We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

| Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    50
    38
    25
    25
See reviews for
94
18
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (150)
  • Mar-May only
    (40)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
scotland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been going to Aviemore for years but never stayed in this hotel. We have always stayed at the 4* Highland Resort. That said The Academy has un-gone some renovation work to bring it up to a good standard. To be fair it had needed it for some time, as previously it had started to look a bit tired.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

My two kids and I recently stayed overnight at this hotel and had mixed reviews. Firstly, the reception staff were most friendly and instantly made you feel welcome. The housekeeping staff should make more of an effort to acknowledge guests and smile when approached. Secondly, the breakfast experience is excellent. Everything from location, quality of food and service was first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

an amazing break in a great hotel organised by Ski Norwest. Cannot rate either company enough. The hotel complex is amazing and Ski Norwest were a pleasure to deal with and book through. Will most definetly be going back and booking through ski norwest

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass the comments on to the team who will be delighted to hear them. We at the resort aim to go above and beyond to exceed our guest’s expectations. I look forward to welcoming... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Nice hotel in a great location. Our room was clean and well maintained although one day it wasn't serviced and we had to go to reception for milk as no one answered the phone. The food was plentiful and lovely, hot and cold buffet breakfast with someone to meet and greet you and show you to your table. The facilities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you had an enjoyable experience at the Resort. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the Italian restaurant being closed for refurbishment. At all times we ensure that they are three dining options available on Resort to compensate for this being closed.... More 

Derby
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

We stayed in this hotel 1st January for two nights. I booked through their website which detailed the hotels and facilities as top notch. We were looking for a high quality stay to rewind after the hectic Christmas break. We had never stayed at a Macdonald hotel before and we were in the mind set that it would be a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your kind review on Trip Advisor. Our aim here at the resort is to achieve and exceed our guest expectations, please accept my apology that you felt this was not forthcoming during your most recent visit. I would very much like us to be able to have the opportunity to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

This hotel is in an amazing location and has great facilities. Despite this, again on our second stay at this property, the rooms were freezing! Last time stayed in one of the 4 star property and could not fault the cleanliness or state of repair. This time was a family get-away so went 3star. Was disappointed by poor state of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations. The Academy Hotel is our 3 star property however this does not excuse poor maintenance and housekeeping therefore please accept my personal apology regarding the issues in your room. This year we are... More 

Paisley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Comfortable spacious room.The room was lovely and clean and a well fitted enough suite .This hotel is good value for money the public areas could do with updating.A good buffet breakfast sets you up for the day .

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More 

Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Disappointed with receptionist to start with, having booked 2 double rooms including breakfast @ £103 each, for 2 adults and 1 adult and 1 child (17 and under) the receptionist wouldn't accept this and said I'd only booked for 3! Therefore I would have to pay £15 extra for my sons breakfast, couldn't understand this having paid exactly the same... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue on check in. To allow us to investigate further can I please ask you to contact Lindsey Randall, Front of House Operations Manager, on lindsey.randall@macdonald-hotels.co.uk. Kind regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Stayed for a night in the Academy and had a room on the ground floor in the annexe section. The room was just what I would expect from a 3 star hotel. The corridor leading to the room was a bit basic- painted breeze block, but the room was fine. Cleanliness was up to standard and the bed was comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you found the cleanliness to be up to standard. As part of the refurbishment of the Academy and the requirements of a 4 star hotel I am pleased to announce that breakfast as of April 2015 will be served... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

this is our 3rd time to the academy hotel, I can see from feedback that they are due to close and refurb the hotel and not before time, its a shame that it doesnt reflect in the price as it is very run down for a steep nightly rate Our room was clean which was the main thing, breakfast great,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Academy Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that your children enjoyed their visit to the new Children's Activities Centre. I look forward to welcoming you back to the newly refurbished and newly named Macdonald Aviemore Hotel. Kind regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities