We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Aviemore hotels

Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Highland Resort, Aviemore | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort to your Saves list
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
48%
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Aviemore
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
logar Perth, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (478)
  • Photos (68)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (68)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    117
    128
    78
    55
See reviews for
170
147
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had the opportunity whilst on holiday to visit the the day facilities at this hotel. We looked forward to a spa day in line with other Macdonald hotels. The Spa was being refurbished, you could access the pool for £10.50. The poolside steam room was out of order as was the jacuzzi. Many of the locks in the changing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The first challenge we had was finding the room, directions and signage is lacking and needs to be better for the size of this place. The boom was a good size for UK standards, the bathroom was small and had a shower only (happy not to have to climb into a bath) bedding was clean and fresh, pillows were feather... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a 2 night break at the Highlands hotel, I have to say we had a fantastic stay . The room was exactly as pictured in photos which is rare. Lovely big comfy bed, bathroom was nice and clean although the shower was more like a drizzle lol! The thing that really made our stay was the staff nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fot the prices this "resort" charges the facilities and accommodation should be better..We stayed in the Academy Hotel and the room was dated and because I'm Dad I got the sofa bed that was about as comfortable as sleeping on a pallet...My daughter went to see the Magician show only to be told that he was no longer employed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Myself, wife and daughter paid £42 for a family day pass to include Soft Play, Swim and 2 course lunch. First up was soft play, the little one enjoyed this while we overpaid for bland 'Costa' coffee. We headed over to the main building for lunch and were greeted by something which looked like it wouldn't be out of place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

we are still here while I write this so still quite angry and glad to be checking out tomorrow. We are a family of 4. kids aged 2 and 4. Breakfast - familys are treated as outcasts as u get taken to the back section "out of the way" ? Room service - poor. Food in general is tasteless. Now... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We are very proud of the service and food that we provide at Macdonald Hotels hence why I was very shocked when I read your review as the senior management do not and will not... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here 1 night on a bus tour . Very nice . Good bed. Clean . A little bit knocked around but very roomy . Wifi great . Very quiet . Breakfast very good . Plenty of room in dining room . Staff lovely . Shame about the weather . Beautiful country. .

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future...finger's crossed for better weather. Kindest regards Lindsey Randall Operations Manager More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Decide to give this hotel a try as we had heard some good reviews about it. It is divided up into 4 different hotels and lodges. We stayed at the 4* Highland Hotel for one night as we got a cheap deal through a 3rd party online booking site other wise we would have been double the price. The young... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future. Kindest regards Lindsey Randall Operations Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So, we were looking forward to a stay at a lovely looking resort. We were disappointed. On arrival it all looks super, but a LOT of cracks started to appear which undid a lot of hard work that the young inexperienced team think they may be putting in. We were checked into the 'Academy Hotel' - A second class (3*)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Please be assured that the comments you have raised have been taken very seriously and addressed thoroughly. I can assure you that this is not the normal standard we strive for in our daily routines... More

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked for one night only as a top up to our stay elsewhere in Aviemore. The resort comprises a number of hotels and we stayed in the "inn" version. Depressingly dark, tired and dingy rooms with ageing bathrooms. Perhaps the other hotels in the resort are nicer - I hope so - but they all share the same breakfast buffet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. As a result of customer feedback the Inn will close in January for refurbishment and will reopen in April as a four star hotel. I do hope that we have the opportunity... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort

Address: Highland Resort, Aviemore | Inverness-shire, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Aviemore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort Scotland

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Aviemore with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
404

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Aviemore Highland Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer