We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Glasgow accommodations

Bluesky Hostel

65 Berkeley Street, Glasgow G3 7DX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bluesky Hostel to your Saves list
Bluesky Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (25)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • More
true
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    12
    13
    33
See reviews for
3
7
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I didn't expect the nicest, most comfortable accommodation. It's a hostel after all. But this was something I didn't see coming: first I was glad that our room would be across the street, as we wouldn't have all the noise from the common room. But alas the toilets... One un-lockable, one without any light, the last one so loud it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay far away from this hostel. Dirty, smelly, mouldy & just disgusting. I'm glad I didn't plan on staying more than a short period. The bad rap that this place gets is well justified. Only positive thing to say about it is that it is close to the city centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Sigmaringen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice place to be. Sure it was not that new butwho cares? It's a hostel anyway :D and the jacuzzi was great. For low budget tourists it is perfect. The owner is a cool guy and swears a lot. But that's more a plus ;) The toilets were clean, but one if them was so goddamn loud guys :D Anyway.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel is a nice place to stay for a few nights, staff are friendly bar the long haired guy at reception, think hes the boss but hes very rude. Bed was pretty comfortable and everyone does their best to keep quiet to let people sleep. Place is pretty lively on a friday night but its fun. Tourist information available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In saying so, it must've been really good or really bad. Let's just say the more you drink, the more tolerable everything becomes...... NO WIFI, ONE PC FOR 80 PEOPLE BED WAS COMFY, BUT MAYBE CAUSE I WAS SMASHED Tooloo

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

There are 2 PC for 80 people that hardly get used as everyone has phones and laptops or tablets with them, the wifi has 100 connections, thats it, so when they are all in use it wont allow others to connect. More

Burnley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on a one night family trip to the Commonwealth Games. We were worried looking at some of the bad reviews but our experience was better than expected. The hostel is within easy access of the city center in an area popular with students so there are some well priced cafes and bars nearby. We paid £30 per... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has to be the shoddiest, dirtiest accommodation in the world. I wouldn't allow my dog to stay here. - Filthy - Aggressive owner - Outrageously overpriced for what it is - No available shower - Felt very unsafe I'd rather sleep rough than sleep in this dump again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 37
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

Your review seems exactly like your comments in twitter and Facebook . although you agree with the hype on Facebook and twitter this is not the place for your opinion. As you are not a backpacker you shouldn't come here. We like to make our guest feel at home but as we do not have any Burberry anywhere in the... More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We needed budget accommodation for one night for the Commonwealth Games so the price for the experience was disgusting really, but I understand why the rates were up at that particular time. We arrived at 7pm, and left the following morning at 6am. Beds fine, although they could do with something between the mattress and frame to stop the squeaking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Worst hostel I have ever stayed in. Grotty, uncomfortable, wires coming out of walls everywhere, mouldy bathrooms, only 1 working shower in the building, aggressive, foul mouthed staff & at 2am there were people having to change beds & rooms about which woke everyone else up. No light switch in the room nevermind a plug socket! Bed was a foam... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 336
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

Your lack of social skills is the reason you are so disapointed! there are 6 showers in the building. You never asked where any of them were nor did you complain to the reception. If you would have asked someone you would have been helped. All of your problems could have been easily rectified if brought to staff attention. You... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Staff friendly, bed linen clean, lots of power boards loaded onto each other so guests can charge their phones. Kitchen clean enough. Two computers available for guests to use. WiFi very intermittent. Showers and toilets were mouldy, smelly and quite gross.

Was this review helpful? Yes 54
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bluesky Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bluesky Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesky Hostel

Address: 65 Berkeley Street, Glasgow G3 7DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bluesky Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesky Hostel Glasgow, Scotland

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (4)

Near Bluesky Hostel

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
IF YOU ARE NOT A BACKPACKER DONT COME HERE YOU WONT BE HAPPY!!!!! Can i be any clearer than that? . We are a 1 star backpacker hostel in the city centre of Glasgow. We offer basic self catering accommodation at the cheapest price in town! We cater strictly to the 18 to 35 age group. so if you are old and cant climb bunk beds don't come here! If you like to meet people and have a great time you will love it here. We will do our best to make sure you have some fun or we will point you in the right direction to find it! We are 150 meters from the best party street in town. 5 blocks of pubs , bars , casinos, fast food, theatres ect. No children allowed. No grumpy old people allowed. if you are antisocial cheapskate who has to update facebook every 15 seconds because you have no idea ho to communicate AFK and only booked here for the price you will not be happy here. All facilities are shared.All rooms are coed we dont have male or female rooms. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
58

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bluesky Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer