We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Aviemore hotels

Macdonald Aviemore Resort

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Aviemore Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Aviemore
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013
MarshallMck
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    168
    178
    102
    73
See reviews for
258
208
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (666)
  • Mar-May only
    (123)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (146)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (265)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (132)
All months
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Aviemore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at this resort in July and the experience was fantastic from start to finish. Breakfast was exceptional with the chef giving us friendly tips on the best way to spend our day and our fine dining experience was exceptional! Special mention to Lauren from the events team who even managed to get my five... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your resort experience. I am delighted to read it and hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with your family, your wonderful comments in regards to our staff have been passed on and I am so happy that they made you feel as welcome as they did. I am... More 

Newquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My family and I (husband and 2 small children) stayed at the Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort for 2 nights whilst traveling around the Scottish highlands. We had a family room which was fitted with all the luxuries one might need, both aesthetically and practically. The small bar fridge in the room was especially useful for keeping snacks for the kids... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay with your family and found the resort accommodating. It is great that you had the chance to use our leisure facilities and that the children enjoyed them. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed breakfast we offer – it... More 

ayrshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have spent many a happy Christmas over the years at the resort - however - The ending to Christmas 2012 was beyond bad. Made worse by the way management handled the situation. The festivities went well - that was until our last night, December 29th. Two girls in the room next to ours enjoyed the company of males -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

We are disappointed to read your recent review about your stay in December 2012 despite you posting at the time such a positive review on this site about your festive experience with us last year. We are unsure why your opinion would change so much and after so many months have passed. We acknowledged that you had an issue at... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

On arrival my husband did not receive a good welcome as the receptionist was not interested in some questions he asked. I am a wheelchair user and we had to go across a courtyard to access our room via a lift which was far too small for a wheelchair and carer. The hotel is badly in need of refurbishment and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the time taken to write a review as guest feedback is very important to us. I am sorry to hear that you were let down with the hotel during your stay and did not find if accommodating for your stay. It is always our top priority to ensure that the best possible guest service is... More 

Westhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at The Academy annex whilst eldest son on second Duke of Edinburgh expedition. The public areas looked as if they haven't been refurbished in the last 40 years - the tartan carpet and lift have seen lot better days. Closed bars and sad looking areas, plus smoky door just made entrance feel depressing. Pleasantly surprised by cleanliness and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear WeeBek Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the resort with us. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling disappointed with the resort after your stay with us. We always strive for the best possible guest services possible and take it seriously when our guests feel this is not the case. Thank... More 

Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were there recently with almost 740 members of a big event. The standard of the food was extremely high, considering that all of the party was seated at the same time. That is a massive undertaking in the kitchen. The food was great and most importantly, it was hot (where applicable). I would recommend it to anyone with big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jim H Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the service good and efficient. I will pass on your wonderful comments onto the relevant department and I know they will be pleased to hear that you enjoyed it as they work very hard on ensuring that all of our... More 

Pretoria, Gauteng
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

As part of a tour group I have recently stayed at the hotel for two nights. Although the room was of an average size and clean, the furniture needs a facelift. I had to ask for a tea/coffee tray. It was very frustrating that the hotel was congested with tourists and it was evident that they were possibly not ready... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Suzume Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor as we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your certain aspects of your stay. I can inform you that free wi-fi is available in the Conference Centre on the resort for all of your guests to... More 

california
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here in a double on a Trafalgar Best of Britain tour. There was no A/C system andI felt as though I was in a coffin, it was so close. This room had probably been shut up for days. Luckily, we were able to open the window a bit. Fell asleep and woke up to cold air, not helping my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear hotellooker Thank you for the time taken to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay – here at the resort we always strive for the highest possible guest service and I am sorry you felt this was not the case during your stay. I can understand your frustration... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We ride up to Aviemore from Sheffield for the Harley Weekend every year staying at the Resort. Usually stay in the Aviemore Inn but fully booked. Luckily we stayed in the Academy this year. For the few extra pounds it cost for the weekend it was worth it. Larger comfy room with a double settee in a quieter setting. Ironing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear LorriC27 Thank you for taking the time out to write a review. I am happy to hear that you had a good weekend and enjoyed your stay with us. The Harley weekend was very successful and we look forward to welcome you back again next year. Best regards, Hanna Wolimbwa Guest Services More 

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Academy Hotel for three nights last week. Our room was large, comfortable and well equipped. Not only did we have the Tea/coffee tray, but also hairdryer, iron and ironing board. The bed was large and spotlessly clean. There were only two of us but we had a family room with an extra single bed, couch, chairs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Caledi Thank you for your review, we always appreciate it when guests take out time to write a review. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the resort. I am happy that you enjoyed the breakfast experience we offer – it always tends to be popular with all our guests. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aviemore

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (33)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay