We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Glasgow B&Bs / inns

Argyll Guest House

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   970 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland (West End)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Argyll Guest House to your Saves list
Argyll Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
62%
Ranked #21 of 38 Glasgow B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014
SandraDu Cupar, United Kingdom
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
8
20
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I (in our 60s) stayed at the guest house but our friends stayed at the hotel across the street. We paid £30 less and had a much bigger very pleasant room, but had to cross the busy road each day for breakfast or to get to the reception area. We also had to negotiate some steep narrow... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. As you mentioned in your email guest house is our budget accommodation and the reason why its cheaper is because you need to cross over the street for breakfast which is at the main hotel and there is no lift or elevator. The rate clearly reflects this if you are looking for the... More

Glasgow
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Good: good service and nice rooms at a very reasonable price - Bad: some traffic noise as you would expect on a major access route to the city - great transport links and on street parking round the corner.

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for you comments. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately nothing can be done about the traffic noise but if you request a room at the back they much quieter. Kind Regards B Bashir General Manager More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed in a single bedroom in September for a nearby conference. The room was very small/compact, but it was acceptable for the price and clean. It is a great location in a nice area, with lots of shops, restaurants and bars nearby. My only complaint is a major one though. I chose this place to stay specifically because it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank-you for your feedback. I'm sorry that we did not live up to your expectations at this time because of the wifi . I can assure you that the problem has been rectified and we have upgraded our wifi equipment to give more range a stronger signal with a faster speed. Kind Regards B Bashir General Manager More

Lerwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Only 5-10 minutes walk to the main shops and restaurants. Well stocked vending machines in the hotel were also extremely useful and saved time trying to find a corner shop for refreshments/snacks. The Housekeeping staff were also extremely friendly and thorough when cleaning the room. The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ajax
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Read somes of the reviews and was a little worried as the hotel was booked as part of a tour package. Decent room, wonderful staff, no complaints at all. Sometimes I wonder what people expect. Internet worked fine, and, yes, the entrance was a little run down....but I didn't sleep in the entrance.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in August and was put into front basement room worst room ever I stayed in Road noise all the time, front window was only about 10 ft and under road ,lorries and buses never stop Carpet was dirty you would not walk on it in bear feet Bathroom is about 25 years old and peach... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in the Annex. The entrance was extremely run down but the rooms were large and clean. Internet did not appear to work on our side of the street which was annoying because we had checked on this specifically beforehand. Check in and out was slow. Maybe we hit the "rush hour". Overall i was hoping for better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed at the Argyll with a friend two years ago, in the main location and was quite satisfied with our room - which was small and quaint, but clean and quiet. This last visit (two months ago) was a different story. Traveling alone, I booked into the Annex and was sorely disappointed in my room.... which was really more like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I am not sure who has rated this place 3 star. I have been given a room on the opposite side of road, unmanned place, downstairs near the road with noise all the time from vehicles, drunken characters. Poor Carpets, bed, namesake wifi-slow to the core and generally rundown and stale. Please dont make my mistake.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Fife,Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed with my mum in this little bed & breakfast for two nights.It was close to the SECC for our concert on Tuesday.Then a short walk back to Guest House at night.It is across from the Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum which we visited the next day and stayed for over 4 hours as there was that much to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Been to Argyll Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Guest House

Also Known As:
Argyll Guest House Hotel
Argyll Guest House Hotel Glasgow
Argyll Guest House Glasgow, Scotland
Address: 970 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular, small and family run in convenient location .5 mile west of the city centre offering room only or bed and breakfast at budget rates. By Kelvingrove Park it is within a short walk of Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries/ Museum, Kelvinhall International Sport Arena and Glasgow University. Enjoy both west end and city centre shopping, dining and nightlife. Ideal for business or tourist alike. Family Rooms Available. Free Street Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel and TripOnline SA so you can book your Argyll Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argyll Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.