We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ambassador Hotel

7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Ambassador Hotel is partnered with the Embassy Apartments next door - we were upgraded to an apartment for our stay which included a living area and small kitchen. The room was very cold when we arrived and only had two space heaters for the whole space (which had very high ceilings) - after the heaters were on for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aimee V
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. If you had asked we could have provided you with another heater to help boost the heat within your room, as you say the very high celings in the 150 year old Victorain do not help. More 

Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

This hotel which is operated by the McQuade Glasgow Hotels group boasts that there have been no price increases for a very long time… Sadly this is VERY evident from the moment you step in through the door. This small hotel, that is no less expensive than other similar hotels in the area by the way, is very pleasant looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rita M
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your for your recent review, we are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and as you say the hotel has been in the McQuade group for a good few years and will continue to do so for the forseeable future. If you had fed your comments back to the manager on duty at... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015 via mobile

Our room was a lot bigger than anticipated, although this meant that it was quite cold. It was nicely decorated and good value for money, though. We wish we could have stayed longer. The room we stayed in would be suitable for a family or a group of friends planning to hit the West End!

Helpful?
Thank MissJxn51
robertmcq, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for the kind comments, they are greatly appreciated and will pass on the kind words to the staff and we hope you have more time to explore the west end if you ever visit again. More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst attending a concert at the hydro. The room was clean...comfy bed...nice but small bathroom. All in all a satisfactory stay. The only thing I would say is that the next morning just before we left my husband opened the curtains and the whole thing pole and curtains fell down which hit him on... More 

Helpful?
Thank laxgirl1
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review and overall your were happy with your stay with us, apologies for the falling curtain pole, not an issue we have often, however this has been recitied as reported by the cleaners. More 

Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Staff very welcoming on arrival and a speedy check-in. The single room was on the small side and a bit cold although it was snowing over the course of the weekend. Only problem i had was that the soap dispenser in the shower remained empty all weekend. I did not have the breakfast in the hotel. I have stayed in... More 

Helpful?
Thank AllyB46
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review and overall you enjoyed youir stay with us, in regard to the refilling of your soap dispenser this was obvioulsy an over sight on our part, however should you have mentioned it during your stay it would have been recitified immediately. More 

Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

I've booked the Hotel Ambassador, payment anticipated. For more than 64 £ per night, breakfast not included, I expected something more. First, I was not given a room in the hotel, but a studio in the adjacent residence. Strictly speaking therefore I shouldn't review the hotel, but the residence instead. However, it is important to signal this fact as they... More 

Helpful?
Thank silvia c
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for your recent review, when the hotel is fully booked and hotels rooms are in demand yes we do use our apartments rooms next door and these are of a similar standard but with self-catering faciclities. During your stay the cleaning staff came to your room everyday to carry out a make-up and service of the room, it was... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Well located but unfortunately we weren't allowed to check in or even leave our bags even though we arrive slightly early. No problem. We just took them with us. Returned at approx. 9pm and were checked in by a very rude unhelpful member of staff. Asked for breakfast but told that we were too late. Generally very unhelpful. Room large... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Haslgeo
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review, on checking out the details one of you arrived at the hotel at approx 11.00, you were advised that check-in from was 13.30, you did not request to leave any bags, if you had we would have looked after them for you, the booking that was made by yourselves for a triple room room only,... More 

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

Lovely hotel, big clean rooms with a little kitchen. The beds are wonderful. Bathroom is clean. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Located in a nice and quiet neighborhood, very central and close to great pubs.

Helpful?
Thank flovanL
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your recent review. Your kind comments will be passed on. We are happy that your enjoyed your stay at the Ambassador. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile

Great place to stay. Located on a quiet street near Botanical Gardens. Short walk to shopping & subway. Good places to eat nearby also. Rooms are clean & beds are comfortable. George & Chrystal very friendly & helpful. I would stay here again when I am in Glasgow.

Helpful?
Thank skellis49
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments on your recent review More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2015

Although some distance from the city centre it is a short walk to Kelvin River and the Botanic Gardens with the sensational Kibble Palace. Just a bit further is the Hillhead underground station and a short trip into the city (Buchanan St). Staff were friendly and helpful with good advice about transport etc. Parking at the rear was good to... More 

Helpful?
Thank beaver055
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments on your recent review More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Albion Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#7 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#32 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay