We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Aviemore hotels

Aviemore Academy Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore Highland Resort | Invernesshire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Aviemore Academy Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aviemore Academy Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
moople Paisley, United Kingdom
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    46
    38
    24
    24
See reviews for
91
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (37)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable spacious room.The room was lovely and clean and a well fitted enough suite .This hotel is good value for money the public areas could do with updating.A good buffet breakfast sets you up for the day .

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More

Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disappointed with receptionist to start with, having booked 2 double rooms including breakfast @ £103 each, for 2 adults and 1 adult and 1 child (17 and under) the receptionist wouldn't accept this and said I'd only booked for 3! Therefore I would have to pay £15 extra for my sons breakfast, couldn't understand this having paid exactly the same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue on check in. To allow us to investigate further can I please ask you to contact Lindsey Randall, Front of House Operations Manager, on lindsey.randall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk. Kind regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Stayed for a night in the Academy and had a room on the ground floor in the annexe section. The room was just what I would expect from a 3 star hotel. The corridor leading to the room was a bit basic- painted breeze block, but the room was fine. Cleanliness was up to standard and the bed was comfortable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you found the cleanliness to be up to standard. As part of the refurbishment of the Academy and the requirements of a 4 star hotel I am pleased to announce that breakfast as of April 2015 will be served... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

this is our 3rd time to the academy hotel, I can see from feedback that they are due to close and refurb the hotel and not before time, its a shame that it doesnt reflect in the price as it is very run down for a steep nightly rate Our room was clean which was the main thing, breakfast great,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that your children enjoyed their visit to the new Children's Activities Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back to the newly refurbished and newly named Macdonald Aviemore Hotel. Kind regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014 via mobile

How anyone can charge near £200 for 2 nights in this hole is a mystery. The owners/investors seriously need to spend a night in room 3338 and genuinely ask themselves if they would be happy if they spent their hard earned cash to sleep there. Am I not right in saying a holiday in a hotel should be a stress.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. The Academy Hotel is rated as a three star Hotel and the current physical condition of the Hotel, as well as the rates charged, reflect the criteria required for this rating. However acting on customer feedback such as yours, I am pleased to advise that... More

Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Stayed here in the eighties and had a feeling of deja vu on my return. Whilst the reception area of the resort is very good, this does not forewarn you of the 'quality' of the Academy Hotel. This place is pretty poor. The reception when we arrived was empty and the walk to the rooms resembled something from Cell Block... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. On resort we have a range of 3 star and 4 star hotels. The Academy Hotel is currently one of our 3 star hotels. Acting on customer feedback the Academy will close in January and reopen in April 2015 as a 4 star family hotel.... More

Scotland
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
41 hotel reviews
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I booked into the hotel not that long ago and expected a lot more for a 3 star hotel, When walking down the corridor towards the room the smell was not very nice, there was a dark patch in the corridor no sure what it was. When walking to my room there seems to be towels along the corridor and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor and for highlighting the issues that you encountered. Please be assured that this is not our normal standard and I can assure you that this will be addressed with the operations team. Kind regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More

Cupar
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This place has seen better days. Substandard and poor quality. We arrived at main reception and stood to be checked in for about 10 minutes while one wee lassie ran about daft but in the office behind was a number of staff. She then told us just go to the reception at the Academy and found what looked to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you encountered a number of issues during your stay. I can assure you that this is not the normal standard we strive for in our daily routines and is certainly not what we are all trained for. I am pleased to announce that in January the Academy Hotel and the Aviemore Inn... More

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 6 times in the past 7 years and in that time I don't think it has had a single penny spent on it. We stay on a very busy weekend so you know things are going to be a bit stretched but the problems go beyond the amount of guests. We had an awful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am pleased to announce that the Academy Hotel and the Aviemore Inn will close in January 2015 and there will be over £5 million worth of investment to bring both hotels up to 4 star hotels. We are hoping to have both hotels fully... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

So, we were looking forward to a stay at a lovely looking resort. We were disappointed. On arrival it all looks super, but a LOT of cracks started to appear. We were checked into the 'Academy Hotel' - A second class (3*) block of rooms on the edge of the resort. Not a great start. - The rooms, although sizeable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you had a number of issues during your stay. Here at the resort we welcome good and bad feedback as it is such a valuable way for us to monitor our operation and make improvements where necessary. Since your review I... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Aviemore Academy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Academy Hotel

Address: Aviemore Highland Resort | Invernesshire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aviemore Academy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aviemore Academy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviemore Academy Hotel Scotland

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay