We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bluesky Hostel

65 Berkeley Street, Glasgow G3 7DX, Scotland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bluesky Hostel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Bluesky Hostel
Bluesky Hostel
Bluesky Hostel
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    14
    13
    44
See reviews for
3
9
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (89)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (32)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (34)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night while visiting for the Scotland v England game at Celtic Park. When a place states "backpackers only" you should know what to expect (ie not a room fit for Princess Di) and I wasn't disappointed. Friendly and helpful staff knew the city well which was a big help as a first time visitor who struggled to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel about a year ago now and I'm just snooping around all the hostels I stayed at over the course of the trip. When I first walked in this hostel I immediately regretted my decision to stay here. I went on my phone to see if there was any other options around. No wifi. So I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

Cheers mate, People are missing the point about this place. I want it to be cheap as possible and social as possible, save your money on accommodation and spend more on beer. I could put more money into fixing the place up but then i have to charge more. then i have to have better service and then i get... More 

Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Stopped here from 7th - 10th November, on arriving first impressions were good, friendly staff and a good atmosphere, everything you would expect in a hostel. Booked a private room for me and a friend, the room was fine, even with a hand drawn map covering a hole going through to a shower and the smell of damp was bearable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

Its a brand new shower room with brand new plumbing. You room has a brand new ceiling that we havent even had time to paint because we are so busy. there was nothing wrong with the shower. Some inconsiderate fellow guest of yours flooded out the whole bathroom. There is nothing wrong with it on our end. We cant be... More 

Cologne, Germany
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Just spent the weekend in this hostel (November 7-10) and I don't expect much from hostels, just a clean and safe bed to sleep in with a shower of some sort, that works and a toilet and I'm all set but this is by far the worst hostel I have stayed in. First night was great, had no issues at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

We did our best to sort the situation but as the hostel was totally full as usual we had nowhere to put you. As for the cause of the flood was that someone flooded the shower room above your room. And instead of stopping their shower or informing anyone that something was wrong, they just continue to shower. continue to... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

Alright let me cut to the chase. I've stayed in a variety of hostels over the past year, from really good to not so good..and this is by far the WORST I have ever encountered. And I'm comparing this to hostels I stayed at in Thailand..yes I stayed at a Bangkok hostel that was nowhere near as disgusting as this.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

The bleach is the smell of cleaners doing their job. We have a 48 hour cancellation policy. This means 48 hours before the beginning of your booking. This is pretty standard in hospitality around the world. We are a £10 pound a night backpacker hostel. The SYHA up the street has male female dorms and chandeliers but its £25 per... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Dirty room. Toilet bin overflowing with toilet paper. Worst element are the staff - apparently lodgers paying their way by working there. Not a problem per se but they have not been trained by the belligerent proprietor. As a result we waited an hour to be checked in since they couldn't deal with online bookings and didn't have the initiative... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

It says in the hostel description we are a backer hostel. Hostels are cheap they are meant to be communal accommodation where everyone is meant to clean up after them selves! there is no maid service! If the guests staying at the hostel don't clean up after them selves the place gets messy fast. We clean the place top to... More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Never again will i scrimp to try and save some extra money. not worth it, the place is a dump.....literally. The rooms are dark, smelly, and holes and wires exposed everywhere. The shower is the same, and no individual showers or locks, so anyone could come in. It doesn't feel friendly and inviting, just couldn't wait to get out. Felt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

This is not a hotel! Again, Read the hostel description! Again, IF YOU ARE NOT A BACKPACKER DONT COME HERE! More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Pleasant & helpful staff. Could do with more a few more lockers in the 20 dorm room. Okay location, between the city centre & west end, most places of interest within walking distance. Bit of a fun party hostel, I'd be happy to visit again. Stayed September 2014.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

I booked for a week and only stayed here for one night. It was for a work do and I had to pay out of my own pocket so I went here because it was cheap and I knew I would be drunk. The place is like a building site. Don't stay here if you want to spend anytime in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

We clearly state in our description that you shouldn't stay here if you are travelling for work. We're glad you only stayed one night. We do not have tubs at this location... so I am not sure how the water in the tub is too hot? As for the bedding smelling like smoke, you must have been smelling that off... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

The whole place was terrible from start to finish. - £350 unadvertised cash deposit needed to stay (would be difficult to cause this much damage in such a hovel) - Staff clearly didn't have a clue what they were doing. Forgot we were waiting to check-in several times. - Were moved to another building across the road because the hostel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
toddP898, Manager at Bluesky Hostel, responded to this review

The toilet with dont use sign because it out of order and being refurbished. so why would you want to go into the toilet and take pictures even though you admit to reading the sign on the door that says dont use, out of order?? Yes the hostel has been destroyed this season and is in need of a lot... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bluesky Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluesky Hostel

Address: 65 Berkeley Street, Glasgow G3 7DX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Bluesky Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluesky Hostel Glasgow, Scotland

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay