We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifton Hotel

3.0 of 5 26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    27
    19
    19
See reviews for
15
41
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (138)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (26)
All months
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night . The rooom was very clean with a lovely big bathroom which had a large shower, For a small double room for one it was excellent value for money. The breakfast was nice. It is in an excellent location for Byres Road and the Botanic Gardens and West end of the city with easy access to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights and were made extremely welcome. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The inclusive Full Scottish breakfast or the Continental alternative were excellent.The hotel was conveniently situated on the city tour bus route and within easy reach of a selection of good restaurants. We arrived early and were able to get a space in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zabrze, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is relatively cheap - that is true. But you should not expect too much for the price. Room design typically British - quite cosy, but showing its age. I had the room in the basement, whith a "fantastic" view on the underside of the staircase... Breakfast - I used to have better. Except of that - some inconveniences.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Elgin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed for one night with my son for a show at the SECC. We arrived at 3 and our room was ready straight away. Every where was spotless and the lady on reception had all the information I needed about getting to the show. I did like the fact that the owner called a couple of days before to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for a few nights and the staff was friendly, the hotel was clean and the location is perfect. I also enjoyed my full English breakfast. The hotel itself felt nice and warm and homely. I would definitely stay here again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were going to stay in Glasgow for just one night and thought we would give the Clifton Hotel a go as we had seen other favourable reviews. It is really easy to find, just beside the Botanics on Great Western Road. We were able to park in their own wee car park at the rear for just £5. Also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
clifton2012, Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kerry B, We are so happy that you had a good stay at our hotel. We take all the comments that are made and try to improve on them. Thank you for your nice comments. Catherine More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I arrived in the morning after travelling overnight from London and the owner Mr Alum who was lovely had the room cleaned immediately knowing that I was tired, which meant I could go in much earlier than the normal 3pm check in time, he also asked the deputy manager Catherine who was a lovely warm friendly girl to make me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

We went for Celtic Park for the England game and didn't really know about location etc.etc. The hotel is opposite the Hilton and I'd think this place probably compares to the Hilton to be fair?,its a very old building that has had a major overhaul,we stayed in room 12A which had two small doubles,a lovely bathroom(Huge!) and a smart television... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

First visit last year was OK this time not good is dust on tops of doors,old used soap on top of shower,black mould in shower tray,shower awful one minute scalding next freezing,scuff marks on walls, velvet curtain at window torn and stained,no mattress cover is sheet just put onto mattress, sockets all at ground level I had to put kettle... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
clifton2012, Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Miss Robertson Regarding your stay at the hotel am sorry the room was not up to standard Our aim is to make the customer feel comfortable . If you have came to reception we could have changed the room for you. Also the shower in the room has been replaced.We never have biscuits or hand wash in the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Hotel

Address: 26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clifton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Glasgow

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay