We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 90 Glasgow hotels

Ambassador Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
67%
Ranked #58 of 90 hotels in Glasgow
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
tc1004 IRELAND
  • Overview
  • Reviews (116)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    30
    4
    5
See reviews for
24
35
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IRELAND
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Normally stay in a hotel when we visit Glasgow but this time decided to try the Ambassador Apartments. First thing to say is the location is great just a short walk to Byers Road and the Subway. We stayed in Apartment 1 and it was excellent.Good sized Room with en suite. The high ceilings make this a really airy room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the hotel was very well situated for buses, tourist bus stop, botanical gardens (stunning place to visit) the staff member who was at the desk at the time of our arrival was to say the least the most unwelcoming receptionist I have ever met. He didnt welcome us at all as visitors and more or less immediately asked for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is good for 3 stars. Very clean and hotel staff very friendly and breakfast was fabulous. The manager greeted us on our arrival asked about breakfast and we were asked if we could make a quick decision to tell them if we wished breakfast, as they would have to get extra staff in, decided that we would. on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

On arrival you were informed that breakfast could be added at a cost of £8 each, when you enquired as to how soon we needed to know, I remarked that as soon as possible would be good, but I did not stress that it had to be immediately, you said you would go straight upstairs and call your sister, at... More

Salamander Bay, NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We recently stayed here for one night. It's a little tricky to find using a GPS, but we eventually got there, parking is difficult on the street in front, but there is a small carpark around the back. This was a last minute booking, and we were pleasantly surprised. The outlook of the hotel is lovely and inviting. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

When I got into the room, the bed was broken. I got moved to a room that far too small. The first room was small but the 2nd room was like staying in a cupboard! There was bleach stains on the carpet, hole in shower room roof that was stuffed with news paper. Lovely building from the outside but I've... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

With regard to the broken bed, as soon as the manager was aware of the problem you were moved to another room, unfortunately the hotel was busy and there was only 1 room available, it is unfortunate that this room was smaller than the room you should have been in, however you were only in the smaller room for 1... More

Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Situated in a very leafy quiet road in the West End of Glasgow, minutes from Byres Road, opposite the Botanical Garden, the hotel is in an ideal location. It claims to be 3* which is accurate. The double room we had was small, likewise the bathroom was a bit tired, but it was all clean and warm. The bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very small single room with not much room to move around but reasonable shower. Good breakfast, especially the cooked options. Okay position. As a female travelling alone I would have liked a safety chain on the door. Also the space for luggage is minimal. If you're on the ground floor don't expect to get much sleep as lots of noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
invergordon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our 3rd stay here. Its such a nice place in a lovely quiet area of Glasgow. We always feel right at home here. Its not posh or luxurious but it has everything you need and it is clean and very comfortable. Always get a good night's sleep in the Ambassador/Embassy. Right beside the Botanic Gardens and Byres Road,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scotland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Hotel car park was difficult to find, there is free on road parking which is probably used by the workers in the area as there was never any room left. We stayed one night and took up the offer of an 'upgrade' for an extra £9.00 which gave us a room in the apartments next door. The room was large,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

It seemed expensive for a tiny single room and no breakfast included. Handy for son in nearby uni halls of residence and easy walk to shops, cafés and the underground. Shower was poor and bathroom so cramped I banged my head on the shelf above the sink while bending to brush my teeth! Wouldn't choose this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in the heart of Glasgow's fashionalble West End, surrounded by numerous shops, bars and cafe and only 1 mile for the City Centre. This stylish 3 star hotel is the ideal base for a leisue or corporate stop over in the city. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer