We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland

Hotel website
Hotel deals
161 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    255
    115
    32
    19
See reviews for
68
227
58
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (643)
  • Mar-May only
    (172)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (148)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (179)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (144)
All months
Broadway, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Nice and simple this one. Quick efficient check-in, refurbished and comfortable room, and a good night sleep before heading on. Only slight negative was that the bath was a bit short but I'm only really mentioning that to get 200 characters as needed on the iPhone app.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank for your recent review. It was great to read you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I brought my Grand-daughter on this DB&B stay using our voucher, we both had a lovely time, the staff are friendly and helpful and the room was very nicely decorated with comfy beds, the food in restaurant was delicious, I am surprised at the comment "disappointed" as that is the last thing we were and if I had felt that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Viv, Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that both you and your granddaughter had a lovely time here, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought holiday inn would be perfect and amazing stay, due to its reputation. But when i checked in i was totally disappointed. Rooms were under refurbishing, noise all over the place starting 9 am. I had an extremely old room, you might think you are in 1950 with all those old furniture. I guess if they are trying to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. As you mention we are currently investing £1 million into the hotel. This information is published on our website. We are keeping disruption to a minimum and our contractors are working Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm. If you were experiencing noise from the refurbishment our reception team would... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night and the hotel is really lovely. We were going to a concert in the concert hall and we were only a couple of minutes from there. The room was excellent very clean and everything we needed. Possibly recently refurbished. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. Both service and food really good. Thoroughly enjoyed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel lovely and will definitely return. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I spent a night in the hotel as we were going to a concert in the Concert Hall, a 2 mi ute walk away. We got a b&b deal at a reasonable cost. RECEPTIONS: very helpful, we arrived before the checking in time and wanted to leave our case. The room was ready and we took the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Ken, Thank you for your recent detailed 5 star review. I was delighted to read that you and your wife enjoyed all aspects of your stay. As you mentioned we are currently investing £1 million in the hotel and it was great to read you found your refurbished tastily decorated and very clean. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night with my mother whilst she was visiting Glasgow. The hotel is in a really good location, handy for the bus station and Queen Street station, as well as all the shopping on Buchannan Street and surrounding areas. The staff were friendly and efficient on reception, the guy who checked us in, Alex I think,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Duncan, Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our newly refurbished rooms. Alex will be also be delighted to get a mention! The windows have now had secondary glazing added which does block most of the noise from the street. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night in a refurbished room on a DB&B deal. Check in was very swift and staff member courteous and Knowledgeable. The refurb to the rooms looks very neat and modern. nice cool curtains, colour scheme is soothing and secondary glazing cuts out most street noise. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well Good selection... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager More 

north east scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have just returned from a short break in this hotel. On arrival we were checked in by Danielle who was very friendly and bubbly.she was able to tell us where to go to get buses for the things we wanted to do, and even made a few suggestions . We were also allocated a newly refurbished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you loved your sty from check in to leaving. I know Danielle and Alisha will be delighted to get a mention! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location which is a short walk to the Queen St station and a longer, but direct walk to Central. It's also very close to shopping and food and all the basic necessities and next door to some great places to eat and drink. Including the restaurant located in the bottom of the hotel itself. The staff was lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Sabine, Thank you for your recent 5 star review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow soon. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We come to glasgow twice a year we love the place. We have stayed in lots of different hotels but this is the best one we have stayed in.Fantastic hotel in the city centre, Clean room ,comfy bed ,choice of soft or hard pillows ,cant fault it.staff friendly.definitely coming back love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AlanTaylor161, General Manager at Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Tracy, I was delighted to read your 5 star review and also delighted with the fact you would place us top of all the hotels in Glasgow you have stayed at. We look forward to welcoming you back to Glasgow soon. Kind regards, Alan Taylor General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question