We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Aviemore hotels

Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Aviemore Highland Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
38%
Ranked #8 of 8 hotels in Aviemore
  • Reviews (79)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    19
    19
    17
    18
See reviews for
15
18
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having flown into Inverness Airport we travelled by mini bus to Aviemore. On arrival at the Macdonald complex our driver obtained our room keys from the Conference Centre and dropped us at the hotel. We entered the reception area which was completely deserted as was the rest of the hotel, so we made our way up to our room on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with the food standard - we tend to get very positive reviews regarding the quality of the food. Please note that your comments have been passed on to the relevant department. I am delighted to hear that you were... More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night while on an organized tour of Ireland and Scotland. Its a big place with comfortable rooms. Keep in mind that you are probably just in the room to sleep. So enjoy the bar/pub, or the spa. Great big pool with steam rooms. Great for unwinding at the end of the day touring. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the resort accommodating. It is great that you had the opportunity to make use of our leisure facilites and enjoyed them. We hope to welcome you back again, Best regards, The General... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A Perfect Location in Aviemore The Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, which seems to be part of a much larger ‘Aviemore Complex’ appears to be an austere Tower Block, almost prison like as you enter from the rear car park. On entering, you are greeted with a fully refurbished attractive foyer, which has comfortable seating and is inviting. The rooms are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel accommodating. Thank you for your kind words regarding the dining experiences you had and I am happy to hear that you found the staff welcoming and helpful. We hope to welcome you... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Just had a friends reunion at this hotel. Although beds very comfortable and bathrooms obviously just up-graded, overall this hotel looks sad and tired. Our bedroom had a stale smell and the television only worked on occasions. Drinks at the bar were really expensive. Had a coffee in Costa bar in the centre this morning. Waited about 10 minutes to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with you stay. We always aim for the highest possible guest service and take it seriously when guests find this not to be the case. I am sorry that you were dissapointed with the room you stayed... More

Hastings Point, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is an older style motel although our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The dinners were very good and there was a variety of breakfast foods to choose from. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were told that winter snow skiing was only half an hour away making this hotel a popular base for snow skiers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay in the resort and enjoyed the dining offered. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again over the winter time if you do come up to do some skiing. Best regards, The General Manager More

Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights on a 16 day tour. This was by far the worst hotel we stayed at. Lifts - were always very slow Wifi - is available in another building 5 mins from the room Pool - is available across 2 roads Dining room - had 3 buckets on floor to catch water dripping from ceiling Toilet -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the time taking to write a review. We always strive for the best possible guest service and I am sorry your did not feel that this was the case during your stay. As the hotel is part of a resort we do not operate as a stand alone hotel – which is why the pool... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Very basic room. Old fashioned tv set. Shower - fluctuated between full and a trickle, possibly depending on how many other guests were using theirs at the time. Drinks expensive. Lift only took 4 people at any one time. Many long corridors to find room. The windows in our room were so dirty we didn't really need to close the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor – we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room that you stayed in. It is unfortunate that you didn’t inform us of your concerns during your stay in order to find you a room that would... More

Stirlingshire, Scotland
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is quite old and has seen refurbishments over the years but it is a comfy enough hotel, the rooms are average sized with basic furnishings TV etc. The bathroom is clean and tidy with guest toiletry products provided, however the shower was subject to pressure fluctuations, sometimes the water disappeared altogether. There are two small lifts which claim... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hillcrestroad Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel accommodating for your needs. Thank you for your feedback on our staff – I am delighted to hear that they were professional and made you feel welcome. Please note that your comments regarding the... More

Adelaide, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I was with a Trafalgar Tour and stayed here in July for 2 nights. Should have realised this was going to be a nightmare hotel from the first instance. The lift only takes 4 people max. My room was down the end of a passage that you had to go through several doors to get to. After going through the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan M Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and had an unpleasant experience. I do wish you would have spoken with us during your stay in order for us to rectify the issue right away and... More

sydney
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were warned before alighting from the tour bus, that this wasn't your "Four Seasons' but it would definitely be clean and warm. These would definitely be our trip director's 'famous last words'. The room was dreadful...threadbare carpets, scratched and damaged furniture, threadbare and holey blankets, 1 chair for a 2 person room, sink not fully attached to wall, leaking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chrismSydney Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at our Four Seasons Hotel. We always strive to offer the best service available for out guests, so I am sad to hear that you did not feel this was the case during your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel

Address: Aviemore Highland Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore, Scotland

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
88

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer