We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Aviemore hotels

Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore Highland Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
38%
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Aviemore
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    17
    16
    18
See reviews for
15
15
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings Point, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is an older style motel although our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The dinners were very good and there was a variety of breakfast foods to choose from. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were told that winter snow skiing was only half an hour away making this hotel a popular base for snow skiers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay in the resort and enjoyed the dining offered. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again over the winter time if you do come up to do some skiing. Best regards, The General Manager More

Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights on a 16 day tour. This was by far the worst hotel we stayed at. Lifts - were always very slow Wifi - is available in another building 5 mins from the room Pool - is available across 2 roads Dining room - had 3 buckets on floor to catch water dripping from ceiling Toilet -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the time taking to write a review. We always strive for the best possible guest service and I am sorry your did not feel that this was the case during your stay. As the hotel is part of a resort we do not operate as a stand alone hotel – which is why the pool... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very basic room. Old fashioned tv set. Shower - fluctuated between full and a trickle, possibly depending on how many other guests were using theirs at the time. Drinks expensive. Lift only took 4 people at any one time. Many long corridors to find room. The windows in our room were so dirty we didn't really need to close the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor – we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room that you stayed in. It is unfortunate that you didn’t inform us of your concerns during your stay in order to find you a room that would... More

Stirlingshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is quite old and has seen refurbishments over the years but it is a comfy enough hotel, the rooms are average sized with basic furnishings TV etc. The bathroom is clean and tidy with guest toiletry products provided, however the shower was subject to pressure fluctuations, sometimes the water disappeared altogether. There are two small lifts which claim... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hillcrestroad Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel accommodating for your needs. Thank you for your feedback on our staff – I am delighted to hear that they were professional and made you feel welcome. Please note that your comments regarding the... More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was with a Trafalgar Tour and stayed here in July for 2 nights. Should have realised this was going to be a nightmare hotel from the first instance. The lift only takes 4 people max. My room was down the end of a passage that you had to go through several doors to get to. After going through the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan M Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and had an unpleasant experience. I do wish you would have spoken with us during your stay in order for us to rectify the issue right away and... More

sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were warned before alighting from the tour bus, that this wasn't your "Four Seasons' but it would definitely be clean and warm. These would definitely be our trip director's 'famous last words'. The room was dreadful...threadbare carpets, scratched and damaged furniture, threadbare and holey blankets, 1 chair for a 2 person room, sink not fully attached to wall, leaking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chrismSydney Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at our Four Seasons Hotel. We always strive to offer the best service available for out guests, so I am sad to hear that you did not feel this was the case during your... More

Markham, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rooms are very small and need upgrading. The staff we dealt with were very good, but witnessed some rude behaviour towards other guests in the main building. There was a group of poorly behaved and poorly supervised students there, so maybe they were stressed. The pool was not the best, as it had a low water level. Not sure if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MaxjudyStanford Thank you for the time taken to write a review as we always appreciate guest feedback. I am happy to hear that the staff you encountered was welcoming and that you enjoyed the location and breakfast provided. Please be assured that your comments regarding the room have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant department.... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I first thought that someone had made a mistake,the car park was deserted,the reception,public bar area looked like it had been shut down for years.The very aging lift could only take 4 people.Oh My the room,you know that smell you get when something has'nt been aired for a long time,not to mention the worn carpet with holes everywhere. I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bmac705 Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel during your stay – an ongoing investment in the resort will ensure that the we will be able to offer to best possible guest service. Please be assured that all of your comments have... More

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just want to say the staff here are fantastic place is so clean food is great we travelled in group of 6 we all ate well we had a ball drinks are reasonable priced also leisure facilies are great so clean also

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tracey L Thank you for your feedback – it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about the resort and the staff. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future. Gina Macpherson Guest Services Manager More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August. It is one of the hotels in the Macdonald Aviemore Resort. The public areas in the hotel itself are really tired and, at least in the summer, it seems to cater mainly for coach tours. The place was literally deserted when we walked in but we found our way over to central resort... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel

Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore, Scotland
Address: Aviemore Highland Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.