We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
165 West Nile Street, Glasgow G1 2RL, Scotland
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Panoramas (7)
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

886 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Glenrothes, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

spent 1 night here and were disappointed in the view from the room. No view at all just staring into a wall and we were on the 5th floor. Problems with the TV but these were sorted out quickly. Reception staff were helpful and told us when breakfast was and where. Bathrooms could do with an upgrade but everything was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay57-89
The Highlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2 nights and the location for the bus and train stations couldn't be better and close to theatres and cinemas and shops. The rooms are fine although not a lot of character and the bed and showers all are good. The saving point didn't work but if you've no razor or toothpaste they will supply complimentary items. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank TheHighlandsCrofter
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Sorry you felt the hotel lacked character and did not have a great nights sleep. We do have a 24 hour duty manager on site. If you had contacted them, they would have sorted any noise issues. It is with regret we won't have the... More 

Cardross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed at this hotel last nite( 09-01-16) as a birthday present from my wife (allowed us to leave the children with the in -laws) I was not impressed with the reception staff in particular a young lady who neither informed us of the breakfast times or the check out times. At breakfast we were greeted by Gail who cleared... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank John A
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am most disappointed to learn of your recent of your experience at our free buffet breakfast. Unfortunately due to Holiday Inn Express brand standards across all our hotels we currently do not offer bacon. Our free breakfast currently offers our ever-popular continental... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on a wee night out to see the panto at the Pavilion. Great price and the staff were so friendly. The room was more than adequate for what we wanted. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good and not too much. Don't expect a full cooked breakfast but you will not be disappointed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ColinN2412
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your review. It's great to know that you had an enjoyable stay and loved our comfortable rooms and free buffet breakfast. We hope to see you back in Glasgow again soon, Kind Regards, Andrew Carse, Senior Manager More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Was in Glasgow to see in the new year and booked this hotel because of its location. We have stayed here before and you have everything on your doorstep from the Theatre to shopping and some great restaurants. Our room was very clean and comfortable and all the staff very friendly and helpful. A buffet style breakfast with a good... More 

Helpful?
Thank NellAberdeen
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Happy New Year! We are delighted to hear from you and appreciate your feedback on Trip Advisor. It's great to know that you had an enjoyable stay in Glasgow and enjoyed our City Centre location, Friendly staff and Free Buffet Breakfast. We hope to see you back in Glasgow again soon. Kind Regards, Andrew Carse, Senior Manager More 

Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Not a bad location but the queen sized bed was way too small and well worn. The room was too hot and uncomfortable. ...... Breakfast very disappointing and bland. Be careful of the car park charges we ended up payin £32 for 30 hours not £12 per night as advertised.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking your time to share with us your feedback. At the same time, we regret to hear that you have been upset with your recent stay. We will be re launching our Free Buffet Breakfast early this year with more selection and I have taken your comments on board regarding this.... More 

Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Stayed here for a visit to the Theatre Royal to see The Jersey Boys in December. Location is ideal for Royal Concert Hall, Theatre Royal, The Pavilion Theatre and even the Kings Theatre in Bath street. It is a typical Holiday Inn Express. Handy for Buchanan Street Bus station and railway stations. Staff friendly & welcoming .

Helpful?
Thank Maria D
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking your time to share with us your feedback on Trip Advisor. It gives me great pleasure to know that you had a good experience during your stay in Glasgow and enjoyed your superb City Centre location and "Friendly and Welcoming staff". We hope to see you again sooon. Kind Regards,... More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

Stayed here for two nights with my two children, the hotel was within walking distance to most of Glasgow's attractions, the hotel staff were very efficient and always greeted you with a smile and nothing was ever too much trouble, the staff that worked in the restaurant were fantastic at their job, being very efficient but not making you feel... More 

Helpful?
Thank richardaholmes37
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking your time to give us your 5 star feedback on Tripadvisor. It was a great privilege to receive your compliments, in particular your reference to our staff and duty manager. I will pass your comments to her accordingly. We do hope to see you again in Glasgow soon. Kind Regards,... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

It's been a while since we stayed here (as trip advisor also reminded me) and in the 4 years since the good points are still the same - excellent location, walking distance to shops, restaurants, entertainment, train stations or multi storey car park across the road with discounted rates. Front of house staff were super friendly and helpful both days... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kinedi
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking your time to share with us your feedback on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to read your review regarding our excellent location and friendly staff. The hotel is committed to constant reinvestment in our property and I am delighted you noticed our newly refurbished reception and bar area. We... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

This place is fine for a budget stay but I would say that the bed I stayed in wasn't that comfortable, the shower was just ok for temperature but not what you'd call hot and the breakfast was fairly basic - toast, sausages and scrambled (I think powdered) egg not on which exuded quality. However I could have had porridge... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
acarse903010, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for taking your time to share with us your feedback on Trip Adviser. At the same time, we regret to hear that you did not fully enjoy our free buffet breakfast. We will be relaunching our free buffet breakfast early next year with wider selection and I have taken your comments on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

226 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (150)
Viewed
Accessible Room (31)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (30)
Viewed
Standard Double (35)
Viewed
Standard Twin (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
City Centre
Park Inn by Radisson
Park Inn by Radisson
#23 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (George Square) Hotel
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#7 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#21 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 1,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay