We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    32
    29
    30
    23
See reviews for
19
41
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (124)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a dump. Beds that are old and very narrow and single. TV so old you could not watch any channels because of the snow effect on each channel. Carpet worn, wallpaper peeling off. Needs a complete overhaul. There other hotels in the same area owned by the same people try and get into one of those. Found a nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Somerville, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights here as part of a large group. We were left to find our own rooms. Rooms were well appointed and clean and personally appealed to me. Breakfast meals were as one would expect with a full range but layout does not work for large groups resulting in long queues. Some food ran short and were not quickly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

I have never done this before, ie writing a review after staying somewhere professionally. On arrival to this hotel, we had been at two hotels precious and this was the third hotel in four different stays. I spend some free time driving coaches doing tours of my beautiful country Scotland. We had been a 2 star hotel in Oban for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Hotel looks great from the website, but in reality its only very average. Rooms are nice but wifi very poor, no satelite tv, just the basic tv and radio which in this day and age is poor, as most new buy tv's have at least got freeview. Breakfast is very poor when the restaurant is busy as not enough food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry that your stay was not as you expected. Our primary aim here at the Macdonald Aviemore Resort is to achieve and exceed our guests' expectations. I am surprised by the issues you experienced with the WIFI as the internet speed in... More 

Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We stayed at this hotel with a Trafalgar Tour group. It was the least desirable hotel of all the ones we stayed in. It started with checking in and there is no one at the front desk...we have to wait 10 minutes...then we wanted some laundry done and we were told we had to bring the laundry to another building....we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay with us and will ensure I discuss the comments with the team regarding the service. The Strathspey Hotel, unlike the other hotels based on Resort, is rated as a 3 star hotel.... More 

Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

A friend and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and found the experience quite baffling. First thing to say is that this is like no other MacDonald hotel in the country. Even their 3* hotels are generally a pretty good standard- this one is the exception. To put you off the scent, they conveniently renamed the poorly reputed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this were not forthcoming during your most recent visit. This year we are investing £5.5 million... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We had 4 rooms booked out here in feb 2015 only 1 room out of the 4 was modernized . The rest of the rooms were a bit dissapointing . Reception wasnt always manned . Breakfast was very nice . Enjoyed our stay here ,

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed in some of your rooms you had with us, however I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your over all stay here at the Resort. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest... More 

Staffordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I had looked at this hotel on line and as it was a Macdonald hotel, I expected a good standard.... Oops, how wrong I was. We were SO disappointed with our room and the public areas ie. 'Lounge' areas, were non existent. The only seating area was an area off the dining room with just tables and chairs. No sofas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however I am happy to hear that the staff were friendly and accommodating. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this were not... More 

Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Although there have been a few negative reviews for this hotel, we found it to be good. The hotel is in need of a refurbishment, but it was very clean and the beds were the comfiest we have slept in for quite a while. The room was a good size and the en-suite adequate. The buffet breakfast was very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We at the resort aim to go above and beyond to exceed our guest’s expectations. Look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We travelled to this hotel as part of the Statesman Rail first class trip. This hotel could not provide us with coffee at lunchtime on a Sunday - it was stated that they had just thrown the last away. Why they could not make a fresh batch is beyond me. Staff were nowhere to be seen, and it lacked the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this were not forthcoming during your most recent visit. This year we are investing £5.5 million... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel
Macdonald Highlands Hotel
#7 of 14 in Aviemore
3.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 stars 899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#3 of 14 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay