We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifton Hotel

26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
Rate this Hotel

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    49
    28
    20
    21
See reviews for
17
48
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (153)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As soon as I arrived the staff were very friendly and happy to help with everything and even came outside to help park my car. The room and en suite looked like they'd been recently refurbished and I was very impressed with how it had all been done. Free wifi and freeview tele were a definite bonus as well. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed here with my partner, my mum and step dad for the night after watching the script. For what we paid in our deal - £45 it was worth it. Nice and friendly welcome from the receptionist, rooms were big but slightly dated apart from the bathroom in our room - refurbished and looked great. Breakfast was great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
clifton2012, Front Office Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this nice review. I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel More 

Lisbon District, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent room, good breakfast, good location, friendly owner. A very good place to stay with your family The Hotel is very well located and it is easy to reach. Supermarket, several restaurants and dinners near by. The Botanic gardens and the famous Pub Oran Mor just in front. Subway is near and also buses.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
clifton2012, Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening We would like to thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. if you come to glasgow again we would like to see you at the hotel and make your stay enjoyable. Regards Cathy More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Brother and I wanted somewhere close to dad's place, as visiting from Cheshire to see him and gran, so chose Clifton. What a brilliant choice it was. Very warm welcome. Great room - we each had a small double - comfy and clean. Despite my room facing main road it was quiet. Beautiful breakfast - wide selection and well cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Me and my FRIEND stayed in this 'hotel' for 2 nights,although we didn't get a very nice welcome from the staff as they questioned us about the one bed in the room,insinuating our sexuality - how very rude,the welcome to our room was even more unpleasant with a stench of combined cigarette smoke and damp. With further perusal of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
clifton2012, General Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Im sorry to hear you stay at the Clifton Hotel was not up to your standard. On arrival my staff very pleasant and helpful to you. We offered you to upgrade your at no extra cost. You refused. All our rooms are kept to a very high standard and are cleaned daily. The room doesn't smell of smoke or dampness.... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We stayed from 16th to 17th Feb 2015, from the minute we walked into reception Cath made us very welcome, we decided to book in, our room was comfortable and the breakfast was not only hot, it was quality and set us up for the whole day

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

My husband and I have stayed at the Clifton more times than I can count now over the past 5 years. On our first stay we were given room 10, the honeymoon suite, which is an enormous room (or rather was. it has now been split up into 2 rooms, and rather a special treat for us we were the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

I don't even know where to start... I booked this based on reviews. I don't know what kind of people stayed there but that must be one of the worst hotels I even been into. Pro: Close to city centre: 5 mins to Hilhead tube and then about 8min to centre. They let me keep my luggage at the reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
clifton2012, Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

We must let everyone know about this guy. We could smell something from his room assuming that this was smoking something illegal . We asked him to leave hence his lying remarks .The guest was told about the cracked in the tiles on his arrival, he said that this was ok as he was only paying £30.00 . We still... More 

Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

After staying in the Clifton hotel Saturday 7th into Sunday I wished I had booked for longer. Had a lovely front four poster bedroom, spacious bathroom plenty of old vintage storage, and probably the most comfortable bed I have slept on in a long time, and I go to hotels frequently. Also at breakfast there was a nice light hearted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

Stayed three nights during January. Small double room was big enough to cover all of my needs during business trip when you do not spend that much time inside. Nice breakfast room with good selection (mainly cereals). Very nice and welcoming stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question