We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Onslow Guest House

2 Onslow Drive | Dennistoun, Glasgow G31 2LX , Scotland
Hotel amenities
Onslow Guest House
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #20 of 39 Glasgow B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Whombolino
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    27
    20
    8
    7
    43
See reviews for
14
19
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (105)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On short notice could Find a singleroom after a long trip of cycling. Staff is friendly and love to make a chat. They explain the surroundings and where the good restaurants are. The room is clean bed is a little bit hard for my taste. After a day of cycling it is Nice to have a bath or a shower.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were dodgy, in a dodgy area of Glasgow. No safes provided. "Manager" was not personable and was very unprofessional. Inadequate and way overpriced. Our family of four had to leave on Sunday morning without our prepaid breakfast because he was busy serving FOUR people - we would have to wait an HOUR. He refused to give us a refund... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tony2glasgow, Manager at Onslow Guest House, responded to this review

Hi customers booked 2 double rooms through booking.com 1 each person per room when they checked in it was 4 adults we advised them sorry you have only booked 1 each in 2 double rooms they said it was there mistake can we book 2 double rooms for 4 we said yes it will be £84 extra for 2 nights... More 

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At the end if our holiday in the Highlands, we decided to break up the journey back to London by spending the night in Glasgow on 6 June. All the mid price hotels were fully booked so we booked a double room at Onslow Guest House. While en route to Glasgow we received a call from the manager to say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tony2glasgow, Manager at Onslow Guest House, responded to this review

Hi customer booked through booking.com we phoned the customer to ask her what time are you going to be arriving she said we are driving and wont be there until 3 we said that is fine if you are running late please phone us it was 6 oclock the customer did not arrive we tried phoning her could not get... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I work for a company and i used this place ONCE to book our workers in and then they went ahead and used our company credit card details with NO authorisation to do so to book the guys in again after no one in our company told them to do so. the manager tony is so rude and basically just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
tony2glasgow, Manager at Onslow Guest House, responded to this review

Hi first the company booked the rooms then on thursday we got a email and a phone call they want to cancel the rooms we tried explaining to laura sorry it is to short notice to cancel the rooms we have to charge you but if we can get the rooms booked we will refund you first she accepted it... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great guest house friendly atmosphere always willing too help breakfast was good and john worked hard to make our stay as good as it was enjoy our two weeks there thanks rooms always clean and tidy would recommend too friends and hope to revisit next year

Was this review helpful? Yes
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a Victorian house in a quiet neighborhood converted into a guest house. Like other reviewers said, their credit card machine I think has been out of service for a long time, be prepared to pay cash. Room was nice sized and great for a family of five. Bathroom had been remodeled and the only drawback was the weird... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Onslow is a beautiful old house with high ceilings with beautiful ornate plaster. The front room was very large and spacious, but the ensuing was rather small. The manager was very helpful and gave directions to walk to the city center (20 minute) and recommendations for restaurants. Breakfast was as ordered and quite good

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

What a great find this place was. Spotlessly clean and well presented. Good, solid breakfast and really friendly and obliging staff. Tick and a star to John and his mate (who's name I can't recall. Sorry!) Our stay here was an integral part of a fantastic weekend in Glasgow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015 via mobile

Booked with this hotel in January due to stay there on 28th June as going to a live event, suddenly they rang out of the blue 3days before to cancel my booking stating water damage and all booking were cancelled. I have later found out that they have re booked my room, as to get triple the price leading up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Very happy with my choice,the room number 10 was big and airy. The room was very clean and well looked after. The room faced the road but you wouldn't know it, really quiet room and location. Breakfast was good and plentiful. The receptionist was very helpful. Would I stay again..yes

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#7 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#8 of 92 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 3,676 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre - George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#24 of 92 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 1,478 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Seton Guest House
#16 of 39 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay