We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Aviemore
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015
Elaine P
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    27
    29
    22
See reviews for
19
40
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (119)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel looks great from the website, but in reality its only very average. Rooms are nice but wifi very poor, no satelite tv, just the basic tv and radio which in this day and age is poor, as most new buy tv's have at least got freeview. Breakfast is very poor when the restaurant is busy as not enough food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel with a Trafalgar Tour group. It was the least desirable hotel of all the ones we stayed in. It started with checking in and there is no one at the front desk...we have to wait 10 minutes...then we wanted some laundry done and we were told we had to bring the laundry to another building....we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Manningtree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
64 hotel reviews
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

A friend and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago and found the experience quite baffling. First thing to say is that this is like no other MacDonald hotel in the country. Even their 3* hotels are generally a pretty good standard- this one is the exception. To put you off the scent, they conveniently renamed the poorly reputed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this were not forthcoming during your most recent visit. This year we are investing £5.5 million... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We had 4 rooms booked out here in feb 2015 only 1 room out of the 4 was modernized . The rest of the rooms were a bit dissapointing . Reception wasnt always manned . Breakfast was very nice . Enjoyed our stay here ,

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed in some of your rooms you had with us, however I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your over all stay here at the Resort. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest... More 

Staffordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

I had looked at this hotel on line and as it was a Macdonald hotel, I expected a good standard.... Oops, how wrong I was. We were SO disappointed with our room and the public areas ie. 'Lounge' areas, were non existent. The only seating area was an area off the dining room with just tables and chairs. No sofas... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, however I am happy to hear that the staff were friendly and accommodating. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this were not... More 

Harrow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Although there have been a few negative reviews for this hotel, we found it to be good. The hotel is in need of a refurbishment, but it was very clean and the beds were the comfiest we have slept in for quite a while. The room was a good size and the en-suite adequate. The buffet breakfast was very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We at the resort aim to go above and beyond to exceed our guest’s expectations. Look forward to welcoming you back soon Kind Regards Christopher Wayne-Wills Chief Executive Officer Macdonald Aviemore Resort More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We travelled to this hotel as part of the Statesman Rail first class trip. This hotel could not provide us with coffee at lunchtime on a Sunday - it was stated that they had just thrown the last away. Why they could not make a fresh batch is beyond me. Staff were nowhere to be seen, and it lacked the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my sincerest apologies that you felt this were not forthcoming during your most recent visit. This year we are investing £5.5 million... More 

grangemouth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We have just returned from a weekend away visiting friends in Aviemore during which we stayed at the Strathspey Hotel in the Macdonald Centre. Our executive double room was on the 6th floor but faced to the centre rather than to the mountains which would have been ideal. The room furnishings were excellent with a huge 6 foot bed and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on the comments on to the team who will be delighted to hear them. We at the resort aim to go above and beyond to exceed our guest’s expectations. Look forward to welcoming... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015

I am currently staying at this hotel and however hard I try I cannot fault any aspect whatsoever. The room is clean, comfy and well equipped and the view is stunning. The food at breakfast and evening meal was perfect and faultless. The biggest asset of all is the staff, they are all a credit to the hospitality industry ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on the comments to all the staff who will be delighted to hear them. We at the resort aim to go above and beyond to exceed our guest’s expectations. Look forward to welcoming... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

So disappointed with MacDonald Hotels. I have previously used them on many occasions and now been left with a bitter taste in my mouth. I booked the Strathspey hotel at the MacDonald Resort Aviemore to celebrate my friends birthday and was just left totally embarrassed. The maintenance in the bedroom was stocking for any star level. The carpet was thread... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our aim here at the Resort is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations, please accept my apology that you felt this was not forthcoming during your most recent visit. This year we are investing a £5.5 million... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay