We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Aviemore hotels

Aviemore Academy Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore Highland Resort | Invernesshire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Aviemore Academy Hotel to your Saves list
Aviemore Academy Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
44%
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Aviemore
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014
Liam B
  • Overview
  • Reviews (136)
  • Photos (18)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    34
    22
    22
See reviews for
89
16
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So, we were looking forward to a stay at a lovely looking resort. We were disappointed. On arrival it all looks super, but a LOT of cracks started to appear. We were checked into the 'Academy Hotel' - A second class (3*) block of rooms on the edge of the resort. Not a great start. - The rooms, although sizeable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you had a number of issues during your stay. Here at the resort we welcome good and bad feedback as it is such a valuable way for us to monitor our operation and make improvements where necessary. Since your review I... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely discussed, where do i start, bath had a huge blue stain and still running while shower is on, extractor fan not working, bed is sunk in the middle couldnt sleep all night, apart from checking in, no reception or staff at the front all day or night, dont feel safe at all. Should have paid little more for hilton.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your recent stay with us. We always aim for the highest possible guest service and take it seriously when guests find this not to be the case. I do wish you would have taken the time to express... More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I loved it so much brings a tear to my eye. The food was so scrummy in my tummy. The room was so lovely amd the service was excellent. We enjoyed our stay in aviemore and obv iosly will go back to the resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to share your resort experience. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us - I know that the staff will be happy to hear that they made you feel welcome and were helpful. We look forward to welcome you back again soon. Best regards, The General... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Booked a room at sister hotel was told overbooked so was sent here, dreadful looking building looks tired both inside and out, room not worth money, complained to manager about this, no real apology just told take it or leave it, had to find alternative place to stay at 9pm, third poor experience with McDonald hotel think long and hard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the tie time taken to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed after your recent stay with us. We always strive for the best possible guest service and I apologise that you did not find this to be the case whilst staying with us. If you do wish... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

First of all we booked the Academy as we just needed a bed and it seemed reasonable. We had no idea it was on a "resort" and had some trouble finding the place due to lack of signs. Got there and there was no receptionist at the academy so had to go to the main centre to check in. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taking to write a review. I am happy to hear that you found the hotel and location accommodating for your stay. Please note that your feedback regarding the Academy Hotel has been taken on board. We hope to welcome you back in the future and perphaps your will have the opportunity to make... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We booked a long weekend at the Academy Hotel in April. When we arrived the lovely lady at the reception desk could not find our booking which was a bonus to us as we got upgraded to a 3 bedroom lodge, as we had our 3 year old granddaughter with us it gave us more space and she had more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to write a review - it is aways highly appreciated. I am sorry that you were left feeling dissapointed with the beds provided - please note that your comments have been taken on board. I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful weekend whilst staying with us - thank you... More

Fife, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The macdonald resort is looking good but this hotel is definitely the poor relative of the rest of the hotels. Our first room was 3008 on the ground floor and unfortunately smelled of damp, windows don't open and no aircon. The receptionist Claire was lovely and really helpful and found us another room 3323 which had a window that opened... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed the room you stayed in and that you were woken up early in the morning. Thank you for your kind words regarding the breakfast that we offer - if always tends to be popular with our guests. We look forward to welcome you back... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I booked the Academy hotel in Aviemore for one night to break up the journey between Inverness and Glasgow with our young kids. Didn't arrive at the hotel till 6ish, had let the kids sleep on way thinking that having a swim in the pool to tire them out but when enquire about it was told it had shut early... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us - it is great that you had the chance to make use of the leisure facilities as well and that the kids loved them. We hope to welcome you back again soon, Best regards, The... More

scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Thought we would give the macdonald resort another go and stayed in a different hotel on this visit but I am afraid it still didn't impress us at all. The whole hotel is very tired and in desperate need of an revamp. Heavy doors coming from lift area are very noisy in the rooms and they too were pretty shabby.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with your stay. Please note that all your comments and feedback regarding the Academy Hotel have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant departments within the resort. I am happy to hear that you... More

Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. We thought we got excellent value for money. Main Reception Staff were very welcoming. Breakfast was excellent and the Staff were very smartly dressed, extremely pleasant and helpful. Great mountain walk from Hotel and convenient to walk for meals/drinks out. My teenagers were a little disappointed with the pool (waves/slide a bit tame for them)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Aviemore Academy Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to write a reivew. I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with your family. It is great that you had the chance to make use of the facilities and activites that we offer onsite and enjoyed them. Thank you for you wonderful comments regarding our staff -... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Aviemore Academy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Aviemore Academy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviemore Academy Hotel

Address: Aviemore Highland Resort | Invernesshire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aviemore Academy Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aviemore Academy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviemore Academy Hotel Scotland

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Aviemore with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
102

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aviemore Academy Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer