We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Aviemore hotels

Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore Highland Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    21
    22
    19
See reviews for
15
24
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (91)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I first stayed here 6 years ago. Unfortunately it looks like nothing has been done to it in 6 years. The hotel was perfectly nice and clean etc, just very tired and long overdue for a make over. Breakfast had the usual choices of cereal, fruit, hot stuff and croissants. The choice was perhaps the worst I've experienced in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to contact us regarding your recent stay. Our primary aim hereis to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations and I am very sorry that we appear to have failed on this occasion. Please be assured that the comments you have raised have been taken very seriously. The Strathspey Hotel is... More

Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with friends as we were in Aviemore for a night out. Checked in at the main resort reception and quoted a higher price than on my confirmation email. After some discussion the receptionist agreed to match my confirmation email. On confirming the original booking I was told this hotel was new to the McDonald resort... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Firstly please accept my apologises on the wrong information that you received on check in - the hotel is not new to Macdonald Hotels. Our primary aim is to achieve and exceed our guest’s expectations and I am very sorry that we appear to have... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

We booked the Strathspey hotel at the Aviemore resort and when we arrived we were directed to this hotel. We wondered if we had been moved hotel due to busy school holidays but it turns out that the Four Seasons Hotel is the Strathspey. We reckon this is to stop guests looking at the bad reviews ahead of going!! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincere apologises for the issues you experienced during your stay regarding breakfast. I can assure you that this has been addressed with my Restaurant Manager to ensure that this does not happen again. I am pleased to hear that you... More

aberdeenshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

I am wheelchair bound and after being let down by the bathroom arrangements in another Aviemore hotel were directed here at 8pm as we were told they had a bathroom with a roll in shower. After driving round the ill-lit complex we eventually found the Conference Centre where, bizarrely,everyone has to check in. My husband was in there for 20... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on Trip Advisor. After further investigation the manager that spoke to the other hotel stated that it was a walk in shower not a roll in shower. Please accept my sincere apologises if the Colyumbridge passed on the incorrect information. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed... More

Wanganui, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

In spite of what some would claim, we did not find it so bad. Quickly checked in, it was up to our room on the 4th floor overlooking the town and the rabbits on the front lawn. The room was in need of some renovating with older and slippery carpet and some lifting wallpaper. One man in our group slipped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were wakened due to a fire alarm. Due to health and safety it is essential to evacuate until the building has been cleared by the fire marshall. I am concerned to read about one of the guests slipping... More

witney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

First impressions from the road below- it looks like a prison. The hotel is on a raised ground overlooking the town and with a beautiful view from our bedroom which was clean and comfortable. We had a problem during the first evening and needed advice on how to get more medication. The hotel had NO information or telephone numbers for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to leave a review on trip advisor. Reception have a full list of telephone number for all eventualities therefore I can only apologise regarding this. I will ensure that all receptionist are fully aware of this to stop this from happening again. We are extremely passionate about great food and service in our... More

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stay here last night which was very cold with our tour group. On opening the door of our room we were hit with the very strong smell of cigarette smoke. The entire room was dated and not clean. We were able to move rooms. The new room had no heating but was slightly cleaner. We then discovered we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you had an issue with your room. I have checked and the heating is working in the room. If the receptionist was made aware of this we could have sorted this straight away. Unfortunately one night last week the boiler failed... More

toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel was terrible. We went to this place as part of the tour we were on and it was just not what we were expecting for a Four Seasons. The rooms were very dated, peeling wall paper, and because it was a warm spell, very hot. The windows were absolutely disgustingly filthy and would not stay open... we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Feedback is a valuable way for us to monitor our operation and make improvements where necessary. If you would like to discuss the issues you experienced further please do not hesitate to contact... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were on a Trafalgar Tour of the UK so we stayed in this hotel for just a night having arrived fairly late in the day. The meals were excellent as was the service we received. We only got to see the local station of Aviemore, but were not at all disappointed. It is such a beautifully kept and quaint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the service and food. The views in this area are amazing and you get such great views from the Four Season's hotel over the Cairngorm mountain range. You will need to come back and visit us over the winter time... More

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Having flown into Inverness Airport we travelled by mini bus to Aviemore. On arrival at the Macdonald complex our driver obtained our room keys from the Conference Centre and dropped us at the hotel. We entered the reception area which was completely deserted as was the rest of the hotel, so we made our way up to our room on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the food standard - we tend to get very positive reviews regarding the quality of the food. Please note that your comments have been passed on to the relevant department. I am delighted to hear that you were... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel

Address: Aviemore Highland Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay