

Enlarge Map