We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Macdonald Highlands Hotel

Aviemore Highlands, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Macdonald Highlands Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Aviemore
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
davidsQ1548IO Orlando
Add Photo

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    127
    159
    109
    64
    29
See reviews for
130
214
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (488)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (116)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (126)
All months
Orlando
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staryed 2 nights in the hotel. staff very friendly overall and eager to please. room was a bit compact and bathroon had no where to keep our wash bags so they got wet on the floor. Every door we went through creaked - apparent shortage of WD40. Breakfast was fab on both mornings and bar service in the evenings was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davidsQ1548I0 Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable visit to the resort and particularly pleased to hear how helpful the team were during your stay. I will ensure the maintenance team address the problem you highlighted regarding the creaky doors. Kind regards Stephen Williams Resort General Manager More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a fabulous location, big room with plenty of room, hotel is located within the cairngorm mountain range, the hotel is also next to the complex leisure facilities which include swimming pool, gym and cinema as well as various different restaurants would highly recommend and would happily go back and stay again Pictures is a view from Spey... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pitmedden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed one night in the Highlands hotel after attending the golf at nearby Spey Valley. Having stayed here a few years I can see the hotel is definately looking more modern and the bedroom we stayed in was lovely. The staff in the Laggan bar were friendly and helpful and the bar food and drinks were good. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear the-mog Many thanks for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and I hope that you also enjoyed the exciting European Challenge Tour event at the Spey Valley Golf Course. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Stephen Williams Resort General Manager More 

scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent three nights bed and breakfast. Reception friendly and efficient. Bedroom well furnished and large double bed very comfortable. Self service breakfast had multiple cooked items with additional fruit juice and continental breakfast options also available. Staff serving coffee and tea efficient and welcoming. only flaw was being subjected to two fire alarms- one at 5.15a.m.! Not anything the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear hugovert Many thanks for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had a relaxing and enjoyable visit to the resort. Kind regards Stephen Williams Resort General Manager More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time at the hotel and warm welcome on arrival Room was clean and spacious and appeared to have been decorated recently Usual features Tv, safe, kettle, ironing board and iron Slightly damaged door on the inside of the bathroom and cracked joint between shower tray and tiling Hot tap was so loose you had to hold the body whilst... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear brian w Many thanks for your review. I am disappointed to hear that we did not deal with some of the problems you highlighted during your stay as efficiently as we should have done. I will speak to the maintenance and reception teams to remind them of the importance of dealing with issues quickly. The Scottish Steak Club has... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all lets get the little bad points out the road - yes the layout of the hotels in the resort and room numbers can be confusing but once explained its fine. There are lovely places to eat but unfortunately this isn't promoted enough for the guests, other than a big board at the Highland hotel entrance and briefly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maureen M Many thanks for your detailed review. I am delighted to hear how enjoyable a stay you had at the resort. I will ensure that the various teams and individuals you have singled out for praise are made aware of the positive impact they had on your visit to Aviemore. We will soon be updating the signage around... More 

Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an older hotel going through some renovations. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom seemed to be just recently renovated and was all new (although very small). I had a room that was connected to another room and I felt like the people next to me were in my room because I could hear... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AmyLikeTravel Many thanks for your review. It is always pleasing to read about the great service that the team consistently provides, I will ensure that they are aware of your comments. The resort is undergoing upgrades and refurbishments in many different areas and this will continue to be the case in the coming months and years. I hope we... More 

Troon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ok. The good part is the location. It's handy for the local facilities, its clean, and there's parking. However, the eateries are poor, with the cafes producing lack lustre food. The 'Italian' restaurant is particulalry poor with 'heavy' pasta and cheese laden weighty pizza. The whole place seemed popular with families for the pool and soft play, but is not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Talahmhgirl I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the resort. We are commencing a full refurbishment of 2 more of our restaurants to ensure that we have a varied and quality offering across the resort. Giovanni's offers an alternative to the Scottish influenced cuisine that is served in the Highlands Hotel. I will... More 

Travelers are raving about these Aviemore hotels

Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our holiday began ok and checkin seemed pretty smooth with helpful staff but this is where the positives ended! On booking our room for me my partner and 18 month old triplets - we requested room suitable for access for us! Well we ended up on 3rd floor down 3 corridors with a lift that was so small we couldn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Hannah N Thank you for taking the time to speak with me on the phone regarding your review. I trust that you are assured that the relevant action has been taken to adapt our policies to be slightly less rigorous in their application. Kind regards Stephen Williams Resort General Manager More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked the aviemore hotel having been to several macdonald hotels across the UK. I didn't spend a huge time researching the resort, instead trusting that it would reach the same standard as so many of the others. It didn't. The food seemed like stale food that had been microwaved. The flavours were bland and the menu had nothing in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at Macdonald Highlands Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We place a great deal of importance on the provenance and traceability of our food, and on using the finest and freshest ingredients in our hotels. We would like to reassure our guests... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

60 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay