We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

#32 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #32 of 91 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
AW H
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    346
    125
    29
    12
See reviews for
131
253
66
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (780)
  • Mar-May only
    (200)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (184)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (209)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (187)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Needed a room for three adults and this was one of very few available for our visit over the Easter weekend. Location was a factor and being next to the Buchanan bus station worked well for our arrival from the airport on the 500. Early checkin was welcomed and much appreciated. Double bed was just too small for us but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure to have you in our hotel and thank you for your review.. And it is an honer to all of us to know that you enjoyed our location and buffet breakfast. Thank you once again for your feedback and recommendations to help us make further improvement in the future. Kind Regards, Andrew Carse Senior... More 

Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently spend three days in Glasgow and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on Nile Street. This hotel is very central, just a few minutes walk to the main shopping areas of Saucihall Street and Buchanan Street and the Buchanan Bus Station. The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good with plenty of variety.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding our great City Centre location, Breakfast which is included at no extra charge and our staff. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel too. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you... More 

Bicester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had a one night stay here but it was enjoyable and the staff are both helpful and friendly. The location is perfect for central Glasgow with everything right there on your doorstep. The complimentary breakfast is really good and would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your comments. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend our hotel too regarding Location and Breakfast. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you once again in the future. Kind Regards, Andrew Carse Senior Manager More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is nice enough & is very handy for town & the bus/train station. Rooms are clean & spacious & we didn't hear any noise. The staff are friendly & we were checked in quickly. Breakfast room is far too small for the size of hotel & it's chaos at busy times. Fine for a one night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
acarse903010, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is our pleasure to have received your kind review about our hotel, it made us feel proud to know that you were most pleased by the hotel facilities and we have taken your comments regarding breakfast on board. We hope to welcome you back to Glasgow again in the future. Kind Regards, Andrew Carse Senior Manager More 

Cononbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel recently during a family trip to the SSE Hydro. The hotel is very close to the Buchanan St bus station and Queen St railway station, (approx 5 mins walk) ideal for shopping etc. Nicely decorated rooms, comfy beds and tea/ Coffee making facilities. Staff very pleasant. Good selection available at breakfast. The hotel doesn't provide evening... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of all the team, i would like to thank yo for the wonderful review, it has certainly made our day. The staff here are the true asset of our hotel and we are very proud to all of them, and I am delighted to read you comments regarding our Location and Breakfast selection, So thank you... More 

West Yorkshire, UK.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last Friday night, in room 159. Fortunately, we were up early. As the room is right next door to the kitchen, you wouldn't be getting a lie in. Loud noise, banging and staff voices could very clearly be heard. 'Family room' very, very small. One, yes ONE mains socket in the room. So charging phones and/or tablets is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is great to know your concerns regarding breakfast, room amenities and staff. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs and expectations and on this occasion we apologise for your disappointment. The hotel does have a duty... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

stayed here whilst visiting family..we were 5 adults between 2 rooms..the hotel is very central to the motorway for getting in and out of city centre.there is a multi storey car park opposite hotel and it's not overpriced..access to subway and train station about 10/15 minute walk..the rooms were very clean and bathroom was ample for our needs.tv and tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. The team and I are very happy to know that you have had a good stay with us. We appreciate the feedback regarding our staff, location and breakfast. We hope to see you back in Glasgow again. Kind Regards, Andrew Carse Senior Manager More 

Wakefield UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An ideally placed hotel right on the edge of the city centre. 2 multi-storey car parks very close. Great price that also includes breakfast. Room was spotless and beds very comfortable. Staff very pleasant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel in Tripadvisor, It is our pleasure to have received your commendations regarding our location and staff, we all feel very proud to have been given such a high scores on many aspect of your stay. We hope to see you back in Glasgow in the future. Kind Regards,... More 

Lothian
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here on Saturday, 28 March, with my sister. We had a twin room on the 4th floor. There are two things we hope for whenever we stay over anywhere and that is that the room is clean and the hotel is quiet. This gets a thumbs up for both - the room was spotless and even though the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review, We are happy to know that your stay was an enjoyable one and you were happy with your arrival experience. And I am sorry to know that you think our free breakfast offering was less than your expectation. Holiday Inn Express will be relaunching our breakfast offering in autumn and have... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is basic but spotlessly clean and right in the heart of all the shops restaraunts ect The only thing that let it down was breakfast plenty of buffet choice but not enough hot stuff no choice of eggs only scrambled no bacon either Liked the tags on pillows with choice of firm or soft. Well worth the money

Was this review helpful? Yes
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience in Tripadvisor, On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for your kind words of our hotel facilities and also on our colleagues. I disappointed you did not enjoy our free buffet breakfast and taken your comments on board. We hope to see you back in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question