We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clifton Hotel

26/27 Buckingham Terrace, Glasgow G12 8ED, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clifton Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    29
    20
    22
See reviews for
18
51
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (159)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (40)
All months
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely staff/owners. Very friendly handy for west end, Glasgow Uni, Kelvingrove and town centre. Food was fair and price was okay as I used booking.com We got a room downstairs in basement and it was 2 singles which was not what I ordered on Booking.com however the room was good. All you need is there beds in different corners. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The service here ruined what is otherwise an ok hotel. It's reasonably clean and well situated but the welcome is far from acceptable. I stay in hotels more than I do at home and have never felt the need to leave a bad review before but Ild just like to save people the same experience. There are a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I had an overnight stay in Glasgow to see Mrs browns boys and I booked this hotel online. At £62 for both of us for the night with free breakfast, the price was right but wasn't sure what we would get. It was brilliant. The room was big with 2 double beds and a lovely big bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for one night with my partner from Bath Somerset, we arrived early because of flight time but we were made welcome and comfortable on arrival by friendly staff who were happy to take time to chat about the area we were in and arrange taxi service for us. The room was clean, comfortable with plenty of tea and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was a bit worried about this place after I saw the negative reviews but I shouldn't have been! The ensuite room (with bathtub) was lovely and clean. Nice breakfast with a few vegan options (beans, mushroom, tomatoes, toast, jam, juice, mint tea- in case there are other vegans reading this and would want to know!). Friendly staff although the guy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

As soon as I arrived the staff were very friendly and happy to help with everything and even came outside to help park my car. The room and en suite looked like they'd been recently refurbished and I was very impressed with how it had all been done. Free wifi and freeview tele were a definite bonus as well. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

I recently stayed here with my partner, my mum and step dad for the night after watching the script. For what we paid in our deal - £45 it was worth it. Nice and friendly welcome from the receptionist, rooms were big but slightly dated apart from the bathroom in our room - refurbished and looked great. Breakfast was great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
clifton2012, Front Office Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this nice review. I'm glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel More 

Lisbon District, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Excellent room, good breakfast, good location, friendly owner. A very good place to stay with your family The Hotel is very well located and it is easy to reach. Supermarket, several restaurants and dinners near by. The Botanic gardens and the famous Pub Oran Mor just in front. Subway is near and also buses.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
clifton2012, Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening We would like to thank you for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. if you come to glasgow again we would like to see you at the hotel and make your stay enjoyable. Regards Cathy More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Brother and I wanted somewhere close to dad's place, as visiting from Cheshire to see him and gran, so chose Clifton. What a brilliant choice it was. Very warm welcome. Great room - we each had a small double - comfy and clean. Despite my room facing main road it was quiet. Beautiful breakfast - wide selection and well cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

Me and my FRIEND stayed in this 'hotel' for 2 nights,although we didn't get a very nice welcome from the staff as they questioned us about the one bed in the room,insinuating our sexuality - how very rude,the welcome to our room was even more unpleasant with a stench of combined cigarette smoke and damp. With further perusal of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
clifton2012, General Manager at Clifton Hotel, responded to this review

Im sorry to hear you stay at the Clifton Hotel was not up to your standard. On arrival my staff very pleasant and helpful to you. We offered you to upgrade your at no extra cost. You refused. All our rooms are kept to a very high standard and are cleaned daily. The room doesn't smell of smoke or dampness.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question