We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Aviemore hotels

Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Brahma762
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    24
    21
    22
    19
See reviews for
16
25
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelling as a family of three, we spent two nights at this hotel - on 14th and 15th June, 2014 and were quite taken in by the charm of Aviemor and in particular, the hotel. Great service, wonderfully quiet rooms, quaint entrance to the hotel and ample parking. In fact the parking is so large it can easily accommodate over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Without a doubt, this was the best year yet for a Christmas weekend away to see Santa at the Macdonald Aviemore resort. There was so much for the children this year, from the amazing elves, in particular Basil who ran a number of sessions from decorating stockings to designing t-shirts, to the fabulous grotto, it was truely outstanding. We stayed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review on Trip Advisor. It is our primary aim here at the Macdonald Aviemore Resort to achieve and exceed our guest expectations. I am pleased to read that you found it to be the best year yet for a Santa break. The entertainment team have been doing... More 

newcastle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just returned from a short stay at the Four Seasons Hotel. We had 2 nights bed and breakfast at a great price and considering what we paid it was great value for money. We stayed in room 4108 which overlooked the car park and had a view of the mountains. The room, although in need of refurbishment, was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More 

UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

I first stayed here 6 years ago. Unfortunately it looks like nothing has been done to it in 6 years. The hotel was perfectly nice and clean etc, just very tired and long overdue for a make over. Breakfast had the usual choices of cereal, fruit, hot stuff and croissants. The choice was perhaps the worst I've experienced in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to contact us regarding your recent stay. Our primary aim hereis to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations and I am very sorry that we appear to have failed on this occasion. Please be assured that the comments you have raised have been taken very seriously. The Strathspey Hotel is... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with friends as we were in Aviemore for a night out. Checked in at the main resort reception and quoted a higher price than on my confirmation email. After some discussion the receptionist agreed to match my confirmation email. On confirming the original booking I was told this hotel was new to the McDonald resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Firstly please accept my apologises on the wrong information that you received on check in - the hotel is not new to Macdonald Hotels. Our primary aim is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations and I am very sorry that we appear to have... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We booked the Strathspey hotel at the Aviemore resort and when we arrived we were directed to this hotel. We wondered if we had been moved hotel due to busy school holidays but it turns out that the Four Seasons Hotel is the Strathspey. We reckon this is to stop guests looking at the bad reviews ahead of going!! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincere apologises for the issues you experienced during your stay regarding breakfast. I can assure you that this has been addressed with my Restaurant Manager to ensure that this does not happen again. I am pleased to hear that you... More 

aberdeenshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I am wheelchair bound and after being let down by the bathroom arrangements in another Aviemore hotel were directed here at 8pm as we were told they had a bathroom with a roll in shower. After driving round the ill-lit complex we eventually found the Conference Centre where, bizarrely,everyone has to check in. My husband was in there for 20... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wanganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

In spite of what some would claim, we did not find it so bad. Quickly checked in, it was up to our room on the 4th floor overlooking the town and the rabbits on the front lawn. The room was in need of some renovating with older and slippery carpet and some lifting wallpaper. One man in our group slipped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were wakened due to a fire alarm. Due to health and safety it is essential to evacuate until the building has been cleared by the fire marshall. I am concerned to read about one of the guests slipping... More 

witney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

First impressions from the road below- it looks like a prison. The hotel is on a raised ground overlooking the town and with a beautiful view from our bedroom which was clean and comfortable. We had a problem during the first evening and needed advice on how to get more medication. The hotel had NO information or telephone numbers for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to leave a review on trip advisor. Reception have a full list of telephone number for all eventualities therefore I can only apologise regarding this. I will ensure that all receptionist are fully aware of this to stop this from happening again. We are extremely passionate about great food and service in our... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stay here last night which was very cold with our tour group. On opening the door of our room we were hit with the very strong smell of cigarette smoke. The entire room was dated and not clean. We were able to move rooms. The new room had no heating but was slightly cleaner. We then discovered we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with your room. I have checked and the heating is working in the room. If the receptionist was made aware of this we could have sorted this straight away. Unfortunately one night last week the boiler failed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Strathspey Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Aviemore

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay