We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 89 Glasgow hotels

Ambassador Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
Ambassador Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
68%
Ranked #58 of 89 Hotels in Glasgow
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Andrea M Ramsey, Isle Of Man
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    43
    28
    5
    6
See reviews for
29
38
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, Isle Of Man
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my family for one night at the end of August 2014. Hotel was clean, comfortable, good breakfast and helpful, friendly staff. Hotel is in an excellent position, only 5 minute walk at most the Botanic Gardens, Byres Road and underground.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed two days at this hotel. The place is clean and the staff are friendly and its situated in the "west end" just by the Biological Gardens, and the bus stop for the tour busses. It does have parking but its hard to get to so get full instructions before you go. The breakfast (full Scottish) is excellent and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Camborne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were surprised how close by everything was.Room was very well decorated and furnished.Extra bedding in wardrobe,we did not need as room warm enough.Bed very comfortable and roomy.The breakfast were very good ,plenty of cereals,juices,toast and a varied selection for cooked breakfast,tea and coffee machine so all in all a very good hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Had room in the roof so was boiling hot as the weather was warm. They provided a fan which helped. No lift so lots stairs to our room. Being in the roof - not great view (roof spaces) No air con...could leave window open tho. Great to have fridge in room. Didn't have breakfast; economised buying cereals milk and fruit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Delightful setting on the edge of the Botanic Gardens, small and attractive and homely hotel quietly tucked away down a cul de sac with unlimited off-street parking (although there is parking behind the hotel). Walking distance from a range of restaurants, too, in an attractive part of town. Didn't use public transport, but buses passed the end of the road... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Booked a family room months ago, given a huge self catering apartment with the option of paid breakfast. No need with a Londis 50 yards away. Tiny tight car parks at back. Nice little smokers courtyard. Opposite Botanical Gardens. Easy access to city or away via A82, bus or subway. Friendly staff Old period building with features. Kept clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newburgh, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I were in Glasgow for our granddaughter's wedding. We need one room for one night on July 9, 2014. I booked the room on their site on July 7. We were staying close by so we stopped in the day before just to make sure they had the reservation. We were told that they had us booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

In the first instance the mistake was made by yourselves, not us, we received bookings for 2 rooms in the correct format as we usually receive them, these were then processed onto our system on the 7th July, in the late afternoon of the 8th you arrived at the hotel at which point you stated that you had only booked... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute for commonwealth games , so understood that the price was going to be more expensive than usual . £150 for one night no breakfast!!. The room was dated .Bathroom was tiny and shower was from the 70's. Im really not one for complaining and have stayed in a lot of hotels , but this one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

As you remarked at the beginning of your review compared to most of the hotels in Glasgow our prices for the period of the Commonwealth Games were very reasonable in comparison, however the £150 you paid is not what the hotel received as you booked through an agent who charges commission, so we received considerably less than that. I can... More

IRELAND
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Normally stay in a hotel when we visit Glasgow but this time decided to try the Ambassador Apartments. First thing to say is the location is great just a short walk to Byers Road and the Subway. We stayed in Apartment 1 and it was excellent.Good sized Room with en suite. The high ceilings make this a really airy room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Although the hotel was very well situated for buses, tourist bus stop, botanical gardens (stunning place to visit) the staff member who was at the desk at the time of our arrival was to say the least the most unwelcoming receptionist I have ever met. He didnt welcome us at all as visitors and more or less immediately asked for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
robertmcq, Owner at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were not made to feel welcome by the member of staff on duty when you checked in, following from your comments each member of staff is now undergoing a performance review and where necessary further training will be provided. However with regard to asking for payment, our policy for the last 20 years has been... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: 7 Kelvin Drive, Glasgow G20 8QG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Glasgow with
any amenities